Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,532 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to enable unknown source ?

Tip us?
 
fbifido
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2006
Default [Q] How to enable unknown source ?

Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?
 
Spelvin
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2009
Unfortunately, enabling unknown sources is not currently an option for us. Once its rooted, we should get that ability.
 
stanggman75
Old
#3  
stanggman75's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 49
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KANSAS CITY, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbifido View Post
Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?
I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stanggman75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
endwhysee.bk
Old
#4  
endwhysee.bk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 164
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dania beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanggman75 View Post
I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.
Nice Idea . .. Shouldve thought of that.Lol.. Thanks.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
 
JohnnyPrimus
Old
#5  
JohnnyPrimus's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle
Now that root is out this can be done by editing settings.db. Instructions in this post.
 
rsohne
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 285
Join Date: Mar 2007
I'm hardly an expert at adb but if you do the install line " adb install -r filename.apk it will install over the previous app and retain all settings. That's how I update my XBMC.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
"They who would give up essential liberty,to purchase a little temporary safety,deserve neither liberty or safety."

Benjamin Franklin
The Following User Says Thank You to rsohne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more