Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,495 Members 37,370 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S3 wont turn on or charge but connects to the computer

Tip us?
 
n023b
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Galaxy S3 wont turn on or charge but connects to the computer

Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649
 
n023b
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
anyone?
 
brianray14
Old
#3  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 769
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649
Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________
Gunmetal Silver HTC ONE M8 AT&T - UNLOCKED S-OFF
ROM : STOCK 4.4.2
Hboot : 3.16.0.0000
OS : 1.58.502.1
Radio : 1.16.21331931.LA11G
Recovery : TWRP Touch Recovery v2.7.0.2
Kernel : STOCK
MOD : Sense 6 Toolbox
 
n023b
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14 View Post
Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck
-Warranty is long gone.
-Yup tried a different battery and a different charger
-I've been running the rom for over 2 years
-Yes it was the correct one
-tHANKS ill give him a try
-I dont think its an error code its just what the device shows up in mac
 
n023b
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?
 
Larry2999
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?
It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.
 
n023b
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.
Yup tried another battery and tried the current battery in another phone and it worked fine.

I did change the sim card reader when I first got the phone like 2 years ago maybe something is shorting out the MB now I'll check it out
 
brianray14
Old
#8  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 769
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
Yup tried another battery and tried the current battery in another phone and it worked fine.

I did change the sim card reader when I first got the phone like 2 years ago maybe something is shorting out the MB now I'll check it out
I just got my phone back from Josh. My power button was shorted on the board so he fixed me right up. The symptoms on my phone were it would get to Samsung screen and subsequently power off. Same in DL mode so it could very well be that your power button is shorted in a manner which it just won't power on at all. Hopefully that's all it is. 40 bucks and you're back up and running

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________
Gunmetal Silver HTC ONE M8 AT&T - UNLOCKED S-OFF
ROM : STOCK 4.4.2
Hboot : 3.16.0.0000
OS : 1.58.502.1
Radio : 1.16.21331931.LA11G
Recovery : TWRP Touch Recovery v2.7.0.2
Kernel : STOCK
MOD : Sense 6 Toolbox
 
n023b
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14 View Post
I just got my phone back from Josh. My power button was shorted on the board so he fixed me right up. The symptoms on my phone were it would get to Samsung screen and subsequently power off. Same in DL mode so it could very well be that your power button is shorted in a manner which it just won't power on at all. Hopefully that's all it is. 40 bucks and you're back up and running

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
Thanks but I think I'll just sell it for parts/not working I have a nexus 5 now and don't want to go through the hassle of having it fixed
 
brianray14
Old
#10  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 769
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
Thanks but I think I'll just sell it for parts/not working I have a nexus 5 now and don't want to go through the hassle of having it fixed
I'm thinking about getting away from Samsung next go around and thinking about the nexus. What do you think? You like nexus better than s3?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________
Gunmetal Silver HTC ONE M8 AT&T - UNLOCKED S-OFF
ROM : STOCK 4.4.2
Hboot : 3.16.0.0000
OS : 1.58.502.1
Radio : 1.16.21331931.LA11G
Recovery : TWRP Touch Recovery v2.7.0.2
Kernel : STOCK
MOD : Sense 6 Toolbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more