Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Solved] Bricked XT910, help needed

OP doub01

26th July 2012, 03:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I recently bought a Motorola Droid Razr on ebay. It's an XT910. It came with a branded T-Mobile ICS 4.0.4, which I suspect has been installed by a previous owner from a leak because I got it before the beginning of the OTA ICS release.

I wanted to install an unbranded retail ICS. I used the Droid Razr Utility by mattlgroff. However it failed during the flashing. I later discovered that the utility is not for the XT910/GSM Razr but for the XT912/CDMA Razr.

So now I have a phone that won't boot. When I start the phone while holding vol+/vol-, I get the following boot menu:

Code:
Boot Mod Selection Menu (0A.6C)
  Vol Up Selects, Vol Down Scrolls

  Available Boot Modes:
    Normal Powerup
    Recovery
    AP Fastboot
    BP SBF Flash
    BP Only
    BP HW Diag & Boot AP
    BP Tools
If I select "Normal Powerup" or "Recovery" or "BP Tools", I get the "Dual Core" Motorola logo for a while, and then the following screen:

Code:
Invalid Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)
0A.6C
To return to normal mode - first press power key to poser down

Device is LOCKED. Status Code: 0

Battery Low
Cannot Program
Connect USB
Data Cable


Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop): Invalid SP Data
Invalid CG HAB (CG: webtop, status: 0X0056)
Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop)
If I select "AP Fastboot", I get the following screen:

Code:
AP Fastboot Flash Mode (S)
0A.6C
To return to normal mode - first press power key to poser down

Device is LOCKED. Status Code: 0

Battery Low
Cannot Program
Connect USB
Data Cable
If I select "BP SBF Flash", I get the following screen:


Code:
BP SF Flash Mode (S)
0A.6C




Battery Low
Cannot Program
Connect USB
Data Cable
If I select "BP Only", I get the "Dual Core" Motorola logo forever.

If I select "BP HW Diag & Boot AP", I get the "Dual Core" Motorola logo for a while, and then the following screen:

Code:
AP SBF Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)
0A.6C
To return to normal mode - first press power key to poser down

Device is LOCKED. Status Code: 0

Battery Low
Cannot Program
Connect USB
Data Cable


Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop): Invalid SP Data
Invalid CG HAB (CG: webtop, status: 0X0056)
Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop)
I made a factory cable. When I plug it, all these screen keep being the same, except the middle four lines, which read:

Code:
Battery OK
OK to Program
Transfer Mode:
USB Connected
I tried using RSD Lite, when the phone in in "AP Fastboot" mode. I tried running it with several images that I found on sbf.droid-developers.org umts_spyder list.php. Here are the result:
  • SPDREM_U_01.6.5.1-73_SPU-11-M1-2_SIGNEuropeAustraliaEMEA_USASPDRRTGB_HWp2b_Servic e1FF_fastboot.xml.zip
    • Failed flashing process. 1/11 flash cdt.bin "cdt.bin_signed" -> Phone returned FAIL.
  • SPDREM_U_01.6.5.1-73_SPU-11-M1-2-DE_SIGNEuropeAustraliaEMEA_USASPDRTMDE_HWp2b_Servi ce1FF_fastboot.xml.zip
    • Failed flashing process. 1/11 flash cdt.bin "cdt.bin_signed" -> Phone returned FAIL.
  • SPDREM_U_01.6.5.1-167_SPU-15-M2-1-DE_1C.91P_0A.6C_TMDE_CFC_HWp2b_SIGNED.xml.zip
    • Failed flashing process. 6/20 flash cdt.bin "cdt.bin_signed" -> Phone returned FAIL.
  • SPDREM_U_01.6.5.1-167_SPU-15-M2-3_SIGNEuropeAustraliaEMEA_USASPDRRTGB_HWp2b_Servic e1FF_fastboot.xml.zip
    • Failed flashing process. 1/11 flash cdt.bin "cdt.bin_signed" -> Phone returned FAIL.
  • SPDREM_U_01.6.7.2-180_SPU-19-TA-11.2_SIGNEuropeAustraliaEMEA_USASPDRICSRTGB_HWp2b_ Service1FF_fastboot.xml.zip
    • The 10 steps run properly, the phone reboots, I get a "Dual Core" Motorola logo for a while, and then the error screen below


Code:
Invalid Flash Mode (S) (Boot Failure)
0A.6C
To return to normal mode - first press power key to poser down

Device is LOCKED. Status Code: 0

Battery Low
Cannot Program
Connect USB
Data Cable


Invalid CG OTV (CG: cdrom): Invalid SP Data
Invalid CG OTV (CG: system): Invalid SP Data
Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop): Invalid SP Data
Invalid CG HAB (CG: webtop, status: 0X0056)
Invalid CG OTV (CG: webtop)
Can anyone tell me what fastboot file I should download for my phone? Is there any other method to unbrick it?
Last edited by doub01; 27th July 2012 at 01:12 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to doub01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2012, 12:28 PM   |  #2  
BakaPhoenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Roma
Thanks Meter: 94
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Flash only the webtop from the gb sbf (you can do it using rds lite and deleting all the other lines that arent the one with webtop, or using eternity project fastboot method and modifing the .bat file for flash only the webtop)
and then flash the ics sbf that you can find in the dev forum (the last one you have posted in your post)
The Following User Says Thank You to BakaPhoenix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th July 2012, 11:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakaPhoenix

Flash only the webtop from the gb sbf (you can do it using rds lite and deleting all the other lines that arent the one with webtop, or using eternity project fastboot method and modifing the .bat file for flash only the webtop)
and then flash the ics sbf that you can find in the dev forum (the last one you have posted in your post)

Your message was a bit cryptic for the newbie that I am, but it put me on the right track.

I thought the fastboot .xml.zip files were monolithic things, but I had a look at the extracted content, and at the XML file. It appears the "steps" displayed by RSD Lite are in fact described in that XML, and all that application is doing is taking some binaries and writing them to corresponding (named) partitions on the phone (there is a fastboot_image.sh script in the latest ROM I mentionned above that helped a lot confirming that).

And it appears that the 1.6.7.2-180 fastboot file contains no image for the webtop partition, contrary to earlier ROMs. So what happens (I think) is that I corrupted that partition (and maybe others), but successfully flashing the latest fastboot ROM wouldn't fix it because there is no new webtop image in these ROM.

So I did what you suggested. I manually flashed the various partitions (using moto-fastboot.exe), using the webtop image from 1.6.5.1-73, and the rest from 1.6.7.2-180.

I still don't understand why flashing the whole 1.6.5.1-73 from RSD Lite failed. My guess is that the signing keys have been updated, and the phone no longer accepts the signed binaries from 1.6.5.1-73. However it still accepted the old webtop signed image (when I skipped the other ones manually), so maybe there is a different signing key per partition.
27th July 2012, 12:33 PM   |  #4  
BakaPhoenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Roma
Thanks Meter: 94
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Sorry if i was hard to undestand ^^''
But i was to lazy to write a good guide o.o
So in the end do you fixed?

P.s. The fact that it doesn't accepted the whole old gb is because the ics update signed some partiton, so the older sbf couln't be used since they didn't have the sign, the webtop(and some others) partition can be flashed becase its partition is not signed with the update
Last edited by BakaPhoenix; 27th July 2012 at 12:36 PM.
27th July 2012, 01:18 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakaPhoenix

So in the end do you fixed?

Yes, sorry if I wasn't clear. I now have a clean unrooted unbranded retail ICS 4.0.4 And a better knowledge of the platform, so I can start customizing it a bit in the future (I especially don't like the booting logo, although I think you rarely have to reboot the system).

Quote:

P.s. The fact that it doesn't accepted the whole old gb is because the ics update signed some partiton, so the older sbf couln't be used since they didn't have the sign, the webtop(and some others) partition can be flashed becase its partition is not signed with the update

Do you know where these signatures are stored, or if it's possible to update them? Or maybe can you point me at some documentation explaining all that in details?
27th July 2012, 01:24 PM   |  #6  
BakaPhoenix's Avatar
Senior Member
Roma
Thanks Meter: 94
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Sorry but i don't really know about them
BTW to change the boot animation is really easy, you need root and an app like es file manager. In the folder /system/media, there is a zip file called bootanimation.
Downlaod the bootanimation that you like and replace it with the stock one and you are done
28th July 2012, 06:17 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
[QUOTE=doub01;29394205]Your message was a bit cryptic for the newbie that I am, but it put me on the right track.

I thought the fastboot .xml.zip files were monolithic things, but I had a look at the extracted content, and at the XML file. It appears the "steps" displayed by RSD Lite are in fact described in that XML, and all that application is doing is taking some binaries and writing them to corresponding (named) partitions on the phone (there is a fastboot_image.sh script in the latest ROM I mentionned above that helped a lot confirming that).

And it appears that the 1.6.7.2-180 fastboot file contains no image for the webtop partition, contrary to earlier ROMs. So what happens (I think) is that I corrupted that partition (and maybe others), but successfully flashing the latest fastboot ROM wouldn't fix it because there is no new webtop image in these ROM.

So I did what you suggested. I manually flashed the various partitions (using moto-fastboot.exe), using the webtop image from 1.6.5.1-73, and the rest from 1.6.7.2-180.

I still don't understand why flashing the whole 1.6.5.1-73 from RSD Lite failed. My guess is that the signing keys have been updated, and the phone no longer accepts the signed binaries from 1.6.5.1-73. However it still accepted the old webtop signed image (when I skipped the other ones manually), so maybe there is a different signing key per partition./QUOTE]

I am rooted really bad as well. Could you describe in detail how you manually flashed. I don't know how to do that.
28th July 2012, 03:25 PM   |  #8  
pedrotorresfilho's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,098
 
1,590 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Code:
moto-fastboot flash webtop webtop_signed


Sent from my XT910 using xda premium
30th July 2012, 08:46 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Hey all; I think I just Bricked mt XT910.
I used App2SD to set & move Contract Killer from one sdcard => sdcard-ext. phone booted without incident except everytime I had to tell the game to load from sd not delete & reinstall... no big deal.
then I read that App2ROM was supposed to make the game load faster if I moved it with this app... since then I can't find the game with App2SD, App2ROM, easy uninstaller, App Quarantine, auto run manager, nothing.. and I kept getting the popup that the game had crashed suppenly before I even get to "desktop".
So I used RazrBootstrap to get into recovery mode to try and delete the CK popup.
It succeeded in restoring the phone to stock; BUT I still have the CK popup. and I think something Identified it as a system app now.
how do I delete / move the CK loader so I can get uninterupted access to the phone to correct the CK issue without the popups.
and as a footnote my system is ubuntu 12.04 can't seem to get the pc to see it either to help with the reloading, as I have all my apps on my pc.
30th July 2012, 06:58 PM   |  #10  
pedrotorresfilho's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,098
 
1,590 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph3arr3t

Hey all; I think I just Bricked mt XT910.
I used App2SD to set & move Contract Killer from one sdcard => sdcard-ext. phone booted without incident except everytime I had to tell the game to load from sd not delete & reinstall... no big deal.
then I read that App2ROM was supposed to make the game load faster if I moved it with this app... since then I can't find the game with App2SD, App2ROM, easy uninstaller, App Quarantine, auto run manager, nothing.. and I kept getting the popup that the game had crashed suppenly before I even get to "desktop".
So I used RazrBootstrap to get into recovery mode to try and delete the CK popup.
It succeeded in restoring the phone to stock; BUT I still have the CK popup. and I think something Identified it as a system app now.
how do I delete / move the CK loader so I can get uninterupted access to the phone to correct the CK issue without the popups.
and as a footnote my system is ubuntu 12.04 can't seem to get the pc to see it either to help with the reloading, as I have all my apps on my pc.

fastboot erase userdata to delete ur data. If this do not fix you'll have to rsd lite flash the system over.

Cheers

Sent from my XT910 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes