Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Camera FC: "Warning: Camera Failed"

OP djsnake210

21st April 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 111
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Anyone else receive a Camera Failed popup as soon as you open the camera app? I get this now and I cannot use the camera at all.

Here is what I have tried:
- Force Stop, Clear Data, Clear Cache, and Clear Defaults
- Clear Cache Partition in Recovery
- Factory Reset through Settings
- Factory Reset through Recovery
- Installed 3rd party camera app

None of these have worked. Anyone have any other suggestions?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
21st April 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 111
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Oh yeah... I took out my SD card as well to make sure that wasn't causing the issue

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
21st April 2014, 04:53 AM   |  #3  
kilroy1stcav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I had that happen to one of mine. Did you install, Instagram or snapchat? I contacted Samsung and they had me doo all kinds of things the Las they had me doo was preform a hard key reset which is didn't then a factory reset, so they say, they say it errors everything like brand new no trace of anything, here are steps if you want to try them, it didn't work for me,I am going retrain device fir a new one, but might work for you.


Here are the steps on how to perform Hard Key Reset on your device. 1. Power the device off (remove and re-insert the battery). 2. Press and hold the Volume Up key and the Home key, then press and hold the Power key. 3. When the device vibrates; release only the Power key. 4. When the Android system recovery menu displays; release the Volume Up and the Home key. 5. Navigate with the Volume keys to the wipe data/factory reset option and press the Power key to select. 6. Navigate with the Volume keys to Yes-delete all user data option and press the Power key to select. 7. After user data deletes, press the Power key to reboot system now.
21st April 2014, 05:13 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 111
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yeah I tried the factory reset through recovery... it was a no go. So after all this I still haven't gotten the camera to work. What's really strange is after all this testing I thought I'd try another third party camera (pudding camera)... it allows me to use the front camera, but as soon as I switch to rear it goes black then fc's if I hit the shutter button.

I'm thinking I just have a bad camera. I think that i have done everything possible to eliminate the possibility of fault by software.

Luckily I'm still within 15 days to return to best buy.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
21st April 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #5  
lilsalmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton, PA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I had this happen to my GS5 last week after using it for about 5 days.

- I cleared app cache and data.
- Factory reset with SD card in
- Factory reset with no SD card
- Factory reset without adding my Google account in and went straight to the camera.

All no dice. I took it back to Best Buy mobile and their Samsung Experience Rep Flashed the factory binaries from an image (something similar to Odin) Factory reset. Still camera failed in the camera app and any app that uses the camera. IN fact if you try to open the camera in any other app like messaging etc. etc. it will force close that specific app and cause you to clear cache in said app.

Samsung tech said it was definitely hardware related and promptly gave me a new phone.

There is another thread here in Q&A with others experiencing the same issue. Either a bad batch or something larger is looming.

FWIW. It worked fine for a few days...

-Lil

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:51 PM ----------

Here is the other thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2724354

I am hoping this isnt a larger issue than a few bad 'apples'. Pun intended

-Lil'
21st April 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I am having the same issue.. Tried all of the solutions mentioned. I had to have Verizon order me a new unit.. Wont ship until 4/24..
21st April 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #7  
lilsalmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton, PA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I am now real curious how many are experiencing this... maybe time to wake the PR beast in Droid-Life with a little tip if its more than the suspect few. Sounds to me like a larger issue.

-Lil'
The Following User Says Thank You to lilsalmon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 07:37 AM   |  #8  
kilroy1stcav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Tried to return my release day S5 today because of bad camera at the Verizon, but couldn't the store told me it was the 5th one today they got in for the same reason, so it looks like we have a huge problem on our hands!I have to wait for them to get a shipment of new phones in to get a replacement, they noted my account just incase it goes over the 14 days.
22nd April 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #9  
lilsalmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton, PA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I'm gonna shoot Droid Life a message a d see if we can get some coverage on this issue.

Sent from my SM-G900V using xda app-developers app
22nd April 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #10  
lilsalmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton, PA
Thanks Meter: 28
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Tim got us some coverage... we shall see if Samsung has anything to say on the matter.

http://www.droid-life.com/2014/04/22...word-on-a-fix/

Sent from my SM-G900V using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes