Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SOLVED] Disable KitKat translucent status bar

OP MlucianoEze

20th April 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hi, I would like to disable KitKat translucent statusbar, to leave it like Jelly Bean.

Thank you.
Last edited by MlucianoEze; 20th April 2014 at 06:50 PM.
20th April 2014, 06:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
3,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlucianoEze

Hi, I would like to disable KitKat translucent statusbar, to leave it like Jelly Bean.

Thank you.

That's one of the more desirable features for most, but can't please em all. But without knowing what phone you have, what update it's on, if you have a custom rom or recovery, etc, there won't be a way to even point you in the right direction. There isn't a generic setting to just switch on or off to change this feature as it is themed in the SystemUi.apk and / or framework stuff, depending on what you have.
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 06:44 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

That's one of the more desirable features for most, but can't please em all. But without knowing what phone you have, what update it's on, if you have a custom rom or recovery, etc, there won't be a way to even point you in the right direction. There isn't a generic setting to just switch on or off to change this feature as it is themed in the SystemUi.apk and / or framework stuff, depending on what you have.

I have a Samsung Galaxy SII SGH-i777 with CM11 (unofficial) and CWM 6.0.4.7.
20th April 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
3,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlucianoEze

I have a Samsung Galaxy SII SGH-i777 with CM11 (unofficial) and CWM 6.0.4.7.


Well, then that should be fairly easy, as it has the Theme Chooser built in. There are hundreds of themes that will work on that, including ones for CM10, and many have solid status bars. Another option, if you don't want to theme anything else would be using something like this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...droid-t2316070

It needs the Xposed Framework:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...fying-t1574401

Keep in mind, using ART instead of Dalvik runtime will cause Xposed not to work properly.
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Well, then that should be fairly easy, as it has the Theme Chooser built in. There are hundreds of themes that will work on that, including ones for CM10, and many have solid status bars. Another option, if you don't want to theme anything else would be using something like this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...droid-t2316070

It needs the Xposed Framework:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...fying-t1574401

Keep in mind, using ART instead of Dalvik runtime will cause Xposed not to work properly.

Thank you for the info, I will try it. I wrote this thread because there is a theme that didn't show properly because of the status bar.
20th April 2014, 07:22 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlucianoEze

Thank you for the info, I will try it. I wrote this thread because there is a theme that didn't show properly because of the status bar.

I installed it, but I don't see any tweak related with that...
20th April 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
3,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Ok, after you install Xposed, you have to install Gravity Box (KK). You can download from inside the Xposed Framework under Downloads. Once you have the framework and GB installed, you need to make sure under Modules that GB (KK) is switched on, then reboot. After you reboot, everything will be activated and you can go into the Gravity Box interface and under Status Bar Tweaks > Statusbar colors > You can click to enable and set your colors.

There are lots of other cool tweaks that GB has too. Not all of them are compatible with every set up, so make sure you remember what you are trying to enable, so you can disable if it doesn't work the way you are looking for.

If you want to disable GB, if it does not fit your needs, then you can just uninstall the app and reboot, or just uncheck the box in the Modules section of Xposed in case you want to try it again later.

If that doesn't work, there are some other modules that might, like the Xblast one (also in the Download repo for Xposed).
20th April 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Ok, after you install Xposed, you have to install Gravity Box (KK). You can download from inside the Xposed Framework under Downloads. Once you have the framework and GB installed, you need to make sure under Modules that GB (KK) is switched on, then reboot. After you reboot, everything will be activated and you can go into the Gravity Box interface and under Status Bar Tweaks > Statusbar colors > You can click to enable and set your colors.

There are lots of other cool tweaks that GB has too. Not all of them are compatible with every set up, so make sure you remember what you are trying to enable, so you can disable if it doesn't work the way you are looking for.

If you want to disable GB, if it does not fit your needs, then you can just uninstall the app and reboot, or just uncheck the box in the Modules section of Xposed in case you want to try it again later.

If that doesn't work, there are some other modules that might, like the Xblast one (also in the Download repo for Xposed).

I did that, but just the icon color changes, but the statusbar is still translucent.
20th April 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
You see?



Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398012206979.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	2698140   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398012214502.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	2698141  
20th April 2014, 06:50 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I found the solution!!!

The option was in "Visulization options" (or something like that. I have my phone in spanish)

Thank you!!!

This thread is solved.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes