FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

[Q] 4.4.2, pattern lock, and FoxFi for wireless tethering.

186 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By LaTropa64, Senior Member on 30th April 2014, 06:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I took the 4.4.2 update despite the warnings I had been getting from FoxFi that my wifi tether wouldn't work on 4.4+.

Well, it still worked after the update... it just makes me go through one extra step when starting it:



Now, I have another problem though. I made the mistake of messing around with cerberus and locked my phone with a code, I then went back in so I could change it back to a pattern lock and now I can't:



I remember a while back FoxFi made me install some kind of certificate and set a screen lock in order for it to be able to work, so my guess is that certificate is what's keeping me from being able to do the pattern lock and if I uninstalled FoxFi I would then be able to use a pattern lock again.

My question though: is it just a fluke that FoxFi is still working on wifi tether after 4.4.2 update or did they already come up with some kind of work around and I'll be able to uninstall FoxFi and set my pattern lock and then reinstall FoxFi and re-do all that certificate stuff they made me do awhile back and WiFi tether will still be working?
 
 
30th April 2014, 04:07 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I understand that FoxFi has updated their app, and it should now work on KitKat. As for the pattern unlock thing, I could not tell you. If it were me I would probably try to just delete the FoxFi app, and see if it allows you to set up your lockscreen the way you want. Then reinstall the app, and hope things continue to work.
30th April 2014, 10:30 PM |#3  
LaTropa64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rageboardr

I understand that FoxFi has updated their app, and it should now work on KitKat. As for the pattern unlock thing, I could not tell you. If it were me I would probably try to just delete the FoxFi app, and see if it allows you to set up your lockscreen the way you want. Then reinstall the app, and hope things continue to work.

I went for it. Uninstalled FoxFi but then I still couldn't set a pattern lock. I figured out I also had to clear the credentials in Settings > Security, which wiped out the FoxFi certificate and then I was able to finally set a pattern lock.

That didn't really work though because when I reinstalled FoxFi and it took me back to the part about installing the certificate and that takes you to the lock settings and gives you the same options I had before clearing the certificate (PIN and Password only). It won't install the cert unless you set one of those two.

Is there a way to get a hold of the certificate separately from the app and manually install it so you don't have to set a PIN or Password and it'll just continue to use whatever kind of lock or no lock your phone has?
1st May 2014, 03:06 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
That is a puzzle. When i installed FoxFi awhile ago, it made me use a pattern unlock (which i didn't want) with a PIN backup. And after messing up the pattern so many times it asked for the PIN. After that there was no lock on the phone at all, which was what i was wanting. I wonder if the update to FoxFi changed something about the lock screen requirements. I'll play around with it later, and if I figure something out I will let you know.

Another thought, it is possible Cerberus is messing with your settings. Might try deleting Cerberus and see if that changes anything.
Last edited by Rageboardr; 1st May 2014 at 03:09 PM.
1st May 2014, 05:38 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I have been using this app for years and with the KitKat update, which I was forced to get, even though it worked. I am not happy with this little triangle notification telling me that I can be monitored: emails, secure websites and the like. For me, they broke something that worked. Not to mention changing my device lock. I thought the lock set up was for the app itself.
3rd May 2014, 05:44 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Smile FoxFi Lockscreen Fix!
I may have found a solution to FoxFi Lockscreen problem! see my thread at:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6720&nocache=1

Hope This helps!
7th May 2014, 10:11 AM |#7  
LaTropa64's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Housing184

I may have found a solution to FoxFi Lockscreen problem! see my thread at:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6720&nocache=1

Hope This helps!

Thanks. I'll try this later. It looks like I need to fist install the certificate and setup a PIN lock before following your instructions.

Hopefully it lets me set up a pattern lock and not just a no security swipe.
7th May 2014, 10:25 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaTropa64

Thanks. I'll try this later. It looks like I need to fist install the certificate and setup a PIN lock before following your instructions.

Hopefully it lets me set up a pattern lock and not just a no security swipe.

LaTropa64...you Will be able to set any type of security you wish as all the options will be made available to you when you get to the step of setting your security level...Enjoy your Foxfi Hot Spot!

PS...I also have Cerberus installed on my Verizon GS4 4.4.2 without any problems. ..
Last edited by Housing184; 7th May 2014 at 05:33 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.4.2, foxfi, wifi tether
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes