Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,812 Members 48,981 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How-To Adblock Without Rooting (mobile data adblock working)

Tip us?
 
phazey12
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default How-To Adblock Without Rooting (mobile data adblock working)

I didn't see this readily available and with many people not wanting to root and trip their Knox counter, I thought I'd show you how to get adblocking without root. This will work on both wifi and mobile data.

--First step would be to install Adblock Plus APK. I got mine from: https://adblockplus.org/en/android-install

--After installing, run the app once and activate filtering. It should now be blocking all ads on wifi only. To enable adblock on mobile data you need to add a proxy to your APN.

--Go to system settings>network connections>more networks>mobile networks>access point names. What you need to do now is go to you default APN and copy down all the settings. We only do this because you cannot edit the original APN it seems. Now create a new APN and enter in the copied settings. The only additional settings you add to add to the new APN is:

---Proxy: localhost

---Port: 2020

Make sure you set the new APN you created as active and adblocking should be working! I have done this on my T-mobile S5. Hopefully some of you will find this useful.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to phazey12 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
giftedgiggsy11
Old
#2  
giftedgiggsy11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 111
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Blackpool

 
DONATE TO ME
I can confirm this works, just tested it several times. Thanks!
Device
Samsung Galaxy S III (Marble White)
Stock (rooted) - If it ain't broke don't fix it

Previous
Samsung Galaxy S, Samsung Jet & Samsung D900i

Please hit the thanks button if my post helped you!

 
crazymook
Old
#3  
crazymook's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 306
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.
 
phazey12
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazymook View Post
Gonna give this a test.

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I had to modify my proxy for wifi and the app seems to be working (I need to find something that has ads, ha)...but I'm unable to modify my AP on my sprint s5.
Yea, I couldnt modify the APN on my S5 either. I just made a new one and copied over the settings.
 
kremen666
Old
#5  
kremen666's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Not working for me...

Odoslané z SM-G900F pomocou Tapatalku
 
stevey5036
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2008
Not able to create a new APN on my VZW S5.. Boo
 
ewa12321
Old
#7  
ewa12321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 105
Join Date: May 2010
Works with all my wifi, only added proxy and port. Android apps looks nicer now thx, still didn't tested it on mobile data

typed from dark room
 
scoonydeus
Old
#8  
scoonydeus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hi guys,

Sometime Adblock Plus crash... quite annoying.

I've decided to root mostly for AdAway ...
 
ef1x
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 62
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: cakovec
it works well on tmobile croatia , just added new apn
 
MaTiCeK-
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 441
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks for this, it works, but have to manually add proxy and port to every single wlan network.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes