Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Post HTC Raider (Bell Mobility) OTA and Root

OP Kurty007

11th July 2012, 05:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I recently got my HTC Raider 4G LTE at Bell and I was wondering if I could root after I do the official OTA download to Android 4.0 and HTC Sense 3.6. Currently, it is brand new out of the box so that would mean locked bootloader, unrooted, and S-ON.
I know how to get the bootloader unlocked if that is necessary.

Could I root first, and then do the official update, and still keep the root? Or should I update first, and then root (if that is possible)?
What should I do? I basically want the simplest way to get root (but it would be nice to also get the update but I don't care too much about it).

Also, do I need to get S-OFF? Again, I am looking for the simplest/best way to get root on my device, so I can get custom roms and stuff.

I have tried Vivid All In One Kit 2.2 but when I try to install SuperSU.zip in ClockWorkMod Recovery, I get "installation aborted". I don't think I did it right though... I created a .zip file, named it SuperSU, and basically copy/pasted the SuperSU folder that was in the toolkit.

I have also had a glimpse of the superguide in vivid android development but I think I need S-OFF... Is the superguide the best way to do this? Could some people show me some examples or solve for why I can't get root? Most of the links that I have seen are for the HTC Vivid. I'm sure they should work but I just want to make sure since I am using a Canadian HTC Raider (Bell).
11th July 2012, 06:31 AM   |  #2  
slapshot30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
First things first, run the RUU to get the ICS hboot/ROM. You can find it here. Make sure you do the right ICS one for your carrier. Then go ahead and do steps 1 and 4 from the superguide. That will essentially give you the rooted stock ICS ROM. S-OFF is not absolutely necessary. All you need to do is manually flash the kernel before flashing the ROM EVERY time you want a new ROM. All S-OFF does is make you able to flash recovery and kernel from the recovery. So that means when you flash a ROM, it is automatically able to flash the kernel as well. I am still S-ON though, it just adds the small step of manually flashing the kernel.
11th July 2012, 07:29 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Why do I need to run the RUU?
I assume RUU gets me hboot access, official ICS (Android 4.0 or something) and HTC Sense 3.6? and step 4 gets basically gets root
Couldn't I just officially update the device OTA or with a connection, and then do something to get hboot, and then root?
Or do you think it would be much simpler to to run RUU?

So far, I have unlocked the bootloader via HTCdev (step 1) and have clockworkmod recovery which I got with the toolkit.
Also, when I hold volume down and power button, I believe it fastboots without giving me any options. I can only get to clockworkmod recovery and what I believe is hboot (where I can see whether or not the bootloader is unlocked or locked, S-ON or S-OFF, and get options for boot) by using the toolkit (or by typing in the adb commands).
11th July 2012, 08:02 AM   |  #4  
slapshot30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurty007

Why do I need to run the RUU?
I assume RUU gets me hboot access, official ICS (Android 4.0 or something) and HTC Sense 3.6? and step 4 gets basically gets root
Couldn't I just officially update the device OTA or with a connection, and then do something to get hboot, and then root?
Or do you think it would be much simpler to to run RUU?

So far, I have unlocked the bootloader via HTCdev (step 1) and have clockworkmod recovery which I got with the toolkit.
Also, when I hold volume down and power button, I believe it fastboots without giving me any options. I can only get to clockworkmod recovery and what I believe is hboot (where I can see whether or not the bootloader is unlocked or locked, S-ON or S-OFF, and get options for boot) by using the toolkit (or by typing in the adb commands).

OTA, RUU, PH zip will all not work because you have an unlocked bootloader. Re-lock the bootloader first. The RUU is just about the easiest way to get stock ICS and it updates the HBOOT by itself. After the RUU, unlock the bootloader once again (step 1) and then perm root (step 4).
The Following User Says Thank You to slapshot30 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th July 2012, 01:43 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshot30

OTA, RUU, PH zip will all not work because you have an unlocked bootloader. Re-lock the bootloader first. The RUU is just about the easiest way to get stock ICS and it updates the HBOOT by itself. After the RUU, unlock the bootloader once again (step 1) and then perm root (step 4).

Thank you so much! I now have Android 4.0.3, HTC Sense 3.6, and root access
Last edited by Kurty007; 12th July 2012 at 02:40 AM.
12th July 2012, 03:29 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 15
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I have a rogers raider its updated to ics by ota then I unlocked bootloader. And used vivid all in one and have cwm recovery on my phone. I tried to perma root but it didn't stick because it was still stock Rom. So who can I use holics without s-off?

Sent from my HTC-X710a using xda premium
Last edited by jbplumbing.ca; 12th July 2012 at 03:48 AM.
12th July 2012, 04:53 AM   |  #7  
slapshot30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbplumbing.ca

I have a rogers raider its updated to ics by ota then I unlocked bootloader. And used vivid all in one and have cwm recovery on my phone. I tried to perma root but it didn't stick because it was still stock Rom. So who can I use holics without s-off?

Sent from my HTC-X710a using xda premium

If you want stock root then follow step 4 in the guide in my signature. To flash ROMs without S-OFF takes an extra step. Every time you want to flash a new ROM, you need to flash the matching kernel beforehand. Use the guide in my signature to learn how to flash a kernel.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to slapshot30 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th July 2012, 05:12 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 15
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
4) Perm-Root your device (WildChild)

- Turn off your phone, turn it back on my holding power + volume down
- Use the volume rocker and power button to select fastboot
- Connect your phone to your PC
- Inside the WCXJB ROOT PACK, click shift + right click and select "Open command window here"
- Enter in these commands without the quotes
- "fastboot flash recovery wcxrecovery.img"
- Now you can boot up your phone
- Download and put Vivid_CWM_Root_VER2 zip file on root of internal sdcard (aka NOT in any folders)
- Boot into H-Boot like you did before (turn off phone, turn back on holding power + vol down), and use the volume rockers to go to "recovery" and press the power button to select it
- Select "install zip from sdcard"
- Select the VIVID_CWM_ROOT_VER2.zip through recovery and then reboot your phone
- You are now rooted and I recommend flashing a matching kernel + ROM for root to stick

So this will give me stock rogers Rom but rooted? And can I just flash VIVID_CWM_ROOT_VER2.ZIP FROM recovery because I already have custom recovery?
Or do I still need to go through the steps. Thanks for your patience.

Sent from my HTC-X710a using xda premium
12th July 2012, 05:28 AM   |  #9  
slapshot30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbplumbing.ca

4) Perm-Root your device (WildChild)

- Turn off your phone, turn it back on my holding power + volume down
- Use the volume rocker and power button to select fastboot
- Connect your phone to your PC
- Inside the WCXJB ROOT PACK, click shift + right click and select "Open command window here"
- Enter in these commands without the quotes
- "fastboot flash recovery wcxrecovery.img"
- Now you can boot up your phone
- Download and put Vivid_CWM_Root_VER2 zip file on root of internal sdcard (aka NOT in any folders)
- Boot into H-Boot like you did before (turn off phone, turn back on holding power + vol down), and use the volume rockers to go to "recovery" and press the power button to select it
- Select "install zip from sdcard"
- Select the VIVID_CWM_ROOT_VER2.zip through recovery and then reboot your phone
- You are now rooted and I recommend flashing a matching kernel + ROM for root to stick

So this will give me stock rogers Rom but rooted? And can I just flash VIVID_CWM_ROOT_VER2.ZIP FROM recovery because I already have custom recovery?
Or do I still need to go through the steps. Thanks for your patience.

Sent from my HTC-X710a using xda premium

Yea, pretty much all you need to do is flash that VIVID_CWM_ROOT zip in recovery and it should yield root if you are on the stock ROM with unlocked bootloader. If it doesn't give root the first time, try flashing it a couple more times.
The Following User Says Thank You to slapshot30 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th July 2012, 05:41 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Recovery
I seem to have a problem getting into recovery (CWM). Whenever I turn my device off and try to turn it back on by holding power and volume down, it fastboots instantly when I let go without giving me any options. I have downloaded Rom Manager flashed CWM but when I tried to reboot into recovery, it gets stuck at the HTC sign. The only way I had accessed bootloader or recovery early was thanks to the toolkit. Any way I can fix this so I can go to recovery anytime I want without connecting to PC?
Last edited by Kurty007; 12th July 2012 at 05:46 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes