FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How-To Adblock Without Rooting (mobile data adblock working)

176 posts
Thanks Meter: 125
 
By phazey12, Senior Member on 21st April 2014, 09:14 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I didn't see this readily available and with many people not wanting to root and trip their Knox counter, I thought I'd show you how to get adblocking without root. This will work on both wifi and mobile data.

--First step would be to install Adblock Plus APK. I got mine from: https://adblockplus.org/en/android-install

--After installing, run the app once and activate filtering. It should now be blocking all ads on wifi only. To enable adblock on mobile data you need to add a proxy to your APN.

--Go to system settings>network connections>more networks>mobile networks>access point names. What you need to do now is go to you default APN and copy down all the settings. We only do this because you cannot edit the original APN it seems. Now create a new APN and enter in the copied settings. The only additional settings you add to add to the new APN is:

---Proxy: localhost

---Port: 2020

Make sure you set the new APN you created as active and adblocking should be working! I have done this on my T-mobile S5. Hopefully some of you will find this useful.
The Following 104 Users Say Thank You to phazey12 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift phazey12 Ad-Free
 
 
22nd April 2014, 02:37 PM |#2  
giftedgiggsy11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I can confirm this works, just tested it several times. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to giftedgiggsy11 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift giftedgiggsy11 Ad-Free
22nd April 2014, 04:00 PM |#3  
crazymook's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.
22nd April 2014, 06:16 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazymook

Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.

Yea, I couldnt modify the APN on my S5 either. I just made a new one and copied over the settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to phazey12 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift phazey12 Ad-Free
23rd April 2014, 12:28 PM |#5  
kremen666's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Not working for me...

Odoslané z SM-G900F pomocou Tapatalku
23rd April 2014, 04:55 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Not able to create a new APN on my VZW S5.. Boo
26th April 2014, 10:16 PM |#7  
ewa12321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Works with all my wifi, only added proxy and port. Android apps looks nicer now thx, still didn't tested it on mobile data

typed from dark room
The Following User Says Thank You to ewa12321 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ewa12321 Ad-Free
27th April 2014, 07:55 AM |#8  
scoonydeus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hi guys,

Sometime Adblock Plus crash... quite annoying.

I've decided to root mostly for AdAway ...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scoonydeus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift scoonydeus Ad-Free
27th April 2014, 03:15 PM |#9  
Member
Flag cakovec
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
it works well on tmobile croatia , just added new apn
27th April 2014, 05:05 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Thanks for this, it works, but have to manually add proxy and port to every single wlan network.
27th April 2014, 05:38 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It is working for me.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes