Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: were you aware of using App ops as wakelock blocker and battery saver?
Yes 54 31.40%
No 118 68.60%
Voters: 172. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[GUIDE] Using Apps Ops (or Privacy Guard) 4 blocking wakelocks & saving battery

OP Kapiljhajhria

7th May 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 458
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Before I begin note for:
Everyone:
I am making this thread as much as noob friendly. So if anyone doesn't understand any term or anything please let me know through posting here or PM me.

Moderators:
This is my first guide. I tried to follow all the rules if my thread is breaking any rules please let me know so I can make appropriate changes.
If the thread is in wrong section please move it.

This guide is only for:
- Android 4.3 and above which has app ops (privacy guard)

App Ops (or privacy guard) can be used for:
- denying specific permission to a certain app
-checking which apps are kepping your phone awake and which apps are the one using resources like location, personal stuff, etc ( only if your app ops or privacy guard has " advance" option. watch video to know what it is.)
- preventing app from causing wakelock
-overall it can be sort of used like wakelock blocker, battery saver app ( because of its feature to block wakelock) and noob friendly way of determining apps that causes wakelocks.


Usefull Links
using BBS to find cause of your battery drain. short video on that here
How to prevent & handle wakelocks & save battery life[GUIDE]
COMPLETE GUIDE for BATTERY SAVING on AOKP,AOSP,CM, SAMMY ROMs

Video on How to prevent wakelock using privacy guard (app ops) and prevent battery drain by a particular app.




Another small video with little different content


Power Point Presentation
for those who are not able to understand my accent or usually have trouble with spoken english. or just are not in mood for wasting data on youtube video. here is the power point presentation. I was not able to upload here on xda so i have used google drive.
PPT on Using App Ops( privacy guard) to its full potential (includes saving battery)
(Best viewed on laptops, computer or mobile devices with bigger screen)




I was a little late (actually lot late) to use app ops
It was recently that I started using app ops (now mostly know as privacy guard)
Not only can it be used for privacy purposes but it can also be used as battery saving app or wakelock blocker.
Different Roms have a little different app ops( privacy guard) some provides user advance options some don’t. Some even has little extra option and sort of interactive mode like xprivacy. (like temasek’s ROM which I use)

I am made this video with temasek’s ROM which is my favorite ROM.
Last edited by Kapiljhajhria; 14th August 2014 at 08:05 AM.
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to Kapiljhajhria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 458
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Reserved
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Kapiljhajhria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
aavvaallooss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vitoria
Thanks Meter: 233
 
585 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Waiting for PowerPoint because my understanding of spoken english is (very) limited.

Thank you!
7th May 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #4  
C114's Avatar
Member
Flag Inverness
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
app ops starter
When i launch App Ops Starter it crushes saying 'settings has stopped'
7th May 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 458
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aavvaallooss

Waiting for PowerPoint because my understanding of spoken english is (very) limited.

Thank you!

Will be soon just waiting for one or two days. I have asked for some screenshots on various threads of different ROMs. So that it will make a better presentation and comparison of different options in different ROMs. If i don't get enough screenshots in two days then i will myself download and flash some ROMs.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kapiljhajhria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 458
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by C114

When i launch App Ops Starter it crushes saying 'settings has stopped'

I faced same problem once. Don't remember now when and why as ut was long time back. I think it might have something to do with your ROM. If you are using xposed framework try using "app ops" module. I will try to recreate this error when i flash different ROM (Which is at least once a week) if i am able to replicate this error i will let you know why and what caused it.
I flashed one ROM over another after wiping just cache, dalvik and system which lead to same error message except it was when i tried to access "developer option"
So did you change your ROM recently without full wipe or procedure as mentioned in your ROM's thread?
7th May 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #7  
C114's Avatar
Member
Flag Inverness
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapiljhajhria

I faced same problem once. Don't remember now when and why as ut was long time back. I think it might have something to do with your ROM. If you are using xposed framework try using "app ops" module. I will try to recreate this error when i flash different ROM (Which is at least once a week) if i am able to replicate this error i will let you know why and what caused it.
I flashed one ROM over another after wiping just cache, dalvik and system which lead to same error message except it was when i tried to access "developer option"
So did you change your ROM recently without full wipe or procedure as mentioned in your ROM's thread?

App Ops module for xposed does not work as well. Same problem. Im on 4.4.2 Google Edition. I have Samsung s4. Flashed current rom with full wipe as it stated in instruction. Cheers

Send from my C3350 using Tapatalk.
7th May 2014, 10:10 PM   |  #8  
voorhees13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 495
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
screenshots
Hey,just to provide screenshots of Privacy Guard from SOKP 4.4.2 rom for i9300.It can be found in settings>privacy>privacy guard.Hope it helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-07-21-05-54.png
Views:	303
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	2731184   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-07-21-06-13.png
Views:	308
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	2731185   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-07-21-06-23.png
Views:	292
Size:	151.9 KB
ID:	2731186   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-07-21-06-58.png
Views:	282
Size:	138.9 KB
ID:	2731187  
Last edited by voorhees13; 7th May 2014 at 11:22 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to voorhees13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #9  
lion7718's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
thanks for the info
8th May 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
How's for S4 I9500?
Anyone know where to find this option, or how to unhide it?
Last edited by KnifeHead; 8th May 2014 at 05:03 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app ops, privacy guard, wakelock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes