Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How-To Adblock Without Rooting (mobile data adblock working)

OP phazey12

21st April 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I didn't see this readily available and with many people not wanting to root and trip their Knox counter, I thought I'd show you how to get adblocking without root. This will work on both wifi and mobile data.

--First step would be to install Adblock Plus APK. I got mine from: https://adblockplus.org/en/android-install

--After installing, run the app once and activate filtering. It should now be blocking all ads on wifi only. To enable adblock on mobile data you need to add a proxy to your APN.

--Go to system settings>network connections>more networks>mobile networks>access point names. What you need to do now is go to you default APN and copy down all the settings. We only do this because you cannot edit the original APN it seems. Now create a new APN and enter in the copied settings. The only additional settings you add to add to the new APN is:

---Proxy: localhost

---Port: 2020

Make sure you set the new APN you created as active and adblocking should be working! I have done this on my T-mobile S5. Hopefully some of you will find this useful.
The Following 60 Users Say Thank You to phazey12 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #2  
giftedgiggsy11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Blackpool
Thanks Meter: 11
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
I can confirm this works, just tested it several times. Thanks!
22nd April 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #3  
crazymook's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.
22nd April 2014, 07:16 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazymook

Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.

Yea, I couldnt modify the APN on my S5 either. I just made a new one and copied over the settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to phazey12 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 01:28 PM   |  #5  
kremen666's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Not working for me...

Odoslané z SM-G900F pomocou Tapatalku
23rd April 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Not able to create a new APN on my VZW S5.. Boo
26th April 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #7  
ewa12321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Works with all my wifi, only added proxy and port. Android apps looks nicer now thx, still didn't tested it on mobile data

typed from dark room
27th April 2014, 08:55 AM   |  #8  
scoonydeus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi guys,

Sometime Adblock Plus crash... quite annoying.

I've decided to root mostly for AdAway ...
27th April 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag cakovec
Thanks Meter: 7
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
it works well on tmobile croatia , just added new apn
27th April 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thanks for this, it works, but have to manually add proxy and port to every single wlan network.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread