Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,812 Members 49,743 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint LG G2 Boot looping

Tip us?
 
vixman
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Sprint LG G2 Boot looping

hello,

This morning i was using my phone like every day, but i notice that i had no signal so i decided to restart the phone. When it restarted out of nowhere the phone started to boot loop.. i didnt do anything for it to start doing that.. after a long while trying to fix it i gave up and got into recovery and decided to clean install the rom. It did install but after 1 minute of being on the screen it would boot loop.. I download it the same rom and installed it and still kept doing the same thing.. i had a back up so i decided to install it which i did but again after 40 seconds of start up it would boot loop.. finally, i decided to use the LG Flash tool TWICE and it did work but again after a little while the phone turns off and on.. idk what lese to do??? any ideas?
 
mmeidl78
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 380
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ulm
Check if it displays your IMEI in the Settings. If not you should check if you've got a EFS Backup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vixman View Post
hello,

This morning i was using my phone like every day, but i notice that i had no signal so i decided to restart the phone. When it restarted out of nowhere the phone started to boot loop.. i didnt do anything for it to start doing that.. after a long while trying to fix it i gave up and got into recovery and decided to clean install the rom. It did install but after 1 minute of being on the screen it would boot loop.. I download it the same rom and installed it and still kept doing the same thing.. i had a back up so i decided to install it which i did but again after 40 seconds of start up it would boot loop.. finally, i decided to use the LG Flash tool TWICE and it did work but again after a little while the phone turns off and on.. idk what lese to do??? any ideas?
 
vixman
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmeidl78 View Post
Check if it displays your IMEI in the Settings. If not you should check if you've got a EFS Backup.
I already checked and everything says unknown. I do not have any type of backup! is there something i can do?
 
mmeidl78
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 380
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ulm
Congratulations! Now your on the same step as I am. Don't know how to fix this without a EFS Backup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vixman View Post
I already checked and everything says unknown. I do not have any type of backup! is there something i can do?
 
vixman
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmeidl78 View Post
Congratulations! Now your on the same step as I am. Don't know how to fix this without a EFS Backup.
OHH wow!! so im basically stock with a brand new phone that boots on and off ..Wow.. well if you ever find an answer can you please share it with me!!! thank you in advance.

I have no idea what kind of backup you are talking about but could we use it from another G2?
 
mmeidl78
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 380
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ulm
Maybe this will help you find out what a EFS-Backup is:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451390

I've seen the question somewhere else (to use a backup from another g2) and they said, that it will boot but don't login into the network, cause you'll get a IMEI with 00000 or something like this.

Don't know a answer. I think I must send my G2 to LG and pay a lot of money IF they'll fix it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vixman View Post
OHH wow!! so im basically stock with a brand new phone that boots on and off ..Wow.. well if you ever find an answer can you please share it with me!!! thank you in advance.

I have no idea what kind of backup you are talking about but could we use it from another G2?
 
vixman
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmeidl78 View Post
Maybe this will help you find out what a EFS-Backup is:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451390

I've seen the question somewhere else (to use a backup from another g2) and they said, that it will boot but don't login into the network, cause you'll get a IMEI with 00000 or something like this.

Don't know a answer. I think I must send my G2 to LG and pay a lot of money IF they'll fix it.
OHH i see what you mean... I have added EFS backup to the IOroot scripts so that everyone that roots will have a copy of their EFS partitions on the computer you run IOroot from. Regardless, this current thread will still be a good "heads up" and an alternative for those who insist on using other shady root methods or for those who just want another way to back things up.

I did use IOroot, does that mean that if i connect it to the computer and try to root it again it would fix it? you think???
 
mmeidl78
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 380
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ulm
Quote:
Originally Posted by vixman View Post
OHH i see what you mean... I have added EFS backup to the IOroot scripts so that everyone that roots will have a copy of their EFS partitions on the computer you run IOroot from. Regardless, this current thread will still be a good "heads up" and an alternative for those who insist on using other shady root methods or for those who just want another way to back things up.

I did use IOroot, does that mean that if i connect it to the computer and try to root it again it would fix it? you think???
In the Thread is a step-by-step tutorial how to restore EFS-Files. Make a Backup of these 2 files before you root your phone again! Don't know, if those 2 files got overwritten (maybe with the damaged data) when you root your phone again.
 
vixman
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Fixed my phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmeidl78 View Post
In the Thread is a step-by-step tutorial how to restore EFS-Files. Make a Backup of these 2 files before you root your phone again! Don't know, if those 2 files got overwritten (maybe with the damaged data) when you root your phone again.
Well just wanted to let you know that i sent my phone to LG for them to fix it. They didnt charge me and all they did was re-flash the rom. if you havent fixed it you should try sending it to them.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes