Post Reply

[Library]Build.prop Tools

3rd June 2013, 12:15 PM   |  #1  
Tezlastorme's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
3,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Build.prop Tools is a library that makes it easier for app developers to edit the build.prop file from their applications. I decided to make this library when I needed to edit build.prop from within an app I'm developing and I couldn't find a library to make this simple. So, after I had worked out how to do it and tested the code in my app, I made it into a library, because I think this will help quite a few developers.

Project on GitHub: https://github.com/Tezlastorme/build-prop-tools/

The download link is there on the project page, along with the source.

The methods are all documented, and there are a couple of wiki pages, an FAQ (it's not a very long FAQ ) and a tutorial.

Bug reporting
Do not report a crash unless you have read the FAQ, and when you do, post a logcat, preferably errors only.
I CAN NOT HELP YOU WITHOUT A LOGCAT.


I hope this helps people

Credits:
Me
@torpedo mohammadi
Last edited by Tezlastorme; 31st January 2014 at 02:58 PM.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to Tezlastorme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2013, 11:36 AM   |  #2  
Tezlastorme's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
3,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Working on the next update which will have some more useful methods
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Tezlastorme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2013, 01:18 PM   |  #3  
Tezlastorme's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
3,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I haven't tested this new version, but I would appreciate it if people would test this and tell me whether these new methods work

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B90a...it?usp=sharing

Changelog:

added getPropArray() and getPropAsHash() methods
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Tezlastorme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2013, 11:44 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 5,017
 
5,702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Really useful and simple library for tweaking phones.Will use it later on and report
The Following User Says Thank You to InfinityShooter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2013, 12:38 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 5,017
 
5,702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
I just wrote this in my program and it crashed..

Code:
String device = BuildProp.getProp("ro.product.model");

Not even started coding till now.. Logcat shows error in line 15 which contained the above code.. I am using 1.1 beta
11th June 2013, 04:43 PM   |  #6  
Tezlastorme's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
3,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype-U

I just wrote this in my program and it crashed..

Code:
String device = BuildProp.getProp("ro.product.model");

Not even started coding till now.. Logcat shows error in line 15 which contained the above code.. I am using 1.1 beta

1. Logcat please.

2. Is the device rooted?

3. If it was rooted, was it granted root access? And did you add the superuser permission to AndroidManifest.xml?
11th June 2013, 05:27 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 5,017
 
5,702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tezlastorme

1. Logcat please.

2. Is the device rooted?

3. If it was rooted, was it granted root access? And did you add the superuser permission to AndroidManifest.xml?

Superuser permission? Never saw anything like that. Can you tell?

Sent from my HTC Desire X using xda app-developers app
12th June 2013, 03:04 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,593
 
2,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype-U

Superuser permission? Never saw anything like that. Can you tell?

Sent from my HTC Desire X using xda app-developers app

Request su permissions:
Code:
Process p = Runtime.getRuntime().exec("su");
xpirt
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xpirt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2013, 05:09 PM   |  #9  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 5,017
 
5,702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpirt

Request su permissions:

Code:
Process p = Runtime.getRuntime().exec("su");
xpirt

thats for su access and that is not for androidmanifest.. its for your java class file
12th June 2013, 05:29 PM   |  #10  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,593
 
2,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype-U

thats for su access and that is not for androidmanifest.. its for your java class file

.ACCESS_SUPERUSER?

xpirt

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xpirt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
build.prop, library, project, tools
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in IDEs, Libraries, & Programming Tools by ThreadRank