Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,523 Members 50,429 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"Upgrade" from MLG to NC2 (leaked KK to OTA KK)

Tip us?
 
amendolaro1
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 219
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default "Upgrade" from MLG to NC2 (leaked KK to OTA KK)

so upgraded to the leaked KK for my att note 3, and my wife just got the note3 as well and hers had an OTA to KK - versions are different and the bugs im experiencing are not on her version... i know i cant downgrade but how can i flash that update (official) since when i got to do an update it says im at the latest?

thanks !
 
SunnyOK
Old
(Last edited by SunnyOK; 24th April 2014 at 08:42 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 263
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1 View Post
so upgraded to the leaked KK for my att note 3, and my wife just got the note3 as well and hers had an OTA to KK - versions are different and the bugs im experiencing are not on her version... i know i cant downgrade but how can i flash that update (official) since when i got to do an update it says im at the latest?

thanks !
I want to upgrade from MLG to NC2 too. However, there is no direct way to do it at the moment.

However, if you are still at A2, you can use Safestrap to switch between MJ5 and NC2 (Please don't flash NC2 aboot.mbn!!!!!!)
 
jerrycoffman45
Old
#3  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 654
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ashland ky
Yes there is just do the mj5 restore that is in this section then follow one of the guides on how to install the ota

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
 
147aaron
Old
#4  
147aaron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 132
Join Date: Oct 2010
As Jerrycoffman said. . . .

Restore back to MJ5 using this guide - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715
Don't root using the last part. It removes knox which will block you from being able to update the phone.

Next there will be a OTA to install its around 60mb. This is NB4

Lastly, just download kitkat OTA that's available. This may take sometime because it is a larger file size.

A lot of people have had issues installing the Kitkat OTA (including me). It fails at a certain percentage.
If you have this problem just follow this guide to fix it - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701062

Make sure you back up any apps and files you need before starting this

If I've helped you, please don't forget to hit the thanks button.

Currently using -

OnePlus One
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (N900A)



Previous phones (No longer own) -

Android -
LG G FLEX
Sony Xperia Z
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Samsung Captivate
HTC One X
HTC Inspire 4G
Motorola Defy

Apple -
iPhone 3G, 3GS, and 4S

Blackberry -
Storm 1

Windows -
Nokia Lumia 1520
 
mutantblack
Old
#5  
mutantblack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 799
Posts: 2,553
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tornados City
Honestly instead of upgrading to official KK, why don't you just root and flash of of the available KK rom which is so much better than stock. Unless you don't care about the custom rom and root, you can follow what other has suggested to get the official OTA. Once you update thought, no way to get it root anymore

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
Current:
Note 3 White+Gear
S4 White

Old Toys:
Nokia 520, Samsung Note 2, S3 Red, iPhone 5,Galaxy Note, iPhone 4, Samsung Infuse 4g, HTC Inspire 4g,
HD2, Nexus One, HTC Tilt 2, HTC Fuze, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 3G, Samsung Blackjack 2, AT&T 8925 Tilt,
Samsung Blackjack, Cingular 8525, G1, Sony Ericsson P900, Samsung E250, Motorola Razor,
Motorola Flip, Nokia 8850
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mutantblack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jreed3786
Old
#6  
jreed3786's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 472
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rockford, IL
Default Agree 100%!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantblack View Post
Honestly instead of upgrading to official KK, why don't you just root and flash of of the available KK rom which is so much better than stock. Unless you don't care about the custom rom and root, you can follow what other has suggested to get the official OTA. Once you update thought, no way to get it root anymore

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
There is absolutely NO reason, if you follow instructions correctly, to accept the official update. Been there, done that. Glad I returned my OFFICIAL 4.4.2 phone and got another one to keep root on!!!
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 on AT&T
Running : Dynamic Kat 4.1 [ThunderKat Edition][GPE 4.1 + 4 Colors][S5 2.1][7/11/2014]GREAT BATTERY LIFE! BEST KITKAT ROM TO DATE!!!
THANKS to ALL of the very unselfish and awesome devs who work so tirelessly to bring us a smorgasbord of tasty roms!!! Thank you, kang gang!!!
Bye bye, G1, MT3GSlide, Vibrant, Sensation 4G, Tmo Galaxy S II, AT&T Galaxy S III, and AT&T Note 2 and LG Optimus G Pro...was nice knowin' ya.
 
amendolaro1
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 219
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed3786 View Post
There is absolutely NO reason, if you follow instructions correctly, to accept the official update. Been there, done that. Glad I returned my OFFICIAL 4.4.2 phone and got another one to keep root on!!!
i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?
 
jreed3786
Old
#8  
jreed3786's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 472
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rockford, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1 View Post
i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?
As far as I know, that's a NO.
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 on AT&T
Running : Dynamic Kat 4.1 [ThunderKat Edition][GPE 4.1 + 4 Colors][S5 2.1][7/11/2014]GREAT BATTERY LIFE! BEST KITKAT ROM TO DATE!!!
THANKS to ALL of the very unselfish and awesome devs who work so tirelessly to bring us a smorgasbord of tasty roms!!! Thank you, kang gang!!!
Bye bye, G1, MT3GSlide, Vibrant, Sensation 4G, Tmo Galaxy S II, AT&T Galaxy S III, and AT&T Note 2 and LG Optimus G Pro...was nice knowin' ya.
 
knoshann
Old
#9  
knoshann's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 353
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Weatherford
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1 View Post
i was under the impression that i cannot root once i am on KK? also i use ISIS on a daily basis... do the new custom KK roms support ISIS?
Isis can work on kit kat. I had it working but changed to wallet out of principal

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
jorgeartiles
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Best solution:
Go to Best Buy and ask one of the Samsung people to get you to stock, in less than 10 to 15 minutes you'll be in OTA Kit Kat.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes