Post Reply

[MOD] Native Hotspot Hack + Hotspot Quicksettings

OP Ph33zy

10th April 2014, 05:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
So, I finally got native hotspot working on the M8 by following the guide in the M7 thread posted here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2474432

This mod requires you to have root access and an init.d capable kernel. Alternatively, you can download script manager and have it run at boot or modify your install-recovery.sh file located in /system/etc.

This is confirmed working for both 3G and 4G connections.

Step 1) Flash attached zip file.

If 4G Hotspot doesn't work do the following:

Optional Alternate Method #1 after installing zip file to use with Script Manager
Step 1) Download Script Manager: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....scriptmanager
Step 2) Open up Script Manager and navigate to /system/etc/init.d and select the "tether" script.
Step 3) Click on SU and Boot (Android Skull and Gear Icons, respectively) and click on run and save.

Optional Alternate Method #2 after installing zip file to edit your install-recovery.sh
Modify your install-recovery.sh referenced in this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=21

Please note that this will overwrite any mods that you may have done to your default.xml. Here are the changes that were made:

Tether Hack:
Code:
<item type="boolean" name="isTetherBlockCheck">false</item>
<item type="boolean" name="tether_use_default_upstream">false</item>
<item type="boolean" name="tethering_guard_support">false</item>
<item type="boolean" name="tethering_roaming_specific">false</item>
<item type="string" name="tethering_specific">NONE</item>
<item type="integer" name="tethering_support_ipv6">1</item>
<item type="boolean" name="use_default_profile_for_tethering">true</item>
<item type="integer" name="TetheringGuard_Rule">0</item>
Unlock Hotspot Quicksettings:

Code:
<item type="integer-array" name="quick_setting_available_items">
    <int>0</int>
    <int>1</int>
    <int>2</int>
    <int>3</int>
    <int>4</int>
    <int>5</int>
    <int>6</int>
    <int>7</int>
    <int>8</int>
    <int>9</int>
    <int>10</int>
    <int>11</int>
    <int>12</int>
    <int>13</int>
    <int>14</int>
    <int>15</int>
    <int>18</int>
    <int>19</int>
    <int>20</int>
    <int>22</int>
    <int>24</int>
    <int>25</int>
    <int>26</int>
  </item>
  <item type="integer-array" name="quick_setting_items">
    <int>0</int>
    <int>1</int>
    <int>2</int>
    <int>3</int>
    <int>4</int>
    <int>5</int>
    <int>6</int>
    <int>7</int>
    <int>8</int>
    <int>9</int>
    <int>22</int>
    <int>25</int>
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-09-21-27-27.png
Views:	2318
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	2677979   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-09-21-40-49.png
Views:	2325
Size:	147.4 KB
ID:	2677980  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sprint_M8_Tether_Hack_V2.zip - [Click for QR Code] (135.4 KB, 1178 views)
Last edited by Ph33zy; 10th April 2014 at 07:20 PM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Ph33zy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #2  
ahecht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Can you share exactly what changes you made to default.xml (or are you using the M7 default.xml?)
10th April 2014, 06:13 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahecht

Can you share exactly what changes you made to default.xml (or are you using the M7 default.xml?)

Sure. Added to OP.
10th April 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #4  
stacksptdtdm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york
Thanks Meter: 357
 
739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph33zy

Sure. Added to OP.

I take it only 3g tether? Or 4g tether also

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stacksptdtdm

I take it only 3g tether? Or 4g tether also

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Should work with 4G, but I'll confirm tomorrow at work since my house doesn't get 4G (unless someone gets to it first).
10th April 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #6  
stacksptdtdm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york
Thanks Meter: 357
 
739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph33zy

Should work with 4G, but I'll confirm tomorrow at work since my house doesn't get 4G (unless someone gets to it first).

Yea it doesn't work with 4g. Devices connects but no data is being past through

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stacksptdtdm

Yea it doesn't work with 4g. Devices connects but no data is being past through

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Can you force your phone to 3G and check to see if it works just to rule out the setup? Go to Settings, Mobile Data, Network Mode, and change to CDMA only.
10th April 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #8  
stacksptdtdm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york
Thanks Meter: 357
 
739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph33zy

Can you force your phone to 3G and check to see if it works just to rule out the setup? Go to Settings, Mobile Data, Network Mode, and change to CDMA only.

Yes 3g works perfectly

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
10th April 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stacksptdtdm

Yes 3g works perfectly

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

hmmm okay let me try to mess with it...
10th April 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 192
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stacksptdtdm

Yes 3g works perfectly

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Can you try to go to system/app/and rename tetheringguard.odex and tetheringguard.apk to .bak and reboot and try again?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint One (M8) Android Development by ThreadRank