Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,383 Members 51,235 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help Youtube "Connection to server lost"

Tip us?
 
rickylims
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] Help Youtube "Connection to server lost"

when i wanna play youtube always get "connection to server lost, touch to retry", i'm in sprint stock rom with mobile package data active, for internet is no problem, on wifi can play, when i tethering my phone as modem and i connect to my computer for play youtube is ok. it just cant play only in a phone.

somebody can help thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-19-04-23-22.jpg
Views:	305
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	2268995   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-20-02-54-21.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	2268996  
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
#2  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 777
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Did you try clearing data and cache in apps? Or even uninstall and reinstall the app itself

sent from my GS3
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock rooted
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
 
Whiplashh
Old
#3  
Whiplashh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1464
Posts: 2,784
Join Date: Jun 2012
Usually I just exit the app, hold the home button and clear all recent apps and then it works again.

-------------------------
Sprint Galaxy S3
Need Help? PM
Hit the "Thanks" button if I helped you!
Need Help? Private Message me! Don't forget to hit that thanks button if I helped!
-
Devices: Evo Shift 4G (Dead) - Evo 4g (OG) - Sprint LG Optimus S - Sprint Galaxy S3 - Sprint Optimus G (LGOG) - Google Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: All running Stock or some form of Cyanogenmod. (CM7, 10, or 11). Except the Galaxy S3, it has some Wicked Sensations.
Current Devices: Sprint Optimus G, Google Nexus 7
 
edfunkycold
Old
#4  
edfunkycold's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 4474
Posts: 5,468
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S. FLORIDA
Easy fast simple solution when this occurs and usually after an update. Just uninstall the app completely and then go back to google play store and redownload the app.

Have a great day!
 
rickylims
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have been tried all the way ( clear, uninstall update etc) but still error... I tried to install other program 'tubemate' still cant connect /play the video, but when i download the video first and play later is no problem..

Maybe something wrong with my data package on my carrier??? Hmmm..

Thanks for all advise...

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
 
mrotenlu
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickylims View Post
I have been tried all the way ( clear, uninstall update etc) but still error... I tried to install other program 'tubemate' still cant connect /play the video, but when i download the video first and play later is no problem..

Maybe something wrong with my data package on my carrier??? Hmmm..

Thanks for all advise...

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
Im getting the same thing on my tablets now (nexus 7 and 10). Uninstalling updates solves the issue, but then again I want the new sweet app... Any solution for this?
 
edfunkycold
Old
#7  
edfunkycold's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 4474
Posts: 5,468
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S. FLORIDA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrotenlu View Post
Im getting the same thing on my tablets now (nexus 7 and 10). Uninstalling updates solves the issue, but then again I want the new sweet app... Any solution for this?
Remove (uninstall) the app completely, go back to play store and get the new updated app again fresh install.

Have a great day!
 
MuWu
Old
#8  
MuWu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 118
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Zagreb
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfunkycold View Post
Remove (uninstall) the app completely, go back to play store and get the new updated app again fresh install.

Have a great day!
i did this also, but i get again the same error... what the $%#& is up with youtube !??
 
mrotenlu
Old
(Last edited by mrotenlu; 5th October 2013 at 05:05 PM.)
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuWu View Post
i did this also, but i get again the same error... what the $%#& is up with youtube !??
Same issue here. Reinstalling doesn't fix it.


Edit: But disabling Adblock Plus does fix it.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mrotenlu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
peej4ygee
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrotenlu View Post
Edit: But disabling Adblock Plus does fix it.
Ty, I've been hunting for a solution for some time now, and I didn't think of something like that.... It is true, when I disabled AdBlock Plus, I didn't see the error again.

Guess I either need a replacement for Adblock Plus, or something in it's settings to change?? hmmmm.

Again though, thanks again!!!!


The Following User Says Thank You to peej4ygee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes