Post Reply

[Q] Bootloop after RUU attempt (completely stuck!)

20th April 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I recently tried to revert back from CM 10 to stock on my HTC one.

Everything seemed to be going fine, I found what I believed to be the right RUU(I couldnt find it in a .exe, only .zip) .
And I successfully used revone to get s-off, remove tampered and change unlocked to locked in the bootloader.

But when changing s-off back to s-on the security warning banner showed up in the bootloader and for some reason I couldnít get into the OS anymore, it just went straight to the bootloader. I didnít bother thinking about it since I was going to install the RUU either way. But I get the same error every time I try to install it: FAILED (remote: 12 signature verify fail). Also I couldnít get into recovery, it just shot be back straight into the bootloader.(Correct me if i'm wrong but did the ruu.zip fail because you have to have s-off for it to work? Would make sense.) On top of that I couldnít just get s-off again because for some reason i can only use adb commands when the phone is in the actual OS, it doesn't seem recognize it when its in bootloader/fastboot/recovery, fastboot commands work fine tho.

I was able to unlock the bootloader again using htcdev and I can now access twrp, but I can't seem to be able to factory reset, it just says: Unable to mount /data and unable to mount internal storage. The mount option in twrp does not seem to work either, trying to check data makes nothing happen. Also instead of it just launching to the bootloader directly on startup, it now gets stuck in a bootloop until you make it go into the bootloader.

As you can see i'm in quite the pickle and absolutely any help on either getting back to a functional CM or stock would be much appreciated.

The getvar all info:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.14.3250.13
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.29.401.16
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: FA366W903347
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__Y13
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4065mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.045s

If any more info is needed just ask
20th April 2014, 06:31 PM   |  #2  
GalaxyUser50's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by victor_021

I recently tried to revert back from CM 10 to stock on my HTC one.

Everything seemed to be going fine, I found what I believed to be the right RUU(I couldnt find it in a .exe, only .zip) .
And I successfully used revone to get s-off, remove tampered and change unlocked to locked in the bootloader.

But when changing s-off back to s-on the security warning banner showed up in the bootloader and for some reason I couldn’t get into the OS anymore, it just went straight to the bootloader. I didn’t bother thinking about it since I was going to install the RUU either way. But I get the same error every time I try to install it: FAILED (remote: 12 signature verify fail). Also I couldn’t get into recovery, it just shot be back straight into the bootloader.(Correct me if i'm wrong but did the ruu.zip fail because you have to have s-off for it to work? Would make sense.) On top of that I couldn’t just get s-off again because for some reason i can only use adb commands when the phone is in the actual OS, it doesn't seem recognize it when its in bootloader/fastboot/recovery, fastboot commands work fine tho.

I was able to unlock the bootloader again using htcdev and I can now access twrp, but I can't seem to be able to factory reset, it just says: Unable to mount /data and unable to mount internal storage. The mount option in twrp does not seem to work either, trying to check data makes nothing happen. Also instead of it just launching to the bootloader directly on startup, it now gets stuck in a bootloop until you make it go into the bootloader.

As you can see i'm in quite the pickle and absolutely any help on either getting back to a functional CM or stock would be much appreciated.

The getvar all info:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.14.3250.13
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.29.401.16
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: FA366W903347
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__Y13
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4065mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.045s

If any more info is needed just ask

Where did you get the RUU from? It should work even if S-ON as long as the version of the RUU is the same as or newer than your current version.

EDIT: Did it say it was Encrypted or Decrypted? It needs to have an Encrypted Signature or else you'll get the Remote 12 error.
Last edited by GalaxyUser50; 20th April 2014 at 06:33 PM. Reason: Adding
The Following User Says Thank You to GalaxyUser50 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #3  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,007
 
3,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by victor_021

I recently tried to revert back from CM 10 to stock on my HTC one.

Everything seemed to be going fine, I found what I believed to be the right RUU(I couldnt find it in a .exe, only .zip) .
And I successfully used revone to get s-off, remove tampered and change unlocked to locked in the bootloader.

But when changing s-off back to s-on the security warning banner showed up in the bootloader and for some reason I couldnít get into the OS anymore, it just went straight to the bootloader. I didnít bother thinking about it since I was going to install the RUU either way. But I get the same error every time I try to install it: FAILED (remote: 12 signature verify fail). Also I couldnít get into recovery, it just shot be back straight into the bootloader.(Correct me if i'm wrong but did the ruu.zip fail because you have to have s-off for it to work? Would make sense.) On top of that I couldnít just get s-off again because for some reason i can only use adb commands when the phone is in the actual OS, it doesn't seem recognize it when its in bootloader/fastboot/recovery, fastboot commands work fine tho.

I was able to unlock the bootloader again using htcdev and I can now access twrp, but I can't seem to be able to factory reset, it just says: Unable to mount /data and unable to mount internal storage. The mount option in twrp does not seem to work either, trying to check data makes nothing happen. Also instead of it just launching to the bootloader directly on startup, it now gets stuck in a bootloop until you make it go into the bootloader.

As you can see i'm in quite the pickle and absolutely any help on either getting back to a functional CM or stock would be much appreciated.

The getvar all info:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.14.3250.13
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.29.401.16
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: FA366W903347
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__Y13
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4065mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.045s

If any more info is needed just ask

Never Go S-ON !!!!
flash this with TWRP
http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/guru_res...-62-401-1-zip/
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Thanks for the replies but after a few hours of nonstop research i managed to fix the problem. I simply installed CWM because TWRP had totally crapped out on me. From there I just simply sideloaded a Viperone 4.4.2 rom and everything is working fine, don't really feel the need to return to stock anymore. Can't believe how simple that turned out to be, anyway thanks for the replies and hopefully this might help other people in the same situation.
22nd April 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
stuck
hlo sir,I m really depressed these days bcz I can't finf ruu for my htc one as it shows
TAMPERED RELOCKED SECURITY WARNING.. my cid is VODAP021 and mied is PN071400 hboot
is 1.54 and os is 2.24.980.3... I tried to flash a guru reset with same cid no. but with slight
difference in os it was 2.24.980.2 and it showed signature verify fail......so plzzzz helpppp
meee....suggest me the perfect ruu
22nd April 2014, 04:04 PM   |  #6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
2,895 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspreet4140

hlo sir,I m really depressed these days bcz I can't finf ruu for my htc one as it shows
TAMPERED RELOCKED SECURITY WARNING.. my cid is VODAP021 and mied is PN071400 hboot
is 1.54 and os is 2.24.980.3... I tried to flash a guru reset with same cid no. but with slight
difference in os it was 2.24.980.2 and it showed signature verify fail......so plzzzz helpppp
meee....suggest me the perfect ruu

Guru reset is a rom not a ruu, so you must be bootloader unlocked to flash it via custom recovery (twrp 2.6.3.3 preferred)
22nd April 2014, 04:11 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
stuck
@aray ,sir thnx for the quik reply....sir but I m stuck can't unlock bootloader I m s-on plz tell with which ruu I would flash my phone..send link....I would really appreciate that
22nd April 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #8  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
2,895 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspreet4140

@aray ,sir thnx for the quik reply....sir but I m stuck can't unlock bootloader I m s-on plz tell with which ruu I would flash my phone..send link....I would really appreciate that

No need to use ''sir''

You can unlock bootloader, it has nothing to do with being s-on! Get you identifier token then submit it to htcdev. They will instantly send you an e-mail with your unlock_code.bin. Flash it and you'll be unlocked.

Video tutorial here

And there is no RUU for your phone so the guru reset rom is the best option.

Video tutorial to use a guru reset rom here
22nd April 2014, 06:16 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
re
@alray,thx for showing concern n my problem...when I use command 'fastboot oem get_indentifier_token' I get msg of command error.....help
22nd April 2014, 06:34 PM   |  #10  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
2,895 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspreet4140

@alray,thx for showing concern n my problem...when I use command 'fastboot oem get_indentifier_token' I get msg of command error.....help

do you have your htc drivers correctly installed on your computer and the android sdk?

When you go in windows devices manager, do you see you your phone as ''My HTC'' ?

in command prompt when you do ''fastboot devices'' does it reply your phone s/n + fastboot ?
Last edited by alray; 22nd April 2014 at 06:38 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes