5,815,179 Members 38,936 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Are they the same?? S5830I and S5830??

Tip us?
 
screamwork
Old
#1  
screamwork's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 560
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] Are they the same?? S5830I and S5830??

Hi all..

So as it's mentioned in the title, i have a Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830I will the Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 be compatible with my phone?? i can't see a difference but an "I" letter!
Device: Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100)
ROM: JεℓℓySℵα℘ v7.0
Kernel: Apolo v4.13 Regular
 
syntx
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2011
I think they are the same in specs and "i" stands for india.
 
MDHACK
Old
#3  
MDHACK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 50
Join Date: Feb 2012
That's an i or L?
If the letter is i (S5830i). This phone has diferent hardware and isn't compatible with S5830. So you can't use ROMs developed to S5830.
If the letter is L (S5830L). This phone has same hardware than S5830. The only difference is the bands (850/1900). The L means Latinamerica.
The S5830 has bands (900/2100). Generaly from Europe.
 
abhibnl
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 230
Posts: 1,449
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Barnala
I doesn't stand for india. It has completely different hardware. You can't use Ace ROMS on I version.
Previous:Samsung Galaxy Ace (Rooted)
Current: Samsung Galaxy S3 (White, 16GB)
Rooted and purely stock
Quote:
Originally Posted by chainfire
However, if you put any trust in Quadrant scores you could use them to prove that dancing naked for 5 minutes in your garden affects device performance
 
Gamerz_04
Old
#5  
Gamerz_04's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 27
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quezon City
S5830i and s5830 are different s5830 roms can brick s5830i.
Sorry for my bad engllish xD
 
jobeeey
Old
(Last edited by jobeeey; 1st January 2013 at 02:44 PM.) Reason: because I can't seem to stop typo'ing
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerz_04 View Post
S5830i and s5830 are different s5830 roms can brick s5830i.
Sorry for my bad engllish xD

^^ What he said.

As I understand it, the "i" version has the following differences (and probably more):

- It's chipset is totally different so using S5830 firmware / roms etc WILL cause problems, probably bricking (or so it's been said many times). The non "i" has the Qualcomm MSM7227 and the "i" model uses the Broadcom BCM21553
- It's cpu is different (Armv6 @ 832mhz) vs 800mhz for the non "i".
- Contrary to common belief, it DOES have a gpu (onboard the cpu die)
- The "i" model runs bluetooth v3, not 2.1 as with the non "i" version
- Judging by the specs available on the web, it has SLIGHTLY more ram (about 5mb)
- It has updated firmware / battery life / cpu usage improvements blah blah blah


I've read many threads where S5830 owners have flashed with S5830i firmware etc and have bricked their phone right off the bat.

They're basically the same phones, but also totally different on the insides.


The Following User Says Thank You to jobeeey For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zatarra86
Old
(Last edited by zatarra86; 1st May 2014 at 02:50 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobeeey View Post
- It's chipset is totally different so using S5830 firmware / roms etc WILL cause problems, probably bricking (or so it's been said many times). The non "i" has the Qualcomm MSM7227 and the "i" model uses the Broadcom BCM21553
- It's cpu is different (Armv6 @ 832mhz) vs 800mhz for the non "i".

I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?
 
Envy-X
Old
#8  
Envy-X's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 808
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Derby
Quote:
Originally Posted by zatarra86 View Post
I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?
First thing, this thread is 2 years old.
Second, the original s5830 does have Qualcomm while s5830i has Broadcom.
The Following User Says Thank You to Envy-X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mahithm
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 956
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by zatarra86 View Post
I'm no expert but according to system-on-a-chip.findthebest.com, the Qualcomm MSM7227 was released in 2013, so how can the 5830 have it?
No, Qualcomm S1 MSM7227 was available from 2009 and Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 have it too. See this link,

Qualcomm MSM7227

Hope I Helped
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Recovery? Check. Root? Check. Android One Ready for Lift Off!

Inthe last few weeks, we have been written quite a lot aboutAndroid One … more

Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more