Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,355 Members 39,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

use s5 to open

Tip us?
 
anthonyss89
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default use s5 to open

is it possible to use the s5 to open my garage door or my gate
 
rob306
Old
#2  
rob306's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Logandale
Yes, it's possible. Do an internet search on how to build a WiFi garage door opener. I thought about building one, but you have to be on the same WiFi as the garage WiFi door circuit.

Sent from my SM-G900V using xda app-developers app
Verizon Galaxy S III (SCH-I535)
Yup, it's rooted!
 
anthonyss89
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob306 View Post
Yes, it's possible. Do an internet search on how to build a WiFi garage door opener. I thought about building one, but you have to be on the same WiFi as the garage WiFi door circuit.

Sent from my SM-G900V using xda app-developers app
ahhh cool thanks but i was hoping for using the IR on the s5 to do it ?
 
teronzhul
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyss89 View Post
ahhh cool thanks but i was hoping for using the IR on the s5 to do it ?
Garage door openers use RF, not IR for their remotes. That isn't happening.

I personally use Chamberlain's MyQ system to open my garage door via my cell phone.
 
nc88keyz
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 92
Join Date: Mar 2006
MyQ is now free, it is no longer an annual fee to use the service. Rather than make it open access with port fwding they decided to just make it free. If you looked at this option 4 years ago when it came out on the market. it was 99 year i think. I quickly passed at that option. Its also very possible to use a contact closer switch via X-10 stuff but not quite as simply as using an app for that garage door is it
 
Guadalupeohara
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 238
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: D.K
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob306 View Post
Yes, it's possible. Do an internet search on how to build a WiFi garage door opener. I thought about building one, but you have to be on the same WiFi as the garage WiFi door circuit.

Sent from my SM-G900V using xda app-developers app
Really..!! s5 open my door ? How it possible ? Step by step solution please
 
tillithz
Old
#7  
tillithz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 426
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland
you could do ir by simply getting a ir kit and connecting to a relay and then to your wall switch.

another way is connection through a home alarm system with a relay module.

another way could be through your ocmputer with a network relay switch wired to the wall switch of your garage door.

another probably simplest way would be with an IOBridge and the app available in the app store. This way you could actually open the door if you were on the wifi or on your phones data. so you could even open/close the door from elsewhere. Ive done this for office building access doors.
I can explain it for you but I cant understand it for you

I won the World Poker Championship in 2010 with Pokemon cards
 
Guadalupeohara
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 238
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: D.K
Quote:
Originally Posted by tillithz View Post
you could do ir by simply getting a ir kit and connecting to a relay and then to your wall switch.

another way is connection through a home alarm system with a relay module.

another way could be through your ocmputer with a network relay switch wired to the wall switch of your garage door.

another probably simplest way would be with an IOBridge and the app available in the app store. This way you could actually open the door if you were on the wifi or on your phones data. so you could even open/close the door from elsewhere. Ive done this for office building access doors.
Thanks tillithz.. I see your tips. I hope it will works..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes