Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 48,995 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stock on hboot1.56 Security Warning!

Tip us?
 
Wally72
Old
#1  
Wally72's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 818
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: York, Pa
Default Stock on hboot1.56 Security Warning!

Hello. I was on TMO 4.4.2 S-On unlocked bootloader. I wanted to downgrade to 4.3 so I downloaded the RUU for TMO. Then I re-locked bootloader and tried to run the RUU with no lock "ERROR 155". I searched for the KK RUU but isn't available. Now I'm stock at the bootloader with the "SYSTEM WARNING". Can someone please tell me how I can either get to downgrade with the 4.3 RUU or how to get my device up and running?

TIA
Current Devices:

(TMO) LG G2

(TMO) LG G Flex

(TMO) LG G3
 
synt3k
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Unlock your bootloader again if you locked it, then use fastboot to flash a custom recovery like TWRP 2.7.0.0.
Once you have the recovery installed you can flash a ROM by either side loading it or use a handy USB OTG adapter and a flash drive. There are many guides available that cover all of this already online. Just curious, are you S-OFF?
The Following User Says Thank You to synt3k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Wally72
Old
#3  
Wally72's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 818
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: York, Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by synt3k View Post
Unlock your bootloader again if you locked it, then use fastboot to flash a custom recovery like TWRP 2.7.0.0.
Once you have the recovery installed you can flash a ROM by either side loading it or use a handy USB OTG adapter and a flash drive. There are many guides available that cover all of this already online. Just curious, are you S-OFF?
S-on. Could I use the same unlock code.bin?
Current Devices:

(TMO) LG G2

(TMO) LG G Flex

(TMO) LG G3
 
raghav kapur
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 455
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally72 View Post
Hello. I was on TMO 4.4.2 S-On unlocked bootloader. I wanted to downgrade to 4.3 so I downloaded the RUU for TMO. Then I re-locked bootloader and tried to run the RUU with no lock "ERROR 155". I searched for the KK RUU but isn't available. Now I'm stock at the bootloader with the "SYSTEM WARNING". Can someone please tell me how I can either get to downgrade with the 4.3 RUU or how to get my device up and running?

TIA
1) Downgrade requires S-OFF. You cannot flash an RUU for a lower firmware if ur S-ON
2) Instead of going through the ugly RUU process (meaningless), you can just install a 4.3-based ROM. Unlock your bootloader. Flash TWRP 2.6.3.3 using fastboot. Then, adb sideload Android Revolution HD 31.6 (4.3) to ur phone and flash in TWRP.

At the end, ARHD rom is basically stock ROM with more tweaks. So, installing a ROM is better than the headache of an RUU

---------- Post added at 09:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:55 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally72 View Post
S-on. Could I use the same unlock code.bin?
Yes, the same unlock code.bin can be used
The Following User Says Thank You to raghav kapur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Wally72
Old
#5  
Wally72's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 818
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: York, Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur View Post
1) Downgrade requires S-OFF. You cannot flash an RUU for a lower firmware if ur S-ON
2) Instead of going through the ugly RUU process (meaningless), you can just install a 4.3-based ROM. Unlock your bootloader. Flash TWRP 2.6.3.3 using fastboot. Then, adb sideload Android Revolution HD 31.6 (4.3) to ur phone and flash in TWRP.

At the end, ARHD rom is basically stock ROM with more tweaks. So, installing a ROM is better than the headache of an RUU

---------- Post added at 09:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:55 PM ----------



Yes, the same unlock code.bin can be used

Thank you for your help. I'm up and running!
Current Devices:

(TMO) LG G2

(TMO) LG G Flex

(TMO) LG G3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes