Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 37,687 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fully Working Harman / Kardon "conversion" for all HTC ONE M8 variants!-discountinued

Tip us?
 
baadnewz
Old
(Last edited by baadnewz; 21st July 2014 at 07:53 AM.)
#1  
baadnewz's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 26742
Posts: 9,683
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Dark Basement.HELP!

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Fully Working Harman / Kardon "conversion" for all HTC ONE M8 variants!-discountinued


WARNINGS - READ before you proceed further!

- Does NOT work on GPE, put Sense on it and it will work

- Users with stock ROMs (especially US), if your base number is 1.1x then H/K won't show in your settings because it simply lacks the code. update to a newer base or flash a custom rom

- it is recommend to have S-OFF

- do NOT attempt this on m7. IT WILL BREAK YOUR PHONE!


Installation

Depends on your luck you might also need S-OFF to fully benefit of this hack - i say might because depending on your firmware you might need to update ADSP (Advanced Digital Signal Processor) as firmware as well and for that you need S-OFF.

If you are S-ON and feeling lucky grab hk_enable_v3.zip and flash from recovery. it will only enable H/K in settings and update the rom files for it

If you are S-OFF grab hk_enable_and_adsp_update_v3.zip with all in one zip solution. it will do anything from enabling H/K in settings to updating ADSP.


For uninstall grab the zip from the bottom of this post


Troubleshooting

ISSUE 1: I've flashed the zip and after reboot I do not have HK in Settings!! HALP!!!

Reason: Happens because you did not have false line in system/customize/ACC/default.xml so script did not find it so it couldn't replace false with true

Solution::go to /system/customize/ACC/default.xml
search for and just it below it add:

true

The final result should look like this:
Code:
<app name="Android_Multimedia">
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_alarm_volume">6</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_media_headset_volume">7</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_media_speaker_volume">10</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_ringtone_volume">5</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="spport_screen_light">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_a2dp_safevolume">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_camera_enforce_shuttersound">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_customer_proxy">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_customization_fallback">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_harman">true</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_miit_request">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_music_ringtone">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_outdoor_mode">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_qcelp">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_theater_effect_logo">false</item>
  <item type="integer" name="use_ringtone_for_notification">1</item>
</app>
Reboot. Profit!


ISSUE 2. I have HK and everything but when i play mp3 in HTC Music app i hear nothing. HALP!!! you broke my phone

Reason: Happens because you need to update your adsp (Advanced Digital Signal Processor) firmware.
Solution: You should have flashed hk_enable_and_adsp_update_v3.zip but i repeat you need to be S-OFF for this, if you are S-ON afraid you are out of luck


ISSUE 3 I did everything and it still doesn't show up on my Verizon M8

Reason: Happens Because Verizon uses a different settings.apk.
Solution:Grab http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=940 and flash from recovery

ISSUE 4 I did everything and it still doesn't show up on my phone

Reason: Happens Because you have a stock 1.1x base rom on your phone which simply lacks the code for HK in settings
Solution: update to a 1.5x base rom (custom or stock)


Credits
@ivicask for bumping ideas, @flar2 for some feedback, @migascalp for scripts, @andybones for verizon settings.apk @O.M.J for HK dump from where i got the files, @lyapota even though we worked separated we came to mostly the same files which confirmed i was on the right direction and everyone who offered feedback and helped me nail it down.

Permissions:
Free for all. you can include it in your roms / tools / scripts, just post some credits in the spirit of XDA.



Post Updated May 05 2014

Changelog
Code:
v3
- updated script to disable boomsound when enables HK 
v2
added 24 khz to audio config
v1
initial release
Attached Files
File Type: zip verizon_hk_settings_fix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (8.39 MB, 2741 views)
File Type: zip hk_disable_v3.zip - [Click for QR Code] (489.8 KB, 2208 views)
File Type: zip hk_disable_and_adsp_stock_v3.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.02 MB, 3324 views)


Throw me a banana
The Following 187 Users Say Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
philos64
Old
(Last edited by philos64; 1st May 2014 at 10:22 AM.)
#2  
philos64's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 3,394
Join Date: May 2010
@baadnewz
Thanks a lot for your useful job
Downloaded and I'll tried quickly

