Post Reply

Succesfully rooted my sm-g900t.

OP gibrannz

11th April 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I use the cf autoroot. it worked like charm.
Now, this means the bootloader is unlocked right?
should i upgrade my firmware to the newest? from NCD to NCH, or should i just wait. advice?
11th April 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 130
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibrannz

I use the cf autoroot. it worked like charm.
Now, this means the bootloader is unlocked right?
should i upgrade my firmware to the newest? from NCD to NCH, or should i just wait. advice?

You can upgrade to NCH - Chainfire used that firware to provide the root for our device, so you should be able to root again IF you do lose root.
11th April 2014, 05:53 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim

You can upgrade to NCH - Chainfire used that firware to provide the root for our device, so you should be able to root again IF you do lose root.

thank you. i already downloaded the NCH firmware from kies. now im just waiting to see if anybody gives me a good reason not to do it proceed, lol.
loving this new phone.
11th April 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Wait!
Chainfire works for this?
I thought it wouldn't because the bootloader was locked.
I assume that this triggers Knox right?
I really don't care, but would be nice to know.
And with root I can tether for free again then.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 12:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:57 PM ----------

Mine has nch out of the box.
Hopefully that won't cause problems.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th April 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 130
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheArtiszan

Wait!
Chainfire works for this?
I thought it wouldn't because the bootloader was locked.
I assume that this triggers Knox right?
I really don't care, but would be nice to know.
And with root I can tether for free again then.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 12:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:57 PM ----------

Mine has nch out of the box.
Hopefully that won't cause problems.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes, Chainfire released a root for the T-Mobile S5 - Chainfire Auto Root

Some people have already reported that it worked, so that means our bootloader is NOT locked...now I can get the phone without worries!

And Yes - This will trip Knox

The root is Based on NCH, so it will work on your phone.
11th April 2014, 06:01 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheArtiszan

Wait!
Chainfire works for this?
I thought it wouldn't because the bootloader was locked.
I assume that this triggers Knox right?
I really don't care, but would be nice to know.
And with root I can tether for free again then.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 12:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:57 PM ----------

Mine has nch out of the box.
Hopefully that won't cause problems.

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes, it worked for my. I was kind of worried because I didn't want to brick my phone, but I am now rooted and everything is just fine.
It does trigger knox

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th April 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
This is the download mode screen I got after rooting. I don't really care about knox or warranty

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397236553498.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	2680457  
11th April 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 152
 
1,223 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim


Some people have already reported that it worked, so that means our bootloader is NOT locked...now I can get the phone without worries!

And Yes - This will trip Knox

The root is Based on NCH, so it will work on your phone.

Nope its locked. Root is obtainable but roms is is a whole different story. Be on the look out for a safestrap method tho


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
11th April 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 130
 
586 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungAceAtlanta

Nope its locked. Root is obtainable but roms is is a whole different story. Be on the look out for a safestrap method tho


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

According to Chainfire, if we were able to root using CF-Auto-root, then the bootloader is NOT locked. How do you figure it is locked if this method of root worked?
11th April 2014, 08:28 PM   |  #10  
savoritz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim

According to Chainfire, if we were able to root using CF-Auto-root, then the bootloader is NOT locked. How do you figure it is locked if this method of root worked?

the bootloader is unlocked after the cf-auto-root
Last edited by savoritz; 12th April 2014 at 04:11 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank