Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more
Post Reply

HTC calculator app

OP fr0st420

30th March 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #1  
fr0st420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kaukauna, WI
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
The stock Rom does not include a stand alone app. Here is a working apk. You have to copy it to /system/app in twrp.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kmvbd7ozwp...Calculator.apk

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fr0st420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th March 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Didn't install. I guess you have to go through TWRP?
30th March 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #3  
fr0st420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kaukauna, WI
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcwups1

Didn't install. I guess you have to go through TWRP?

schmeggy929 made some flashable zips for the flashlight and calculator. Try these:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51499514
The Following User Says Thank You to fr0st420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #4  
aaron130's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 287
 
1,778 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
How could HTC not put a calculator app in the phone? What are they thinking? I use the calculator ALOT.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
31st March 2014, 01:22 AM   |  #5  
fr0st420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kaukauna, WI
Thanks Meter: 380
 
1,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron130

How could HTC not put a calculator app in the phone? What are they thinking? I use the calculator ALOT.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Doesn't make sense to me either. You would think a calculator would be on all phones by now by default.
31st March 2014, 05:01 AM   |  #6  
eric00716's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winder, GA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st420

Doesn't make sense to me either. You would think a calculator would be on all phones by now by default.

I think it gets deleted from data/preload when you unlock bootloader since it wipes data
31st March 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #7  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0st420

The stock Rom does not include a stand alone app. Here is a working apk. You have to copy it to /system/app in twrp.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kmvbd7ozwp...Calculator.apk

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

That's the sense 5.5 calculator. The sense 6.0 calculator from /data/preload (the one that gets deleted when you unlock) is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: apk Calculator.apk - [Click for QR Code] (108.5 KB, 10552 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ahecht For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #8  
aaron130's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 287
 
1,778 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahecht

That's the sense 5.5 calculator. The sense 6.0 calculator from /data/preload (the one that gets deleted when you unlock) is attached.

Can this just be installed regularly? Or does it have to be flashed in TWRP? Havent got the phone yet, will have it Wednesday just trying to get all my stuff ready for when it comes.
1st April 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #9  
AarSyl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 737
 
1,831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron130

Can this just be installed regularly? Or does it have to be flashed in TWRP? Havent got the phone yet, will have it Wednesday just trying to get all my stuff ready for when it comes.

Typically, system apps can't install by conventional methods (although there are a few exceptions, Google Maps being one of them). You have to use a file manager to push the file to /system/app as listed above, and be sure to set the permissions. The permissions should match the rest of the apks in the folder.

If you don't know how to get the permissions to match the other files, then check the permissions of another apk that does match, and use the same layout.
1st April 2014, 12:46 PM   |  #10  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarsyl

Typically, system apps can't install by conventional methods (although there are a few exceptions, Google Maps being one of them). You have to use a file manager to push the file to /system/app as listed above, and be sure to set the permissions. The permissions should match the rest of the apks in the folder.

If you don't know how to get the permissions to match the other files, then check the permissions of another apk that does match, and use the same layout.

It's not originally from /system/app/, and people on other threads have been able to install them in the conventional way.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint One (M8) Themes and Apps by ThreadRank