ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Thumbs up [How to] Disable LTE or 4G

OP mazdamiata210

6th October 2013, 04:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, N.Y.
Thanks Meter: 298
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
This is useful if you have a weak LTE signal or just don't need it always on. I found this tutorial on a different website for another galaxy phone and it works on the Note 3.

1. Turn off your phone and take out your sim card.

2. Turn on your phone with no sim card and wait a minute or two for it to turn on and settle down.

3. Go to the dialer and dial *#2263#

You should see a menu with band selections. The current setting is "Automatic".

(You have to use the menu key to select your options by using "Key Input" to type the number you want)

If you switch to "GSM All", you will be EDGE (2G).

If you switch to "WCDMA All", you will be on HSPA+ (3G, though AT&T and others call it 4G).

4) Power off the phone again and put your sim card back. Upon reboot you should see your new setting in effect.
The Following User Says Thank You to mazdamiata210 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th October 2013, 02:15 AM   |  #2  
inmotion's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
I get a service mode that says rat selection is restricted...

However *#*#4636#*#* will allow you to select whatever band you so choose. Although lte only doesn't allow voice calls

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to inmotion For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th October 2013, 02:16 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, N.Y.
Thanks Meter: 298
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmotion

I get a service mode that says rat selection is restricted...

However *#*#4636#*#* will allow you to select whatever band you so choose. Although lte only doesn't allow voice calls

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

If your sim card is out when trying to access the menu it shouldn't say restricted.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
7th October 2013, 02:22 AM   |  #4  
inmotion's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazdamiata210

If your sim card is out when trying to access the menu it shouldn't say restricted.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

Good catch, I completely missed that part of the write up
7th October 2013, 07:42 AM   |  #5  
Limeybastard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spring Hill, FL
Thanks Meter: 75
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmotion

I get a service mode that says rat selection is restricted...

However *#*#4636#*#* will allow you to select whatever band you so choose. Although lte only doesn't allow voice calls

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

I tried the above on my S4 and couldn't get LTE back was stuck on wcdma preferred. Google resulted in a ton of information. Ultimately hard reset needed.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 4
7th October 2013, 07:47 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, N.Y.
Thanks Meter: 298
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmotion

I get a service mode that says rat selection is restricted...

However *#*#4636#*#* will allow you to select whatever band you so choose. Although lte only doesn't allow voice calls

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

Yeah that code doesn't work for me. It never worked for my note 2 or note 1 so I wouldn't recommend doing it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
7th October 2013, 10:11 AM   |  #7  
inmotion's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limeybastard

I tried the above on my S4 and couldn't get LTE back was stuck on wcdma preferred. Google resulted in a ton of information. Ultimately hard reset needed.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk 4

Sorry about your luck with it, I've never had a problem using it to switch between lte, wcdma, or gsm on my s4 or this note 3. Weird...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
7th October 2013, 07:12 PM   |  #8  
Limeybastard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spring Hill, FL
Thanks Meter: 75
 
870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmotion

Sorry about your luck with it, I've never had a problem using it to switch between lte, wcdma, or gsm on my s4 or this note 3. Weird...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

Im stuck now, already posted another thread about this in the S4 section.
5th January 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thumbs up Works on Note 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by inmotion

I get a service mode that says rat selection is restricted...

However *#*#4636#*#* will allow you to select whatever band you so choose. Although lte only doesn't allow voice calls

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app


Thank you inmotion! This code actually worked better for me on my Samsung Galaxy Note 3. I didn't even have to pull out my SIM card or reboot. Just dial in the code, go to Device Info and change the preferred radio network type. It changes the radio on the fly in real time, and can be seen at the top.
5th January 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 119
 
729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Since Android 4.3 and on the option to disable LTE/4G has been removed from all AT&T Android devices.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
disable lte, note 3
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes