Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,832 Members 50,442 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't format the system partition (Brick?)

Tip us?
 
numsgil
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default [Q] Can't format the system partition (Brick?)

Hi, XDA Community!
Just as a side note, I've been flashing custom ROMs for 4 years, so I'm not a newbie anymore. I've always been with Samsung devices (because they're cool ), and my first one was the SGS. Now I'm on the SGS3 (d2att : Bell) for a year at least.
Now, the problem : I was using the new AOSB Project ROM and I wasn't happy with the battery life, so I wanted to switch, but now any ROM I try to flash stay stuck on "Formatting System partition" (or the logo for Resurection Remix).
My first idea was to manually format that partition, but the ROM always want to format it so I got stuck again (without any backup rom to go back to). So I used Odin to restore to a stock 4.3 (was 4.4.2), re-rooted using Unifed Android Toolkit, flashed PhilZ Touch Recovery (was with TWRP 2.7.0.0) and it was working. But I don't like TouchWiz so I tried again to flash. So I used Odin again because I was still stuck on "Formatting System Partition" and did the same mistake.
Now, my phone is sitting beside me for an hour, trying to format that partition because the stock 4.3 stuck on the Samsung logo...
I'm all out of ideas now...

As I'm not a native English speaker/writer, feel free to ask for precisions or if I forgot something!
Hope I don't have to go buy a new one!
Thanks in advance!
 
Larry2999
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by numsgil View Post
Hi, XDA Community!
Just as a side note, I've been flashing custom ROMs for 4 years, so I'm not a newbie anymore. I've always been with Samsung devices (because they're cool ), and my first one was the SGS. Now I'm on the SGS3 (d2att : Bell) for a year at least.
Now, the problem : I was using the new AOSB Project ROM and I wasn't happy with the battery life, so I wanted to switch, but now any ROM I try to flash stay stuck on "Formatting System partition" (or the logo for Resurection Remix).
My first idea was to manually format that partition, but the ROM always want to format it so I got stuck again (without any backup rom to go back to). So I used Odin to restore to a stock 4.3 (was 4.4.2), re-rooted using Unifed Android Toolkit, flashed PhilZ Touch Recovery (was with TWRP 2.7.0.0) and it was working. But I don't like TouchWiz so I tried again to flash. So I used Odin again because I was still stuck on "Formatting System Partition" and did the same mistake.
Now, my phone is sitting beside me for an hour, trying to format that partition because the stock 4.3 stuck on the Samsung logo...
I'm all out of ideas now...

As I'm not a native English speaker/writer, feel free to ask for precisions or if I forgot something!
Hope I don't have to go buy a new one!
Thanks in advance!
There are a couple of things I'm not clear about in your post - you said you Odined back to 4.3 stock. Where did you find the Odin flashable file for 4.3? Also you said you tried to get out of TW using Odin. What were you trying to flash the second time? Finally have you tried doing a hard wipe/factory reset from recovery?
 
numsgil
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
There are a couple of things I'm not clear about in your post - you said you Odined back to 4.3 stock. Where did you find the Odin flashable file for 4.3? Also you said you tried to get out of TW using Odin. What were you trying to flash the second time? Finally have you tried doing a hard wipe/factory reset from recovery?
I used version EMK5 from Samsung-Updates.com for D2ATT. And I was trying to flash a custom ROM, namely Resurection Remix v5.0.8 and the I tried to sideload C-Rom v6.1. What do you mean by Hard Wipe? I did the factory reset/wipe data/cache when I installed my ROMs, but if you mean manullay wipe the system partition, I did that.
 
audit13
Old
#4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 2,135
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by numsgil View Post
I used version EMK5 from Samsung-Updates.com for D2ATT. And I was trying to flash a custom ROM, namely Resurection Remix v5.0.8 and the I tried to sideload C-Rom v6.1. What do you mean by Hard Wipe? I did the factory reset/wipe data/cache when I installed my ROMs, but if you mean manullay wipe the system partition, I did that.
I believe EMK5 for the i747m. Do you have an i747 or i747m?
 
numsgil
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I believe EMK5 for the i747m. Do you have an i747 or i747m?
i747m

Someone over at Google+ said that the problem may be that partitions that are corrupted. How do I fix it? I think that I can do that with Odin but I think I need a PIT file. Where can I find the good one for my device? Is this a good idea?
 
Larry2999
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I believe EMK5 for the i747m. Do you have an i747 or i747m?
I was assuming it was an i747 because the post mentioned d2-ATT which is why I was puzzled about the Odining to 4.3 part. Looking through again, I see the post mentioned Bell so I'd guess it's the i747m. The (stock) firmware file is, however, a zip which would have been better flashed via custom recovery rather than Odin. Numsgil, I meant with the phone apparently stuck in a boot loop after the flashing, can you try booting into recovery and doing a factory reset?
 
numsgil
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
I was assuming it was an i747 because the post mentioned d2-ATT which is why I was puzzled about the Odining to 4.3 part. Looking through again, I see the post mentioned Bell so I'd guess it's the i747m. The (stock) firmware file is, however, a zip which would have been better flashed via custom recovery rather than Odin. Numsgil, I meant with the phone apparently stuck in a boot loop after the flashing, can you try booting into recovery and doing a factory reset?
Did it, but was still boot-looping. Today, I needed my phone so I Odin-flashed again and now it is useable but I'm sure the problem will persist.
 
Larry2999
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by numsgil View Post
Did it, but was still boot-looping. Today, I needed my phone so I Odin-flashed again and now it is useable but I'm sure the problem will persist.
If you flash a complete stock image via (custom) recovery it shouldn't recur as this will update all partitions to as near factory settings as possible. Even if any of the partitions is corrupt, a total restore should fix that.
 
numsgil
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
If you flash a complete stock image via (custom) recovery it shouldn't recur as this will update all partitions to as near factory settings as possible. Even if any of the partitions is corrupt, a total restore should fix that.
OK! How do I do it?
 
Larry2999
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by numsgil View Post
OK! How do I do it?
You can download a fresh stock image from sammobile.com or the same source you used earlier OR a rooted version courtesy of XDA Developer Mr. Robinson via the following link ... http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23269279319199494

Once you have this, save the zip file to an external SD card. Flash custom recovery to your phone. You mentioned you had philz-touch? Or you could flash TWRP or CWM via Odin. Place the SD card in your phone. Boot into recovery mode and flash from the card. Wait for firmware installation to be complete. Clear your cache/dalvik and reboot to system. Hope this works.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more