Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 41,915 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is T-Mobile version equal to AT&T version?

Tip us?
 
quinxy
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 95
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default [Q] Is T-Mobile version equal to AT&T version?

I got a T-Mobile HTC One (M8) only to discover there's no coverage where I am. I already rooted, S-OFFed, TWRPed, and transferred all my files, history, texts, configured it, etc. so I really want to just keep the phone, pay it off, and switch to AT&T, but is there anything I'd lose out on? Are there any differences between the phones themselves (limiting radio differences, etc.) that I should know about? Will the phone perform equally on AT&T's network?

Thanks!
 
barondebxl
Old
#2  
barondebxl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1452
Posts: 6,075
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Silver Spring, MD
No differences as far as I know. Just that the carrier is different obviously.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Jack Bauer is back!!!!!!!!!

Current Device: HTC One M8

Recently Owned


Samsung Galaxy S5

Sony Xperia Z2

Iphone 5S

LG G Flex
 
Cuppeerr
Old
#3  
Cuppeerr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 816
Posts: 2,751
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grapevine, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm pretty sure the AT&T version has more LTE bands? I could be totally wrong though...

From the GSMArena spec sheet

Quote:
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - AT&T
LTE 700 / 1700 / 2100 - T-Mobile
Personal Phone: Htc One M8
Rom: Viper Rom

Business Phone: iPhone 5s
__________________
Get a Dropbox with 2.0GB of storage free, and both of us will get extra 500mb of free space!
__________________
Instagram
Twitter
__________________
Please Check Out My New Website!!!
http://www.iPhonesRx.com
__________________
If I helped you then hit the thanks button. Please and thanks
__________________
And yes, i'm a bish. Thanks deck.
 
quinxy
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 95
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuppeerr View Post
I'm pretty sure the AT&T version has more LTE bands? I could be totally wrong though...

From the GSMArena spec sheet
Do you know if that's the sort of thing that you can flash a radio update to fix? or is that a hardware issue (lacking hardware)?
 
jlevy73
Old
#5  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1224
Posts: 9,124
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by quinxy View Post
Do you know if that's the sort of thing that you can flash a radio update to fix? or is that a hardware issue (lacking hardware)?
It's a hardware thing.
The Following User Says Thank You to jlevy73 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
quinxy
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 95
Join Date: Nov 2006
Just to follow up on my own post...

I did some research and the frequencies which are not in a T-Mobile HTC One (M8) when moved to AT&T appear to be used by non AT&T companies who are likely roaming partners of AT&T (e.g., Rogers in Canada, U.S. Cellular in the West (I think)). So, doesn't seem like a huge negative, unless roaming quite a bit and/or going to Canada.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more