Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Fully Working Harman / Kardon "conversion" for all HTC ONE M8 variants!-discountinued

OP baadnewz

1st May 2014, 10:33 AM   |  #1  
baadnewz's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag In a Dark Basement.HELP!
Thanks Meter: 27,513
 
10,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More

WARNINGS - READ before you proceed further!

- Does NOT work on GPE, put Sense on it and it will work

- Users with stock ROMs (especially US), if your base number is 1.1x then H/K won't show in your settings because it simply lacks the code. update to a newer base or flash a custom rom

- it is recommend to have S-OFF

- do NOT attempt this on m7. IT WILL BREAK YOUR PHONE!


Installation

Depends on your luck you might also need S-OFF to fully benefit of this hack - i say might because depending on your firmware you might need to update ADSP (Advanced Digital Signal Processor) as firmware as well and for that you need S-OFF.

If you are S-ON and feeling lucky grab hk_enable_v3.zip and flash from recovery. it will only enable H/K in settings and update the rom files for it

If you are S-OFF grab hk_enable_and_adsp_update_v3.zip with all in one zip solution. it will do anything from enabling H/K in settings to updating ADSP.


For uninstall grab the zip from the bottom of this post


Troubleshooting

ISSUE 1: I've flashed the zip and after reboot I do not have HK in Settings!! HALP!!!

Reason: Happens because you did not have false line in system/customize/ACC/default.xml so script did not find it so it couldn't replace false with true

Solution::go to /system/customize/ACC/default.xml
search for and just it below it add:

true

The final result should look like this:
Code:
<app name="Android_Multimedia">
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_alarm_volume">6</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_media_headset_volume">7</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_media_speaker_volume">10</item>
  <item type="integer" name="has_default_ringtone_volume">5</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="spport_screen_light">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_a2dp_safevolume">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_camera_enforce_shuttersound">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_customer_proxy">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_customization_fallback">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_harman">true</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_miit_request">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_music_ringtone">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_outdoor_mode">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_qcelp">false</item>
  <item type="boolean" name="support_theater_effect_logo">false</item>
  <item type="integer" name="use_ringtone_for_notification">1</item>
</app>
Reboot. Profit!


ISSUE 2. I have HK and everything but when i play mp3 in HTC Music app i hear nothing. HALP!!! you broke my phone

Reason: Happens because you need to update your adsp (Advanced Digital Signal Processor) firmware.
Solution: You should have flashed hk_enable_and_adsp_update_v3.zip but i repeat you need to be S-OFF for this, if you are S-ON afraid you are out of luck


ISSUE 3 I did everything and it still doesn't show up on my Verizon M8

Reason: Happens Because Verizon uses a different settings.apk.
Solution:Grab http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=940 and flash from recovery

ISSUE 4 I did everything and it still doesn't show up on my phone

Reason: Happens Because you have a stock 1.1x base rom on your phone which simply lacks the code for HK in settings
Solution: update to a 1.5x base rom (custom or stock)


Credits
@ivicask for bumping ideas, @flar2 for some feedback, @migascalp for scripts, @andybones for verizon settings.apk @O.M.J for HK dump from where i got the files, @lyapota even though we worked separated we came to mostly the same files which confirmed i was on the right direction and everyone who offered feedback and helped me nail it down.

Permissions:
Free for all. you can include it in your roms / tools / scripts, just post some credits in the spirit of XDA.



Post Updated May 05 2014

Changelog
Code:
v3
- updated script to disable boomsound when enables HK 
v2
added 24 khz to audio config
v1
initial release
Attached Files
File Type: zip verizon_hk_settings_fix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (8.39 MB, 3446 views)
File Type: zip hk_disable_v3.zip - [Click for QR Code] (489.8 KB, 2936 views)
File Type: zip hk_disable_and_adsp_stock_v3.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.02 MB, 4295 views)
Last edited by baadnewz; 21st July 2014 at 08:53 AM.
The Following 193 Users Say Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 10:45 AM   |  #2  
philos64's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,700
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
@baadnewz
Thanks a lot for your useful job
Downloaded and I'll tried quickly

I've tried with Stock 4.4.2 and it works well
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-01-11-02-33.png
Views:	12169
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	2719153  
Last edited by philos64; 1st May 2014 at 11:22 AM.
1st May 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh
Thanks Meter: 4,393
 
2,691 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Great job bro.. Works like charm... Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398934327829.jpg
Views:	9391
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	2719134

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
1st May 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #4  
E_n_T's Avatar
Senior Member
Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 67
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Baad and crew. 👍

I dont use much mp3 since most i listrn to is on spotify. But i guess thus will work for that also. Gonna give this a whirl

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by E_n_T

Baad and crew. 👍

I dont use much mp3 since most i listrn to is on spotify. But i guess thus will work for that also. Gonna give this a whirl

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk

Edit. Seems to be working just fine. Thx a million for this.
Insertcoincrew for leaders.

Skickat från min HTC One_M8 via Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to E_n_T For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 11:01 AM   |  #5  
shorty1483's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,049 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
@baadnewz

For which reason some ppl have no problems (like me) with sound in Music App but some have?

Has it to do with the Firmware 1.54.401.5 WWE and ppl on other Fw?

Further the initial zip from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810 worked out of the box for me yesterday. Only difference to your Zip is the included system/etc/audio_policy.conf. Do I still need to flash something from here, e.g. Firmware?
Last edited by shorty1483; 1st May 2014 at 11:07 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shorty1483 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #6  
b0gd4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 64
 
630 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
your mod doesn't disable BoomSound. It sometimes conflicts with H/K.

Here's lyapota's mod which also does this, but also disables BoomSound.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b0gd4n For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 11:19 AM   |  #7  
baadnewz's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag In a Dark Basement.HELP!
Thanks Meter: 27,513
 
10,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty1483

@baadnewz

For which reason some ppl have no problems (like me) with sound in Music App but some have?

Has it to do with the Firmware 1.54.401.5 WWE and ppl on other Fw?

Further the initial zip from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810 worked out of the box for me yesterday. Only difference to your Zip is the included system/etc/audio_policy.conf. Do I still need to flash something from here, e.g. Firmware?

The answer to your question is covered under issue 2

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 11:22 AM   |  #8  
shorty1483's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,049 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baadnewz

The answer to your question is covered under issue 2

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

So your answer means

1. My DSP is up-to-date.

2. The included audio_policy.conf in other zip is not important?
1st May 2014, 11:22 AM   |  #9  
baadnewz's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag In a Dark Basement.HELP!
Thanks Meter: 27,513
 
10,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n

your mod doesn't disable BoomSound. It sometimes conflicts with H/K.

Here's lyapota's mod which also does this, but also disables BoomSound.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2810


BOOMSOUND and hk switches can be disable and enable by a simple edit in xml you don't need a flashable zip for that The real problem was issue number 2.

So keep you stuffy right

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 11:23 AM   |  #10  
baadnewz's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag In a Dark Basement.HELP!
Thanks Meter: 27,513
 
10,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty1483

So your answer means

1. My DSP is up-to-date.

2. The included audio_policy.conf in other zip is not important?

1.54.401.5 firmware is international one and does not have Harman in it so you have to update

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes