FORUMS

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

OnePlus 2 Leaked, Actually Prettier Than Expected

The OnePlus 2 launch event is mere hours away, and we have been treated to clear, … more

[Q] Looking for help

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By totallywood, Junior Member on 25th April 2014, 10:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I know realize i shouldn't have attempted rooting or flashing but thats all hindsight. I'm before even a noob but hoping you guys can help me out.
Currently have a m8 att that I think is savable but I cannot figure out what to do next. I never made a backup and I'm stuck without a rom installed. I believe it is rooted and I do have twrp installed but am failing when trying to flash a rom. I'm willing to pay somebody to help me if they are willing to walk me through fixing it. Any help or direction is appreciated. I have been reading different threads but honestly I'm just getting more confused.

Thanks in advance.
 
 
25th April 2014, 10:55 PM |#2  
johnnyutah22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Can you boot into recovery? Does adb see your phone when connected to the computer? If so you can push a rom to your phone through adb and then install it. It happened to me. The guide to doing this is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1667929
25th April 2014, 11:36 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyutah22

Can you boot into recovery? Does adb see your phone when connected to the computer? If so you can push a rom to your phone through adb and then install it. It happened to me. The guide to doing this is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1667929


Yes I can boot onto recovery and adb does see it. Can I just copy a rom to sd card and install from there or does it have to be pushed? I have copied them to sd card and tried but it keeps failing to install.
25th April 2014, 11:53 PM |#4  
johnnyutah22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totallywood

Yes I can boot onto recovery and adb does see it. Can I just copy a rom to sd card and install from there or does it have to be pushed? I have copied them to sd card and tried but it keeps failing to install.

Yes you could give that a shot but that's odd that they won't install from sd card. Have you tried more than one? Did you flash a GPE rom? May need to look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2721435
26th April 2014, 12:19 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
/Users/Dmerrill/Downloads/photo[3].JPG

Does this help at all?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo[3].jpg
Views:	35
Size:	123.0 KB
ID:	2708928  
26th April 2014, 12:37 AM |#6  
slapdaddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Make sure the MD5 checksum of the ROM .zip you downloaded matches the file on your SD card.

Also, wasn't there an issue with a certain version of TWRP not flashing from an external SD card and the fix was just flashing an updated version? So also make sure you have the right version of TWRP on the device.
26th April 2014, 01:21 AM |#7  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 256
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totallywood

/Users/Dmerrill/Downloads/photo[3].JPG

Does this help at all?

Do you have md5 checked? Uncheck it if you do.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th April 2014, 03:33 AM |#8  
Wonders_Never_Cease's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,003
 
Donate to Me
More
Copy a working rom to where your adb and fastboot are located connect phone via twrp run this command
adb push nameofrom.zip /sdcard/. exactly as shown here change nameofrom.zip to the name of the rom your trying to flash...this will put a rom on your internal storage and it then can be flashed via twrp
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes