Post Reply

"Upgrade" from MLG to NC2 (leaked KK to OTA KK)

OP amendolaro1

24th April 2014, 05:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
so upgraded to the leaked KK for my att note 3, and my wife just got the note3 as well and hers had an OTA to KK - versions are different and the bugs im experiencing are not on her version... i know i cant downgrade but how can i flash that update (official) since when i got to do an update it says im at the latest?

thanks !
24th April 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1

so upgraded to the leaked KK for my att note 3, and my wife just got the note3 as well and hers had an OTA to KK - versions are different and the bugs im experiencing are not on her version... i know i cant downgrade but how can i flash that update (official) since when i got to do an update it says im at the latest?

thanks !

I want to upgrade from MLG to NC2 too. However, there is no direct way to do it at the moment.

However, if you are still at A2, you can use Safestrap to switch between MJ5 and NC2 (Please don't flash NC2 aboot.mbn!!!!!!)
Last edited by SunnyOK; 24th April 2014 at 08:42 PM.
24th April 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #3  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 676
 
2,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Yes there is just do the mj5 restore that is in this section then follow one of the guides on how to install the ota

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
24th April 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #4  
147aaron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
As Jerrycoffman said. . . .

Restore back to MJ5 using this guide - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715
Don't root using the last part. It removes knox which will block you from being able to update the phone.

Next there will be a OTA to install its around 60mb. This is NB4

Lastly, just download kitkat OTA that's available. This may take sometime because it is a larger file size.

A lot of people have had issues installing the Kitkat OTA (including me). It fails at a certain percentage.
If you have this problem just follow this guide to fix it - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701062

Make sure you back up any apps and files you need before starting this
24th April 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #5  
mutantblack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tornados City
Thanks Meter: 885
 
2,704 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Honestly instead of upgrading to official KK, why don't you just root and flash of of the available KK rom which is so much better than stock. Unless you don't care about the custom rom and root, you can follow what other has suggested to get the official OTA. Once you update thought, no way to get it root anymore

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mutantblack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #6  
jreed3786's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 87
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Agree 100%!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantblack

Honestly instead of upgrading to official KK, why don't you just root and flash of of the available KK rom which is so much better than stock. Unless you don't care about the custom rom and root, you can follow what other has suggested to get the official OTA. Once you update thought, no way to get it root anymore

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

There is absolutely NO reason, if you follow instructions correctly, to accept the official update. Been there, done that. Glad I returned my OFFICIAL 4.4.2 phone and got another one to keep root on!!!
24th April 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed3786

There is absolutely NO reason, if you follow instructions correctly, to accept the official update. Been there, done that. Glad I returned my OFFICIAL 4.4.2 phone and got another one to keep root on!!!

i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?
25th April 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #8  
jreed3786's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 87
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1

i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?

As far as I know, that's a NO.
25th April 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #9  
knoshann's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Weatherford
Thanks Meter: 192
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1

i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?

Isis can work on kit kat. I had it working but changed to wallet out of principal

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
26th April 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Best solution:
Go to Best Buy and ask one of the Samsung people to get you to stock, in less than 10 to 15 minutes you'll be in OTA Kit Kat.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note 3 General by ThreadRank