I've tried with Stock 4.4.2 and it works well
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-01-11-02-33.png
Views:	11451
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	2719153  
 
grgsiocl
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4354
Posts: 2,643
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh
Great job bro.. Works like charm... Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398934327829.jpg
Views:	8843
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	2719134

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
E_n_T
Old
#4  
E_n_T's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Stockholm
Baad and crew. 👍

I dont use much mp3 since most i listrn to is on spotify. But i guess thus will work for that also. Gonna give this a whirl

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by E_n_T View Post
Baad and crew. 👍

I dont use much mp3 since most i listrn to is on spotify. But i guess thus will work for that also. Gonna give this a whirl

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk
Edit. Seems to be working just fine. Thx a million for this.
Insertcoincrew for leaders.

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk
Oneplus One 64gb

Stock Rom
The Following User Says Thank You to E_n_T For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shorty1483
Old
(Last edited by shorty1483; 1st May 2014 at 10:07 AM.)
#5  
shorty1483's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,025
Join Date: May 2009
@baadnewz

For which reason some ppl have no problems (like me) with sound in Music App but some have?

Has it to do with the Firmware 1.54.401.5 WWE and ppl on other Fw?

Further the initial zip from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810 worked out of the box for me yesterday. Only difference to your Zip is the included system/etc/audio_policy.conf. Do I still need to flash something from here, e.g. Firmware?

HTC One (M8) - ViperOne - ElementalX or Faux Kernel - Viper4Android FX - S-Off - FW 2.22.401.4 - SUPERCID - Root
Galaxy SIII - Now for the wife - Resurrection Remix - Boeffla Kernel - Viper4Android FX - Root

If I helped, press thanks...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shorty1483 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
b0gd4n
Old
#6  
b0gd4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
your mod doesn't disable BoomSound. It sometimes conflicts with H/K.

Here's lyapota's mod which also does this, but also disables BoomSound.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810
Current: HTC One M8 (Gunmetal) + Spigen Slim Armor (Gunmetal)
ViperOne - ElementalX - Firewater S-Off(ed)
Old: HTC One * Galaxy S4 (I9505) * Galaxy S3 (I9300) * Galaxy S3 LTE (I9305) * Galaxy S (I9000)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b0gd4n For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
baadnewz
Old
#7  
baadnewz's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 26742
Posts: 9,683
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Dark Basement.HELP!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty1483 View Post
@baadnewz

For which reason some ppl have no problems (like me) with sound in Music App but some have?

Has it to do with the Firmware 1.54.401.5 WWE and ppl on other Fw?

Further the initial zip from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810 worked out of the box for me yesterday. Only difference to your Zip is the included system/etc/audio_policy.conf. Do I still need to flash something from here, e.g. Firmware?
The answer to your question is covered under issue 2

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk


Throw me a banana
The Following User Says Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shorty1483
Old
#8  
shorty1483's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,025
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by baadnewz View Post
The answer to your question is covered under issue 2

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
So your answer means

1. My DSP is up-to-date.

2. The included audio_policy.conf in other zip is not important?

HTC One (M8) - ViperOne - ElementalX or Faux Kernel - Viper4Android FX - S-Off - FW 2.22.401.4 - SUPERCID - Root
Galaxy SIII - Now for the wife - Resurrection Remix - Boeffla Kernel - Viper4Android FX - Root

If I helped, press thanks...
 
baadnewz
Old
#9  
baadnewz's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 26742
Posts: 9,683
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Dark Basement.HELP!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n View Post
your mod doesn't disable BoomSound. It sometimes conflicts with H/K.

Here's lyapota's mod which also does this, but also disables BoomSound.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810

BOOMSOUND and hk switches can be disable and enable by a simple edit in xml you don't need a flashable zip for that The real problem was issue number 2.

So keep you stuffy right

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk


Throw me a banana
The Following User Says Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
baadnewz
Old
#10  
baadnewz's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 26742
Posts: 9,683
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Dark Basement.HELP!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty1483 View Post
So your answer means

1. My DSP is up-to-date.

2. The included audio_policy.conf in other zip is not important?
1.54.401.5 firmware is international one and does not have Harman in it so you have to update

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk


Throw me a banana

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes