Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,673 Members 41,239 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to enable unknown source ?

Tip us?
 
fbifido
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2006
Default [Q] How to enable unknown source ?

Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?
 
Spelvin
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2009
Unfortunately, enabling unknown sources is not currently an option for us. Once its rooted, we should get that ability.
 
stanggman75
Old
#3  
stanggman75's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 48
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KANSAS CITY, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbifido View Post
Hi,

I just loaded Showbox to my FTV, and the app needs to be updated, but I don't know how to enable unknown sources on this box.

Can this be done with the ADB command line.

or Can I copy the one from my android phone and use it, How can I backup my android apps to my pc?
I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stanggman75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
endwhysee.bk
Old
#4  
endwhysee.bk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 164
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dania beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanggman75 View Post
I upgraded the one on my phone, deleted the one on FTV and sideloaded the new updated apk. This worked but I had to re-ad all my favorites to my library.
Nice Idea . .. Shouldve thought of that.Lol.. Thanks.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
 
JohnnyPrimus
Old
#5  
JohnnyPrimus's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Seattle
Now that root is out this can be done by editing settings.db. Instructions in this post.
 
rsohne
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 284
Join Date: Mar 2007
I'm hardly an expert at adb but if you do the install line " adb install -r filename.apk it will install over the previous app and retain all settings. That's how I update my XBMC.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
"They who would give up essential liberty,to purchase a little temporary safety,deserve neither liberty or safety."

Benjamin Franklin
The Following User Says Thank You to rsohne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...