FORUMS

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

Is flashing radios possible with S-ON?

150 posts
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Just wondering it's been awhile since I've done any hackery and I seem to have a weaker signal running the GPE ROM?

Sent from my HTC One M8
 
 
22nd April 2014, 08:50 AM |#2  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
It's probably not weaker. Just more accurate.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Tidbits For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 09:52 AM |#3  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidbits

It's probably not weaker. Just more accurate.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Possibly but I didn't drop LTE before now it's always switching to HSPA+

Sent from my HTC One M8
22nd April 2014, 10:37 AM |#4  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
It could be that the threshold is set and since it is more accurate it switches. So if it's set at 110 and the phone reads 115 it'll switch to the most reliable signal.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Tidbits For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 09:40 PM |#5  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Indeed maybe I can find a way to tweak that.

Sent from my HTC One M8
23rd April 2014, 02:22 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 17
 
Donate to Me
More
I found that when I was using the GPe conversion, I was getting a much weaker signal compared to stock while at home and a few places I would go to. I remember reading something about AWS and T-Mobile upgrades and stuff (I'm not a reception expert) on that being the reason why there could be a difference in reception. I may do the conversion again and just put the T-Mobile radio in and see how that works.
23rd April 2014, 03:35 AM |#7  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Wish I could do the conversion but no dice in getting S-OFF on my device.

Sent from my HTC One M8
23rd April 2014, 11:43 AM |#8  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Feel like going back to stock. I actually like blinkfeed after switching to GPE. Wish a ruu would leak...

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
24th April 2014, 08:05 PM |#9  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
I love stock Android but I couldn't stand Sense even though I was quite impressed how far they've come along

Sent from my HTC One M8
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes