Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,519 Members 38,421 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Using SHIELD as a network drive

Tip us?
 
brandrobbart
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Using SHIELD as a network drive

This thread is more of a question.
Yesterday I was trying to accsess the internal SD card's files. I was having trouble mounting the drive to Ubuntu12.04 and found out that it is really difficult and a long prosess, so I thought of the idea of using its SD card as a Network Drive so i can acsess all of its files without plugging it in and mounting it. Is this possible?
 
hexitnow
Old
#2  
hexitnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,005
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Idaho

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandrobbart View Post
This thread is more of a question.
Yesterday I was trying to accsess the internal SD card's files. I was having trouble mounting the drive to Ubuntu12.04 and found out that it is really difficult and a long prosess, so I thought of the idea of using its SD card as a Network Drive so i can acsess all of its files without plugging it in and mounting it. Is this possible?
I use ubuntu 13.10 and it has a bit of trouble mounting it as well. If it's already plugged in and I try mounting it I usually get an error a couple of times before it will mount then it's fine. However if I unplug the cord and plug it back in, it will mount it no problems. I have tried using the USB port on my router for the same thing and it didn't want to recognize it. I haven't tried doing it wirelessly but I do know you could install an ftp server app on your shield and then R/W to the SD card that way, or you should be able to at least.
and-roms.com
Nvidia Shield Root and More

KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
chown: ./base: No such file or directory
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ mkdir ./base
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
ownership changed
 
brandrobbart
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexitnow View Post
I use ubuntu 13.10 and it has a bit of trouble mounting it as well. If it's already plugged in and I try mounting it I usually get an error a couple of times before it will mount then it's fine. However if I unplug the cord and plug it back in, it will mount it no problems. I have tried using the USB port on my router for the same thing and it didn't want to recognize it. I haven't tried doing it wirelessly but I do know you could install an ftp server app on your shield and then R/W to the SD card that way, or you should be able to at least.
I have found an application that creates an FTP server on the shield, i just cant figure out a way to connect Ubuntu to that FTP server to acsess the SD card.
 
hexitnow
Old
#4  
hexitnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,005
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Idaho

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandrobbart View Post
I have found an application that creates an FTP server on the shield, i just cant figure out a way to connect Ubuntu to that FTP server to acsess the SD card.
You use the LAN IP of the shield. Connect to it through your web browser, or, which is a better option, download an FTP client to your computer and use that.
and-roms.com
Nvidia Shield Root and More

KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
chown: ./base: No such file or directory
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ mkdir ./base
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
ownership changed
 
brandrobbart
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexitnow View Post
You use the LAN IP of the shield. Connect to it through your web browser, or, which is a better option, download an FTP client to your computer and use that.
I tried using FileZilla and connecting to my lan ip and it could not connect.
 
hexitnow
Old
#6  
hexitnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,005
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Idaho

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandrobbart View Post
I tried using FileZilla and connecting to my lan ip and it could not connect.
never used that client before so i cant say anything about it. Do you have the correct user and password entered and if not using do you have guest privileges set on the server? Using proper port?. There has to a better option then this, ill see if i can find anything.
and-roms.com
Nvidia Shield Root and More

KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
chown: ./base: No such file or directory
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ mkdir ./base
KR-1:~ KRIEGER$ chown -R US ./base
ownership changed
 
brandrobbart
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexitnow View Post
never used that client before so i cant say anything about it. Do you have the correct user and password entered and if not using do you have guest privileges set on the server? Using proper port?. There has to a better option then this, ill see if i can find anything.
I typed in all the fields correctly, Filezilla would just not connect. I also tried going to the "connect to server" option on Ubuntu and set it to FTP server and that also could not connect.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes