Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Prompt [Q] Cannot start Android L Preview in emulator

OP claytonjn

27th June 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #1  
claytonjn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 787
 
1,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
I am trying to set up an Android Virtual Device (AVD) running Android L Preview so that I can begin developing an app using the new Material Design theme. I already have AVDs set up running KitKat and Gingerbread, it is only the Android L Preview that is not working. I have tried both the AVD Manager built-in to Android Studio, as well as from a separate installation of the Android SDK.

Here is my config.ini:
Code:
avd.ini.encoding=ISO-8859-1
abi.type=armeabi-v7a
disk.dataPartition.size=1024M
hw.accelerometer=yes
hw.audioInput=yes
hw.battery=yes
hw.camera.back=webcam0
hw.camera.front=emulated
hw.cpu.arch=arm
hw.cpu.model=cortex-a8
hw.dPad=no
hw.device.hash2=MD5:2fa0e16c8cceb7d385183284107c0c88
hw.device.manufacturer=Google
hw.device.name=Nexus 5
hw.gps=yes
hw.keyboard=yes
hw.lcd.density=480
hw.mainKeys=no
hw.ramSize=2048
hw.sdCard=yes
hw.sensors.orientation=yes
hw.sensors.proximity=yes
hw.trackBall=no
image.sysdir.1=system-images\android-L\default\armeabi-v7a\
sdcard.size=1024M
skin.dynamic=no
skin.name=1080x1920
skin.path=1080x1920
tag.display=Default
tag.id=default
vm.heapSize=64
When I start the AVD I just get a black screen. I ended up letting it run for 5 hours and it never booted. Looking through the logcat, the following errors are repeated continuously:

Code:
06-27 13:32:31.945      319-319/? E/Netd﹕ Failed to open /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/default/accept_ra_rt_table: No such file or directory
06-27 13:32:31.945      319-319/? E/Netd﹕ Failed to open /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/eth0/accept_ra_rt_table: No such file or directory
06-27 13:32:31.945      319-319/? E/Netd﹕ Failed to open /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/lo/accept_ra_rt_table: No such file or directory
06-27 13:32:31.945      319-319/? E/Netd﹕ Failed to open /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/sit0/accept_ra_rt_table: No such file or directory
06-27 13:32:32.293      320-320/? E/SurfaceFlinger﹕ hwcomposer module not found
06-27 13:32:32.293      320-320/? E/SurfaceFlinger﹕ ERROR: failed to open framebuffer (No such file or directory), aborting
06-27 13:32:32.295      320-320/? A/libc﹕ Fatal signal 6 (SIGABRT), code -6 in tid 320 (surfaceflinger)
Here's the full logcat: http://pastebin.com/Ctjy5YLF


Does anyone have any idea what I did wrong or why the emulator isn't working? How can I get this up and running?

Thanks!
27th June 2014, 04:27 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Same here
I'm having the exact same issue but not getting any errors in the LogCat. Hopefully someone has a solution. I've downloaded the new Android Studio and tried it but it didn't work. I also re-downloaded the ADT Eclipse bundle and tried it with that. Still no joy.
27th June 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #3  
eddieringle's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 7
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
I had the same black screen until I enabled "Use Host GPU" under Emulation Options when creating the AVD.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to eddieringle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Black screen with the emulator running android L
same problem here.. tried host GPU and no luck...
27th June 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieringle

I had the same black screen until I enabled "Use Host GPU" under Emulation Options when creating the AVD.

Can confirm enabling 'Use Host GPU' has made the emulator work.
27th June 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #6  
claytonjn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 787
 
1,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieringle

I had the same black screen until I enabled "Use Host GPU" under Emulation Options when creating the AVD.

Now I feel like an idiot. I initially had that selected for my Gingerbread AVD but it displayed an error when starting and disabled the message. I assumed my GPU wasn't compatible for whatever reason so I never tried it with the Android L AVD. Or perhaps it had something to do with trying it over an RDP remote desktop session before. Or my RAMDISK being full. Anyways, it's working now, so thank you.
28th June 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Question
GPU + Atom x86 has made the emulator go from a black screen to the android startup screen. And now, we wait

Edit: To be clear, I tried GPU + ARM, didn't work.
Edit2: It work, still slow as hell though
Last edited by Shinuza; 28th June 2014 at 02:46 AM.
30th June 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieringle

I had the same black screen until I enabled "Use Host GPU" under Emulation Options when creating the AVD.

That worked for me. Thanks a million.
14th July 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieringle

I had the same black screen until I enabled "Use Host GPU" under Emulation Options when creating the AVD.

This does work for me on Linux
14th August 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #10  
claytonjn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 787
 
1,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just an update - I discovered two things.

1 - this was not an issue with the L Preview, but rather with emulating a Nexus 5.

2 - there are two ways to solve the issue, one way is to use host GPU, the other is to select a skin rather than choosing no skin. The nice thing about the second method is that the snapshot feature can be used, greatly increasing the emulator start time.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android l, avd, emulator
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes