Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to set http proxy for apps

OP crack.mech

29th April 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hi,

I am by no means a developer, neither do I have any experience in making any sort of apps. But I am good at following instructions.

My problem is that all my devices are on a wifi network that uses http/https/ftp/SOCKS proxy settings to connect to internet. All the devices connect to internet after I use proxy settings on them. But few applications such as skype do not connect to internet. They work fine when I connect to a wifi network that does not use any proxy settings (at home), but at work when I have to use proxy settings to access internet, the apps fail to connect. I have a couple of devices which are not rooted (Fujitsu Stylistic M532 tablet, Garmin-Asus A10 phone) and I am not sure if I can root them. I would really want to use all the apps. Any ideas what I can do to help this?

Thanks in advance.
29th April 2014, 11:54 AM   |  #2  
deanwray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 429
 
1,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by crack.mech

Hi,

I am by no means a developer, neither do I have any experience in making any sort of apps. But I am good at following instructions.

My problem is that all my devices are on a wifi network that uses http/https/ftp/SOCKS proxy settings to connect to internet. All the devices connect to internet after I use proxy settings on them. But few applications such as skype do not connect to internet. They work fine when I connect to a wifi network that does not use any proxy settings (at home), but at work when I have to use proxy settings to access internet, the apps fail to connect. I have a couple of devices which are not rooted (Fujitsu Stylistic M532 tablet, Garmin-Asus A10 phone) and I am not sure if I can root them. I would really want to use all the apps. Any ideas what I can do to help this?

Thanks in advance.

this is not a java dev question and is kinda in the wrong place... but sure if you "google" a bit for "skype+android+proxy" and maybe the proxy system name (e.g. Squid) .. you should get your answers
29th April 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanwray

this is not a java dev question and is kinda in the wrong place... but sure if you "google" a bit for "skype+android+proxy" and maybe the proxy system name (e.g. Squid) .. you should get your answers

Thanks deanwray! I did try looking over internet for the problem, but without any success. I am not sure which section this query belongs to. I will be thankful if you can direct me to the correct section.

Last edited by crack.mech; 29th April 2014 at 12:16 PM. Reason: quotes
29th April 2014, 12:37 PM   |  #4  
Masrepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
To proxy all network traffic you need root. For example orbot has this functionality to connect all apps to the tor network (transparent proxying, dont know if that is official term or just used by orbot, but basically this is what you need)

---------------------------------
Phone : Nexus 4
OS:
Pure KitKat 4.4.2 stock, no root, no mods
---------------------------------

4d 61 73 72 65 70 75 73 20 66 74 77

Gesendet von Tapatalk
29th April 2014, 01:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masrepus

To proxy all network traffic you need root. For example orbot has this functionality to connect all apps to the tor network (transparent proxying, dont know if that is official term or just used by orbot, but basically this is what you need)....

Is it possible to somehow integrate the proxy settings in the apk of the app? I can have two versions of the app, one with proxy settings integrated, other without any proxy settings. This way I can launch the specific version whenever I need.
29th April 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #6  
Masrepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
You mean like a modified version of the skype apk that directs all traffic to the proxy?
Hm maybe..
But i dont know how to implement proxy connection

---------------------------------
Phone : Nexus 4
OS:
Pure KitKat 4.4.2 stock, no root, no mods
---------------------------------

4d 61 73 72 65 70 75 73 20 66 74 77

Gesendet von Tapatalk
29th April 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masrepus

You mean like a modified version of the skype apk that directs all traffic to the proxy?
Hm maybe..
But i dont know how to implement proxy connection....

Yes, something like that. But I guess I am not after web proxy (if thats the correct term), I need to direct the traffic of a particular app through "http proxy".

I don't know if this makes any sense.
29th April 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #8  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,117
 
10
13,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I've moved this thread to Android Q&A as that's a more appropriate place than the app development forums, but since there were a few people answering I've left a redirect for a week so they can still find it.

Hope you get an answer to your problem
29th April 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #9  
Jonny's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Cheshire
Thanks Meter: 8,273
 
8,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
ProxyDroid is another app but again, some functions such as enabling Global Proxy need root access.
29th April 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer

I've moved this thread to Android Q&A as that's a more appropriate place than the app development forums, but since there were a few people answering I've left a redirect for a week so they can still find it.

Hope you get an answer to your problem

Thanks Archer. I was not sure where this query belonged to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny

ProxyDroid is another app but again, some functions such as enabling Global Proxy need root access.

Yes, I have been using ProxyDroid on my other rooted devices, but the unrooted ones do not work with this.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
http proxy, proxy settings
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes