Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HD calling option in stock NC5 or NC5D?

OP JimSmith94

10th April 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #1  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
HD calling is working and there are screenshots of the settings in this post from freeza's ROM thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=689

I don't have this option in my phone settings, so is this available in the stock ROM or is it only available through the tweaks in freeza's ROM and/or kernel?

I have been on the fence about tripping Knox and rooting, but having HD calling might be enough to tip me over the edge.
The Following User Says Thank You to JimSmith94 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #2  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Can someone please tell me what ROM or kernel enables HD calling as seen in mainstang's phone settings pictures from freeza's fre3 Hybrid ROM?





11th April 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #3  
kaos420's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
dantes inferno
Thanks Meter: 1,697
 
3,176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Well if it's seen in freeza's rom. Why would you ask what rom has it. You already know the answer. Freeza has alot of option on that others don't.

Sent From My 0x1 Note 3.i love tep....
11th April 2014, 05:46 PM   |  #4  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos420

Well if it's seen in freeza's rom. Why would you ask what rom has it. You already know the answer. Freeza has alot of option on that others don't.

Sent From My 0x1 Note 3.i love tep....

Thanks kaos, I'm currently running unrooted stock NC5 and don't have TEP, so I'm trying not to trip Knox. I will probably bite the bullet and root one of these days, but I am hoping there might be a stock tweak or kernel that would enable HD calling without rooting. If I do have to root to get it, I'd like to know what other ROMs have the option besides freeza's. His is nice for sure, as is Axman's, etc., etc.
11th April 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #5  
kaos420's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
dantes inferno
Thanks Meter: 1,697
 
3,176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Yes there are a load of things freeza's rom has unlocked over stock in menus. Working now on call today if I get time tonight I'll shot a video of the menus. If not will be tomorrow. But one thing I personal use is i can select 2.4ghz or 5ghz for wireless. For 5ghz wireless n it's awesome.

Sent From My 0x1 Note 3.i love tep....
The Following User Says Thank You to kaos420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #6  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos420

Yes there are a load of things freeza's rom has unlocked over stock in menus. Working now on call today if I get time tonight I'll shot a video of the menus. If not will be tomorrow. But one thing I personal use is i can select 2.4ghz or 5ghz for wireless. For 5ghz wireless n it's awesome.

Sent From My 0x1 Note 3.i love tep....

Thanks kaos, I would appreciate the video. The wireless menu sounds interesting too. I seem to always connect to my 2.4 GHz which is crowded in my apartment building. My 5 GHz is the only one I detect, so I would much rather use it instead.
11th April 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #7  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos420

Yes there are a load of things freeza's rom has unlocked over stock in menus. Working now on call today if I get time tonight I'll shot a video of the menus. If not will be tomorrow. But one thing I personal use is i can select 2.4ghz or 5ghz for wireless. For 5ghz wireless n it's awesome.

Sent From My 0x1 Note 3.i love tep....

Thanks kaos, I would appreciate the video. The wireless menu sounds interesting too. I seem to always connect to my 2.4 GHz which is crowded in my apartment building. My 5 GHz is the only one I detect, so I would much rather use it instead.
11th April 2014, 10:29 PM   |  #8  
kaos420's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
dantes inferno
Thanks Meter: 1,697
 
3,176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

Thanks kaos, I would appreciate the video. The wireless menu sounds interesting too. I seem to always connect to my 2.4 GHz which is crowded in my apartment building. My 5 GHz is the only one I detect, so I would much rather use it instead.

here is some of the extras he includes.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kaos420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #9  
JimSmith94's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos420

here is some of the extras he includes.

Thanks again Kaos. Wow, I slowed your video to 1/4 speed in YouTube and saw settings I've never even heard of before! I think you have just convinced me to bite the bullet, root and trip Knox. I have always rooted my previous phones and having all of these options available make tripping Knox look like nothing more than a minor inconvenience.
The Following User Says Thank You to JimSmith94 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #10  
onemanruler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

Thanks again Kaos. Wow, I slowed your video to 1/4 speed in YouTube and saw settings I've never even heard of before! I think you have just convinced me to bite the bullet, root and trip Knox. I have always rooted my previous phones and having all of these options available make tripping Knox look like nothing more than a minor inconvenience.

That's all it really is I was the same way before rooting mine. I figured out after that knox really is just for business phones.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app

The Following User Says Thank You to onemanruler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes