Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,728 Members 43,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to make LTE/4G stick!? - SOLVED

Tip us?
 
Life Engineer
Old
(Last edited by Life Engineer; 21st January 2014 at 03:15 PM.)
#1  
Life Engineer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,045
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jounieh
Question [Q] How to make LTE/4G stick!? - SOLVED

Hey!

I have the international D802 version and the "settings / tethering & networks / mobile networks / network mode" only shows 3 options, GSM/WCDMA; CDMA only; GSM only.

When I go into dialing *#*#4636#*#* or if I go into dialing 3845#*802# etc...to choose LTE/GSM/WCDMA! I can choose this mode and it works UNTIL I reboot, then it goes back to GSM/WCDMA!

Is there is anyway to make the LTE/GSM/WCDMA mode stick?!

Thanks!

EDIT: SOLVED

In build.prop change ro.telephony.default_network=9 from 9 to 11!
I got LTE settings in mobile networks menu. And it sticks after a reboot!

Thanks to @ejerez for the info in Here!
LG G2 D802 - CPU binned 3
Current ROM: CloudyG3 ROM v1.2 android 4.4.2
Current Kernel: Stock

Previously owned devices: Nokia N96>HTC HD2>HTC DESIRE HD>SG NEXUS>HTC SENSATION XE>SGSII>SGSIII>LG NEXUS 4>LG G2
Damn! I think I got it... I got ORD => Obsessive ROM-updating Disorder => Click here!
If I helped in any means please click the "Thanks" button and that will do!
The Following User Says Thank You to Life Engineer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Life Engineer
Old
#2  
Life Engineer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,045
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jounieh
Heads up! It's solved in case anyone is interested!
LG G2 D802 - CPU binned 3
Current ROM: CloudyG3 ROM v1.2 android 4.4.2
Current Kernel: Stock

Previously owned devices: Nokia N96>HTC HD2>HTC DESIRE HD>SG NEXUS>HTC SENSATION XE>SGSII>SGSIII>LG NEXUS 4>LG G2
Damn! I think I got it... I got ORD => Obsessive ROM-updating Disorder => Click here!
If I helped in any means please click the "Thanks" button and that will do!
 
derek_09
Old
#3  
derek_09's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Life Engineer View Post
Hey!

I have the international D802 version and the "settings / tethering & networks / mobile networks / network mode" only shows 3 options, GSM/WCDMA; CDMA only; GSM only.

When I go into dialing *#*#4636#*#* or if I go into dialing 3845#*802# etc...to choose LTE/GSM/WCDMA! I can choose this mode and it works UNTIL I reboot, then it goes back to GSM/WCDMA!

Is there is anyway to make the LTE/GSM/WCDMA mode stick?!

Thanks!

EDIT: SOLVED

In build.prop change ro.telephony.default_network=9 from 9 to 11!
I got LTE settings in mobile networks menu. And it sticks after a reboot!

Thanks to @ejerez for the info in Here!

Hi,
Thanks for the solution but I just need to check for the build.prop file, there are 2 similar lines as follows:

ro.telephony.default_network=9
& the other is:
#ro.telephony.default_network=9

Which do I change or do I change both? And do I need to change the permissions after changing it?

Thanks for your advice.
derek_09
Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
Life Engineer
Old
#4  
Life Engineer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,045
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jounieh
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek_09 View Post
Hi,
Thanks for the solution but I just need to check for the build.prop file, there are 2 similar lines as follows:

ro.telephony.default_network=9
& the other is:
#ro.telephony.default_network=9

Which do I change or do I change both? And do I need to change the permissions after changing it?

Thanks for your advice.
Man let me clarify that this solution worked for me on some ROMs and didn't work on other ROMs!

Both are the same, the # symbol in front of the expression makes it a comment and the program will disregard it!
So you can change only the first one, or to be safe you can change both. Nothing to lose!

Good luck!

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
LG G2 D802 - CPU binned 3
Current ROM: CloudyG3 ROM v1.2 android 4.4.2
Current Kernel: Stock

Previously owned devices: Nokia N96>HTC HD2>HTC DESIRE HD>SG NEXUS>HTC SENSATION XE>SGSII>SGSIII>LG NEXUS 4>LG G2
Damn! I think I got it... I got ORD => Obsessive ROM-updating Disorder => Click here!
If I helped in any means please click the "Thanks" button and that will do!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes