Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Trying to use T-mobile SIM on Verizon N3. No Signal. Help!

OP NotZeroSix

17th April 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hey guys I recently acquired a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from a friend who was on the verizon network. I, however, use tmobile but according to youtube videos and online forums Verizon's Note 3 works both GSM/CDMA without the use of a root. Well, once I acquired the phone from my friend, I was able to use it by tutorials on youtube. It worked for 2 days but now I cant use it because it says No Signal. I did steps 3 times and no luck, including a reset. Any input? Please help!
18th April 2014, 07:36 AM   |  #2  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Have you checked to see if the phone was not blocked?
18th April 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #3  
jacqueline robert's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 14
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotZeroSix

Hey guys I recently acquired a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from a friend who was on the verizon network. I, however, use tmobile but according to youtube videos and online forums Verizon's Note 3 works both GSM/CDMA without the use of a root. Well, once I acquired the phone from my friend, I was able to use it by tutorials on youtube. It worked for 2 days but now I cant use it because it says No Signal. I did steps 3 times and no luck, including a reset. Any input? Please help!

You should unlock the phone. I think this phone is blocked by Verizon's.
18th April 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacqueline robert

You should unlock the phone. I think this phone is blocked by Verizon's.

Yeah the phone had a bad esn but I was able to get it uplifted from the original owner. It is now ready to activate yet it can't find service. If I pop in a non active Verizon sim, You can see that there's a signal. But with a t mobile sim there's nothing. I called t mobile and they can't help me cause it isn't "their" device.

Would a root be possible? I never done that before. What are the steps to unlock the device? I'm am willing to PayPal someone with the correct answer!!!! I just want this phone to work.
18th April 2014, 05:52 PM   |  #5  
sloanster's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bloomsburg, PA
Thanks Meter: 124
 
575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yes you will need root!


It may be as simple as editing the APN and the BuildProp to get you up & running!


I have a Note 3 900V it does work on ATT & Tmobile but to get the most out of it it will need to be on Edge, I will not get 4Glte only 4G...


Hope that helps






Quote:
Originally Posted by NotZeroSix

Yeah the phone had a bad esn but I was able to get it uplifted from the original owner. It is now ready to activate yet it can't find service. If I pop in a non active Verizon sim, You can see that there's a signal. But with a t mobile sim there's nothing. I called t mobile and they can't help me cause it isn't "their" device.

Would a root be possible? I never done that before. What are the steps to unlock the device? I'm am willing to PayPal someone with the correct answer!!!! I just want this phone to work.

18th April 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #6  
dongarritas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 46
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotZeroSix

Hey guys I recently acquired a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from a friend who was on the verizon network. I, however, use tmobile but according to youtube videos and online forums Verizon's Note 3 works both GSM/CDMA without the use of a root. Well, once I acquired the phone from my friend, I was able to use it by tutorials on youtube. It worked for 2 days but now I cant use it because it says No Signal. I did steps 3 times and no luck, including a reset. Any input? Please help!

I had a rooted, unlocked Note 3 from Sprint (CDMA), and while the Note does support both CDMA/GSM, it is only internationally that it works on GSM. Here in the states, you are SOL if you have a Verizon or Sprint version. They WILL NOT ever work on T-Mobile/ATT. Sorry, just trying to save you the frustration that I went through. Sell the one you have, or trade it in with T-Mo's JUMP. as long as it boots, and is in good condition, they will give you $140-$200 towards a shiny new GSM Note 3. Good luck!
19th April 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 4
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Not that complicated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotZeroSix

Hey guys I recently acquired a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 from a friend who was on the verizon network. I, however, use tmobile but according to youtube videos and online forums Verizon's Note 3 works both GSM/CDMA without the use of a root. Well, once I acquired the phone from my friend, I was able to use it by tutorials on youtube. It worked for 2 days but now I cant use it because it says No Signal. I did steps 3 times and no luck, including a reset. Any input? Please help!

You guys are making it harder than it is. Just change the network mode from CDMS to GSM and the T-mobile SIM will work. No need to root, unlock or anything. Even if bad esn, it will still work on GSM networks. Currently the CDMA and GSM database is not shared. Hit thanks if it works.
19th April 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I did do that. I did it 20 even with a hard reset, reboot, installation of new firmware. Still got nothing.
20th April 2014, 06:15 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 4
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotZeroSix

I did do that. I did it 20 even with a hard reset, reboot, installation of new firmware. Still got nothing.


Did you check putting the T-mobile SIM in another phone and see if it is working? It might be that since the phone was blocked on verizon, the SIM got blocked. Normally what you have to do is put the SIM in another clean phone (the SIM won't work still), call T-mobile and ask to ublock the SIM from another phone, the customer care would ublock and ask you to reboot and it would work again. If asked you can say you bought the phone on craigslist(CL) and then the seller reported it lost and so it got blocked.

I have been burnt twice with Note 3 and once GS 4 (total 3 times) from CL that now I have stopped buying from CL or swappa. There is not much you can do for people who run these scams even if you have all the proof, it wont worth the hassle. I went to cops, showed then the ad the guy put, gave the ATM receipt, photos of the bills I have handed over, the texts exchanged, asked for the video footage from HEB but nothing happened. So lessons learnt no more phones on CL.
20th April 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #10  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviseqdas

I have been burnt twice with Note 3 and once GS 4 (total 3 times) from CL that now I have stopped buying from CL or swappa.

Hard to believe you did this three times. I wouldn't have tried it even once after hearing about how people were getting scammed with no recourse, let alone more than once.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes