Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,812 Members 50,854 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to set http proxy for apps

Tip us?
 
crack.mech
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default How to set http proxy for apps

Hi,

I am by no means a developer, neither do I have any experience in making any sort of apps. But I am good at following instructions.

My problem is that all my devices are on a wifi network that uses http/https/ftp/SOCKS proxy settings to connect to internet. All the devices connect to internet after I use proxy settings on them. But few applications such as skype do not connect to internet. They work fine when I connect to a wifi network that does not use any proxy settings (at home), but at work when I have to use proxy settings to access internet, the apps fail to connect. I have a couple of devices which are not rooted (Fujitsu Stylistic M532 tablet, Garmin-Asus A10 phone) and I am not sure if I can root them. I would really want to use all the apps. Any ideas what I can do to help this?

Thanks in advance.
 
deanwray
Old
#2  
deanwray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 418
Posts: 1,121
Join Date: Apr 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by crack.mech View Post
Hi,

I am by no means a developer, neither do I have any experience in making any sort of apps. But I am good at following instructions.

My problem is that all my devices are on a wifi network that uses http/https/ftp/SOCKS proxy settings to connect to internet. All the devices connect to internet after I use proxy settings on them. But few applications such as skype do not connect to internet. They work fine when I connect to a wifi network that does not use any proxy settings (at home), but at work when I have to use proxy settings to access internet, the apps fail to connect. I have a couple of devices which are not rooted (Fujitsu Stylistic M532 tablet, Garmin-Asus A10 phone) and I am not sure if I can root them. I would really want to use all the apps. Any ideas what I can do to help this?

Thanks in advance.
this is not a java dev question and is kinda in the wrong place... but sure if you "google" a bit for "skype+android+proxy" and maybe the proxy system name (e.g. Squid) .. you should get your answers
 
crack.mech
Old
(Last edited by crack.mech; 29th April 2014 at 11:16 AM.) Reason: quotes
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanwray View Post
this is not a java dev question and is kinda in the wrong place... but sure if you "google" a bit for "skype+android+proxy" and maybe the proxy system name (e.g. Squid) .. you should get your answers
Thanks deanwray! I did try looking over internet for the problem, but without any success. I am not sure which section this query belongs to. I will be thankful if you can direct me to the correct section.

 
Masrepus
Old
#4  
Masrepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 660
Join Date: Feb 2013
To proxy all network traffic you need root. For example orbot has this functionality to connect all apps to the tor network (transparent proxying, dont know if that is official term or just used by orbot, but basically this is what you need)

---------------------------------
Phone : Nexus 4
OS:
Pure KitKat 4.4.2 stock, no root, no mods
---------------------------------

4d 61 73 72 65 70 75 73 20 66 74 77

Gesendet von Tapatalk
 
crack.mech
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masrepus View Post
To proxy all network traffic you need root. For example orbot has this functionality to connect all apps to the tor network (transparent proxying, dont know if that is official term or just used by orbot, but basically this is what you need)....
Is it possible to somehow integrate the proxy settings in the apk of the app? I can have two versions of the app, one with proxy settings integrated, other without any proxy settings. This way I can launch the specific version whenever I need.
 
Masrepus
Old
#6  
Masrepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 660
Join Date: Feb 2013
You mean like a modified version of the skype apk that directs all traffic to the proxy?
Hm maybe..
But i dont know how to implement proxy connection

---------------------------------
Phone : Nexus 4
OS:
Pure KitKat 4.4.2 stock, no root, no mods
---------------------------------

4d 61 73 72 65 70 75 73 20 66 74 77

Gesendet von Tapatalk
 
crack.mech
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masrepus View Post
You mean like a modified version of the skype apk that directs all traffic to the proxy?
Hm maybe..
But i dont know how to implement proxy connection....
Yes, something like that. But I guess I am not after web proxy (if thats the correct term), I need to direct the traffic of a particular app through "http proxy".

I don't know if this makes any sense.
 
Archer
Old
#8  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Thanks Meter 4,031
Posts: 13,777
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northampton
I've moved this thread to Android Q&A as that's a more appropriate place than the app development forums, but since there were a few people answering I've left a redirect for a week so they can still find it.

Hope you get an answer to your problem
.
"I live by my own rules, nobody else's, not even my own."
.
My xda links

New User Guide | XDA Forum Rules | 10 Posts - Why and How? | Admins & Mods | My xda Bookmarks

.

.
 
Jonny
Old
#9  
Jonny's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 8,004
Posts: 7,983
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cheshire

 
DONATE TO ME
ProxyDroid is another app but again, some functions such as enabling Global Proxy need root access.
 
crack.mech
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer View Post
I've moved this thread to Android Q&A as that's a more appropriate place than the app development forums, but since there were a few people answering I've left a redirect for a week so they can still find it.

Hope you get an answer to your problem
Thanks Archer. I was not sure where this query belonged to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny View Post
ProxyDroid is another app but again, some functions such as enabling Global Proxy need root access.
Yes, I have been using ProxyDroid on my other rooted devices, but the unrooted ones do not work with this.

Tags
http proxy, proxy settings
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes