Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] what is Gsiff_daemon and why is it destroying my battery?

OP murdermonkey9000

6th July 2012, 03:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Googling has left me empty handed, this thing is using 50%+ battery life always beating screen on time.
I'm rooted running stock and would prefer not to wipe to solve this.
Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
6th July 2012, 04:05 PM   |  #2  
id_twin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 59
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I too have had the same issue with the infamous gsiff_daemon - Unfortunately there isn't a whole lot of information out there regarding this, so a restart and a prayer is all that you have. I will say though, after flashing the latest sonic rom for TMobile, I have yet to notice it, but it still may be to early to tell.

It is also mentioned in this forum here, http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?p=39358508 , but from what I can tell, there doesn't appear to be a solution.
Last edited by id_twin; 6th July 2012 at 04:11 PM.
6th July 2012, 04:15 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by id_twin

I too have had the same issue with the infamous gsiff_daemon - Unfortunately there isn't a whole lot of information out there regarding this, so a restart and a prayer is all that you have. I will say though, after flashing the latest sonic rom for TMobile, I have yet to notice it, but it still may be to early to tell.

It is also mentioned in this forum here, http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?p=39358508 , but from what I can tell, there doesn't appear to be a solution.

Lots of restarts with no luck, I find it hard to believe no one knows what this is.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
6th July 2012, 04:23 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Just an indication of how insane this is, 45 minutes screen on, 52% system 26% screen. I have never seen anything like this.
Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
6th July 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #5  
dasfiend's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurnee, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I found this googling...not an answer but a start hopefully. (Link to where I found it)

Looking at the URL I wonder if it's something to do with all the tilting samsung seems seems to want us to do. Just spit-balling.



Code:
+################################
 	 54	
+# Sensor Settings
 	 55	
+################################
 	 56	
+
 	 57	
+# Needs to be set explicitly based on sensor
 	 58	
+# There is no default value.
 	 59	
+#GYRO_BIAS_RANDOM_WALK=
 	 60	
+
 	 61	
+SENSOR_ACCEL_BATCHES_PER_SEC=2
 	 62	
+SENSOR_ACCEL_SAMPLES_PER_BATCH=5
 	 63	
+SENSOR_GYRO_BATCHES_PER_SEC=2
 	 64	
+SENSOR_GYRO_SAMPLES_PER_BATCH=5
 	 65	
+
 	 66	
+# Sensor Control Mode (0=AUTO, 1=FORCE_ON)
 	 67	
+SENSOR_CONTROL_MODE=0
 	 68	
+
 	 69	
+# Enable or Disable Sensors for GPS use (0=Enable, 1=Disable)
 	 70	
+SENSOR_USAGE=0
 	 71	
+
 	 72	
+# Choose GSIFF sensor provider (1=DSPS, 2=Android NDK)
 	 73	
+SENSOR_PROVIDER=1
6th July 2012, 04:40 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasfiend

I found this googling...not an answer but a start hopefully. (Link to where I found it)

Looking at the URL I wonder if it's something to do with all the tilting samsung seems seems to want us to do. Just spit-balling.



Code:
+################################
  54
+# Sensor Settings
  55
+################################
  56
+
  57
+# Needs to be set explicitly based on sensor
  58
+# There is no default value.
  59
+#GYRO_BIAS_RANDOM_WALK=
  60
+
  61
+SENSOR_ACCEL_BATCHES_PER_SEC=2
  62
+SENSOR_ACCEL_SAMPLES_PER_BATCH=5
  63
+SENSOR_GYRO_BATCHES_PER_SEC=2
  64
+SENSOR_GYRO_SAMPLES_PER_BATCH=5
  65
+
  66
+# Sensor Control Mode (0=AUTO, 1=FORCE_ON)
  67
+SENSOR_CONTROL_MODE=0
  68
+
  69
+# Enable or Disable Sensors for GPS use (0=Enable, 1=Disable)
  70
+SENSOR_USAGE=0
  71
+
  72
+# Choose GSIFF sensor provider (1=DSPS, 2=Android NDK)
  73
+SENSOR_PROVIDER=1

I turned all that crap off trying to find whatever this is.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
6th July 2012, 04:51 PM   |  #7  
dasfiend's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurnee, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yeah I'm just wondering if it's a bug of some kind in that subsystem.

You might try turning it *on*. You never know what kind of screw up there might be. For example, when it's set to off it might be stuck in a loop wherein it asks "can I use tilt?" "NO" "can I use tilt?" "NO". Vast oversimplification of course, but stuff like that does happen from time to time.

good luck!

edit: what carrier are you on? Maybe we can narrow it down a bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murdermonkey9000

I turned all that crap off trying to find whatever this is.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

6th July 2012, 05:02 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasfiend

Yeah I'm just wondering if it's a bug of some kind in that subsystem.

You might try turning it *on*. You never know what kind of screw up there might be. For example, when it's set to off it might be stuck in a loop wherein it asks "can I use tilt?" "NO" "can I use tilt?" "NO". Vast oversimplification of course, but stuff like that does happen from time to time.

good luck!

edit: what carrier are you on? Maybe we can narrow it down a bit.

I'm on tmo. I had screen rotation enabled, I disabled it, then turned off the phone, I realized I had only been restarting it, and pulled the battery and held the power button down for 15 seconds (old laptop trick, don't know if it does the same thing on cells) and it seems to be gone. I'll leave it for a while and turn rotation back on and see if it goes haywire again.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
6th July 2012, 06:02 PM   |  #9  
dasfiend's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gurnee, IL
Thanks Meter: 34
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I'm on AT&T and my GS3 arrives Monday so once I get it and use it for a bit we can compare and hopefully that will help narrow it down.

For example, if the AT&T version doesn't have the issue, maybe we can find you an AT&T rom and a tmo radio to flash or some such combo.



Quote:
Originally Posted by murdermonkey9000

I'm on tmo. I had screen rotation enabled, I disabled it, then turned off the phone, I realized I had only been restarting it, and pulled the battery and held the power button down for 15 seconds (old laptop trick, don't know if it does the same thing on cells) and it seems to be gone. I'll leave it for a while and turn rotation back on and see if it goes haywire again.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

6th July 2012, 06:37 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 34
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thanks for narrowing it to the motion sensor , it seems to be gone, I saw it in the running apps list but it was at .01% I'm going to re enable screen rotation soon to try to reproduce the bug , then others who run into this issue can know where to start.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes