Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Is flashing radios possible with S-ON?

OP OctoberNexus

22nd April 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #1  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just wondering it's been awhile since I've done any hackery and I seem to have a weaker signal running the GPE ROM?

Sent from my HTC One M8
22nd April 2014, 09:50 AM   |  #2  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
It's probably not weaker. Just more accurate.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Tidbits For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #3  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidbits

It's probably not weaker. Just more accurate.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Possibly but I didn't drop LTE before now it's always switching to HSPA+

Sent from my HTC One M8
22nd April 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #4  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
It could be that the threshold is set and since it is more accurate it switches. So if it's set at 110 and the phone reads 115 it'll switch to the most reliable signal.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Tidbits For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 10:40 PM   |  #5  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Indeed maybe I can find a way to tweak that.

Sent from my HTC One M8
23rd April 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 17
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Donate to Me
More
I found that when I was using the GPe conversion, I was getting a much weaker signal compared to stock while at home and a few places I would go to. I remember reading something about AWS and T-Mobile upgrades and stuff (I'm not a reception expert) on that being the reason why there could be a difference in reception. I may do the conversion again and just put the T-Mobile radio in and see how that works.
23rd April 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #7  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Wish I could do the conversion but no dice in getting S-OFF on my device.

Sent from my HTC One M8
23rd April 2014, 12:43 PM   |  #8  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Feel like going back to stock. I actually like blinkfeed after switching to GPE. Wish a ruu would leak...

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
24th April 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #9  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I love stock Android but I couldn't stand Sense even though I was quite impressed how far they've come along

Sent from my HTC One M8

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes