Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[MOD] Patched libaudiopolicy_sec.so to mute camera

23rd January 2014, 10:42 AM |#1  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,318
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
Hello all,

Here is a way to mute the camera shutter/focus sound.

Pre-requisite:
  • Watch must be rooted to replace the file
  • Adb working with gear

Installation with adb:
  1. Extract the file on your PC, in adb directory if you don't have it in your PATH
  2. Connect your watch to PC
  3. Type these commands on the PC:
    Code:
    adb shell su -c mount -o remount,rw /
    adb shell su -c mount -o remount,rw /system
    adb shell su -c mkdir /tmp
    adb push libaudiopolicy_sec.so /tmp
    adb shell su -c mv /system/lib/libaudiopolicy_sec.so /system/lib/libaudiopolicy_sec.so.org
    adb shell su -c cp /tmp/libaudiopolicy_sec.so /system/lib/
    adb shell sync
    adb shell sync
    adb reboot
  4. Gear reboots
  5. Set volume to vibrate and voila!

Notes:
  • Camera is muted only when watch volume is set to vibrate mode with this patch.
  • I patched NA3 firmware file, so maybe NA3 firmware installed is required. There are good chances that this file didn't change between MK7 and NA3, let me know if it works on MK7
Attached Files
File Type: zip libaudiopolicy_patched.zip - [Click for QR Code] (40.1 KB, 305 views)
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to letama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 10:42 AM |#2  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,318
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
* reserved *
25th January 2014, 01:00 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by letama

Hello all,

Here is a way to mute the camera shutter/focus sound.

Pre-requisite:

  • Watch must be rooted to replace the file
  • Adb working with gear

Installation with adb:
  1. Extract the file on your PC, in adb directory if you don't have it in your PATH
  2. Connect your watch to PC
  3. Type these commands on the PC:
    Code:
    adb shell su -c mount -o remount,rw /
    adb shell su -c mount -o remount,rw /system
    adb shell su -c mkdir /tmp
    adb push libaudiopolicy_sec.so /tmp
    adb shell su -c mv /system/lib/libaudiopolicy_sec.so /system/lib/libaudiopolicy_sec.so.org
    adb shell su -c cp /tmp/libaudiopolicy_sec.so /system/lib/
    adb shell sync
    adb shell sync
    adb reboot
  4. Gear reboots
  5. Set volume to vibrate and voila!

Notes:
  • Camera is muted only when watch volume is set to vibrate mode with this patch.
  • I patched NA3 firmware file, so maybe NA3 firmware installed is required. There are good chances that this file didn't change between MK7 and NA3, let me know if it works on MK7

Worked like a charm! Thank you!
The Following User Says Thank You to XanoZuke For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 01:03 PM |#4  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,318
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by XanoZuke

Worked like a charm! Thank you!

Thanks for the confirmation

Are you on MK7 or NA3 ?
25th January 2014, 01:04 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by letama

Thanks for the confirmation

Are you on MK7 or NA3 ?

Sorry, forgot to mention. I'm on NA3.
The Following User Says Thank You to XanoZuke For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 10:01 PM |#6  
Persuader X's Avatar
Member
Flag Ferrol
Thanks Meter: 0
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Works like a charm on NA3, great job.

Thank you very much.
10th February 2014, 11:46 AM |#7  
allendj81's Avatar
Senior Member
LBC, CA
Thanks Meter: 80
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
awesome! works perfectly
11th February 2014, 03:52 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Works on MK7, thanks

Just out of curiosity. What did you patch?
The Following User Says Thank You to Brutos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 04:10 PM |#9  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,318
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brutos

Works on MK7, thanks

Just out of curiosity. What did you patch?

Thanks for confirming it works in MK7!

I patched setSystemProperty("ro.camera.sound.forced", value) function in audio policy dll to be always 0 (it sets the ENFORCED_AUDIBLE:canBeMuted flag to true if you know a bit about the audio policy dll).

I tried to do it in a less "invasive" way, but it didn't work. Patch is rather safe though, audio_policy is not that big and shouldn't change too often.
12th February 2014, 08:00 AM |#10  
allendj81's Avatar
Senior Member
LBC, CA
Thanks Meter: 80
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I'm on BNA3 and it worked perfectly

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes