Sony Encouraging SmartWatch 2 Development

Mobile device companies like selling devices–it’s how they make their money and … more

Easily Toggles Your Lollipop Mobile Data Network Type

Android Lollipop is by good margin the most advanced and refinedversion of … more

Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Are they the same?? S5830I and S5830??

OP screamwork

29th May 2012, 12:45 AM   |  #1  
screamwork's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Hi all..

So as it's mentioned in the title, i have a Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830I will the Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 be compatible with my phone?? i can't see a difference but an "I" letter!
29th May 2012, 03:13 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I think they are the same in specs and "i" stands for india.
29th May 2012, 05:00 AM   |  #3  
MDHACK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
That's an i or L?
If the letter is i (S5830i). This phone has diferent hardware and isn't compatible with S5830. So you can't use ROMs developed to S5830.
If the letter is L (S5830L). This phone has same hardware than S5830. The only difference is the bands (850/1900). The L means Latinamerica.
The S5830 has bands (900/2100). Generaly from Europe.
29th May 2012, 05:04 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Barnala, Punjab
Thanks Meter: 313
 
1,607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I doesn't stand for india. It has completely different hardware. You can't use Ace ROMS on I version.
27th December 2012, 11:14 AM   |  #5  
Gamerz_04's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Quezon City
Thanks Meter: 4
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
S5830i and s5830 are different s5830 roms can brick s5830i.
Sorry for my bad engllish xD
31st December 2012, 03:57 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerz_04

S5830i and s5830 are different s5830 roms can brick s5830i.
Sorry for my bad engllish xD


^^ What he said.

As I understand it, the "i" version has the following differences (and probably more):

- It's chipset is totally different so using S5830 firmware / roms etc WILL cause problems, probably bricking (or so it's been said many times). The non "i" has the Qualcomm MSM7227 and the "i" model uses the Broadcom BCM21553
- It's cpu is different (Armv6 @ 832mhz) vs 800mhz for the non "i".
- Contrary to common belief, it DOES have a gpu (onboard the cpu die)
- The "i" model runs bluetooth v3, not 2.1 as with the non "i" version
- Judging by the specs available on the web, it has SLIGHTLY more ram (about 5mb)
- It has updated firmware / battery life / cpu usage improvements blah blah blah


I've read many threads where S5830 owners have flashed with S5830i firmware etc and have bricked their phone right off the bat.

They're basically the same phones, but also totally different on the insides.


Last edited by jobeeey; 1st January 2013 at 03:44 PM. Reason: because I can't seem to stop typo'ing
The Following User Says Thank You to jobeeey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobeeey

- It's chipset is totally different so using S5830 firmware / roms etc WILL cause problems, probably bricking (or so it's been said many times). The non "i" has the Qualcomm MSM7227 and the "i" model uses the Broadcom BCM21553
- It's cpu is different (Armv6 @ 832mhz) vs 800mhz for the non "i".


I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?
Last edited by zatarra86; 1st May 2014 at 03:50 PM.
1st May 2014, 04:11 PM   |  #8  
Envy-X's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby, England
Thanks Meter: 814
 
1,604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zatarra86

I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?

First thing, this thread is 2 years old.
Second, the original s5830 does have Qualcomm while s5830i has Broadcom.
The Following User Says Thank You to Envy-X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 362
 
956 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zatarra86

I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?

No, Qualcomm S1 MSM7227 was available from 2009 and Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 have it too. See this link,

Qualcomm MSM7227

Hope I Helped

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes