Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] F350 possible enable Edge Network ???

OP wolfgart

19th April 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #1  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Guys , i'm so happy with this Great F350K and i think is the Best device now on the market.

But here in Europe there's no way to enable edge network on this device ( same thing was using G2 F320K or S ).

The Service Menu is not useful to enable edge network too , Damn.

Do you know if exists a valid method to do this ? Maybe try to modify Modem.img ?

Sent from my LG-F350K using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by wolfgart; 19th April 2014 at 04:22 PM.
20th April 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgart

Guys , i'm so happy with this Great F350K and i think is the Best device now on the market.

But here in Europe there's no way to enable edge network on this device ( same thing was using G2 F320K or S ).

The Service Menu is not useful to enable edge network too , Damn.

Do you know if exists a valid method to do this ? Maybe try to modify Modem.img ?

Sent from my LG-F350K using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

http://bbs.gaodi.net/forum.php?mod=v...extra=page%3D1

please move this thread to Q&A
20th April 2014, 10:18 AM   |  #3  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkfriends

http://bbs.gaodi.net/forum.php?mod=v...extra=page%3D1

please move this thread to Q&A

Bro, hard chinese language here. Need someone here try on his F350 and make an english guide
21st April 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #4  
buenarc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgart

Bro, hard chinese language here. Need someone here try on his F350 and make an english guide


Not really sure what to do on this. Hope someone can post here. Thanks
21st April 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #5  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buenarc

Not really sure what to do on this. Hope someone can post here. Thanks

can someone using G2 (F320 variant) try this guide. or AT&T variant. The goal is enable or disable a type of network
7th May 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #6  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
any ideas ?
8th May 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #7  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
is seems my phone is not viewed from QPST https://www.dropbox.com/s/8xt3yho3g1...%20Manager.png


I'm only able to see lg serial port (in device manager) if phone started in download mode. No way to have serial port on OS booted
10th May 2014, 06:09 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgart

is seems my phone is not viewed from QPST https://www.dropbox.com/s/8xt3yho3g1...%20Manager.png


I'm only able to see lg serial port (in device manager) if phone started in download mode. No way to have serial port on OS booted


Basically it is a tool for communcate with QUALCOMM device (so it is not limited to LG, Samsung....etc)
It has some variables coded in the modem storage, so we have to change these value and enable EDGE for example...


PS: make sure dail: 3845#*350#

hidden menu
Port Setting -> Diag Setting => USB Set for Diag

1) you need to install QPST v2.7.374 which support 4G
https://mydownloadsection.googlecode...ST.2.7.374.rar
2) you need QUALCOMM QXDM 3.09.19
http://bbs.gaodi.net/forum.php?mod=v...ead&tid=658994
then, just extract it and run ./bin/QXDM.exe

3) install LG drivers
4) when plug in usb, select LG software mode
5) change the LG driver to com41

6) run QXDM
7) right click (windows notification bar "earth icon"), select Qpst Configuration
8) add new port (you should see com41 port there) and enable it

9) go back to QXDM, select Options -> communication ports

10) select com41 port
all done, just edit the value and write as below for Edge


It looks like ID 0508 = EDGE Feature Support, by default is 0 (false=disable)


ID Value
00911 0x0c
00947 0x0c
02508 1
02509 1
02510 0x01
02511 0x02
02512 0x01
PS: not all modem can allow to write new value... I tried , it can write but not saved... so failed at the end
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	port.jpg
Views:	528
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	2735469   Click image for larger version

Name:	add_port.jpg
Views:	529
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	2735470   Click image for larger version

Name:	comm.jpg
Views:	523
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	2735471   Click image for larger version

Name:	edit1.jpg
Views:	536
Size:	254.4 KB
ID:	2735510  
Last edited by hkfriends; 10th May 2014 at 07:02 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hkfriends For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 08:48 AM   |  #9  
wolfgart's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 445
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkfriends


Basically it is a tool for communcate with QUALCOMM device (so it is not limited to LG, Samsung....etc)
It has some variables coded in the modem storage, so we have to change these value and enable EDGE for example...


PS: make sure dail: 3845#*350#

hidden menu
Port Setting -> Diag Setting => USB Set for Diag

1) you need to install QPST v2.7.374 which support 4G
https://mydownloadsection.googlecode...ST.2.7.374.rar
2) you need QUALCOMM QXDM 3.09.19
http://bbs.gaodi.net/forum.php?mod=v...ead&tid=658994
then, just extract it and run ./bin/QXDM.exe

3) install LG drivers
4) when plug in usb, select LG software mode
5) change the LG driver to com41

6) run QXDM
7) right click (windows notification bar "earth icon"), select Qpst Configuration
8) add new port (you should see com41 port there) and enable it

9) go back to QXDM, select Options -> communication ports

10) select com41 port
all done, just edit the value and write as below for Edge


It looks like ID 0508 = EDGE Feature Support, by default is 0 (false=disable)


ID Value
00911 0x0c
00947 0x0c
02508 1
02509 1
02510 0x01
02511 0x02
02512 0x01
PS: not all modem can allow to write new value... I tried , it can write but not saved... so failed at the end


hey man, thank you, your guide is simply gorgeous . Great !


I've tried too and the same, i can write value but baseband is not written and don't allow to save

Do you think this is a QPST release limitation for this modem or there are some modem write protection ?
Last edited by wolfgart; 10th May 2014 at 08:52 AM.
10th May 2014, 10:39 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgart

is seems my phone is not viewed from QPST https://www.dropbox.com/s/8xt3yho3g1...%20Manager.png


I'm only able to see lg serial port (in device manager) if phone started in download mode. No way to have serial port on OS booted

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgart

hey man, thank you, your guide is simply gorgeous . Great !


I've tried too and the same, i can write value but baseband is not written and don't allow to save

Do you think this is a QPST release limitation for this modem or there are some modem write protection ?


No idea, it should work in previous model...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes