Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] At&t Note 3 Sim Unlock

OP tyiphius

8th October 2013, 08:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I bought two At&t Note 3s yesterday. One for me and one for a friend. I'm on At&t and my friend is on MetroPCS. I called At&t for an unlock and they couldnt get me a code, even though one was paid in full price and "qualified" to get unlocked according to them. So this is how I got the phones unlocked.

Reminder: I'm not responsible for any damage you may do to your phone. Proceed at your own risk!

Root is Required!

1. To root your At&t Note 3 follow this guide (Thank You designgears!)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2474422

2. You will need to allow unknown sources to be installed.
Settings>General>Security>Unknown Sources (Make sure its checked)

3. Install Chainfire's RegionLock Away App from Google Play Store (and buy him a beer ) or download it from here.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2470551

4. Tap "Region Unlock" in the app

5. Let it do its thing

6. Choose Reboot Later (Thats what I did at least)

7. Turn off the phone and try a non-At&t sim card.


I tried my old T-mobile sim in mine and it pulled up, and we just got back from the MetroPCS store and have his running on that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Metro1.jpg
Views:	14113
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	2311331   Click image for larger version

Name:	Metro2.jpg
Views:	10260
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	2311332   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tmo1.jpg
Views:	9785
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	2311333   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tmo2.jpg
Views:	9118
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	2311334  
Last edited by tyiphius; 8th October 2013 at 09:03 PM.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to tyiphius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2013, 08:16 AM   |  #2  
sinichi21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 304
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyiphius

I bought two At&t Note 3s yesterday. One for me and one for a friend. I'm on At&t and my friend is on MetroPCS. I called At&t for an unlock and they couldnt get me a code, even though one was paid in full price and "qualified" to get unlocked according to them. So this is how I got the phones unlocked.

Reminder: I'm not responsible for any damage you may do to your phone. Proceed at your own risk!

Root is Required!

1. To root your At&t Note 3 follow this guide (Thank You designgears!)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2474422

2. You will need to allow unknown sources to be installed.
Settings>General>Security>Unknown Sources (Make sure its checked)

3. Install Chainfire's RegionLock Away App from Google Play Store (and buy him a beer ) or download it from here.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2470551

4. Tap "Region Unlock" in the app

5. Let it do its thing

6. Choose Reboot Later (Thats what I did at least)

7. Turn off the phone and try a non-At&t sim card.


I tried my old T-mobile sim in mine and it pulled up, and we just got back from the MetroPCS store and have his running on that.

Wow thanks it work never thought it would work like magic
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sinichi21 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2013, 04:25 PM   |  #3  
munnarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I can confirm that this worked to unlock mine. I tried a T-Mobile SIM and was able to make a call. Thanks.
18th October 2013, 02:24 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by munnarg

I can confirm that this worked to unlock mine. I tried a T-Mobile SIM and was able to make a call. Thanks.

Thanks for sharing.. Is this permanent unlock?
18th October 2013, 02:32 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by coskevin

Thanks for sharing.. Is this permanent unlock?

Yes. I've soft bricked my phone, reflashed, stuck in my T mobile sim card without running the app and it pulled up the network.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th October 2013, 03:02 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyiphius

Yes. I've soft bricked my phone, reflashed, stuck in my T mobile sim card without running the app and it pulled up the network.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

This works! I wonder if this affect the LTE because I think it modifies the modem. Have you notice a difference?
18th October 2013, 09:54 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyiphius

Yes. I've soft bricked my phone, reflashed, stuck in my T mobile sim card without running the app and it pulled up the network.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Same question.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
19th October 2013, 08:04 AM   |  #8  
Whoflungdu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I have an unlocked note 3 simply I went into the AT&T store where I live and said unlock it or I won't buy it and bam they did it. I have a simple pay as you go T-Mobile card popped it in, input the code and unlocked I was. I had to buy the phone outright so was costly but not at all risky. LTE showed up just fine on the T-Mobile network.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
19th October 2013, 02:40 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by coskevin

This works! I wonder if this affect the LTE because I think it modifies the modem. Have you notice a difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slidesear

Same question.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

I havent noticed a difference. Everything is still fast for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoflungdu

I have an unlocked note 3 simply I went into the AT&T store where I live and said unlock it or I won't buy it and bam they did it. I have a simple pay as you go T-Mobile card popped it in, input the code and unlocked I was. I had to buy the phone outright so was costly but not at all risky. LTE showed up just fine on the T-Mobile network.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

You lucky mother fu
I asked at&t here about that since i bought one full price and they said, to call customer service. So did the next day and they "couldnt" give me the network code. I honestly dont care about an unlock as I'm on At&t.
The only difference is that you're phone wont be region unlocked. Sim unlock and region unlock are different.
Did you buy your phone full price/off contract?
19th October 2013, 02:44 PM   |  #10  
Whoflungdu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyiphius

You lucky mother fu
I asked at&t here about that since i bought one full price and they said, to call customer service. So did the next day and they "couldnt" give me the network code. I honestly dont care about an unlock as I'm on At&t.
The only difference is that you're phone wont be region unlocked. Sim unlock and region unlock are different.
Did you buy your phone full price/off contract?

Yeah I did buy it full price out of contract. As for the region unlock luckily we still have Chainfires method for that fix.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes