Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,225 Members 53,873 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Relock to send back to Verizon

Tip us?
 
eman7131
Old
(Last edited by eman7131; 26th April 2014 at 01:12 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Relock to send back to Verizon

Hello, just a quick question. I had my One rooted, s-off, and unlocked when my microphone went. So I relocked, s-on, and flashed an RUU via http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2475216. Just making sure that before I pack it in the box, there is nothing else that could trip the people at Verizon that I had messed with my phone. I took the OTAs up to 4.3. I'm just paranoid about info not matching up such as the baseband version and build number etc. Thanks
 
cmlusco
Old
#2  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Does the bootloader say locked or relocked? Locked is good relocked not so much. Other than that you should be fine. Ruu's wipe everything and install it all fresh, including the firmware (baseband, hboot, recovery, etc), so everything will match up.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
eman7131
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2014
In the bootloader I have "Locked" also s-on. I noticed though with the refurbished phone I received (not happy about having to get refurbished but thats besides the point) the CID number shows in the bootloader screen whereas on my original phone it is not displayed. Not sure if I even need to be this worried, but I'm just paranoid. Thanks
 
cmlusco
Old
#4  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Are both phones on the same hboot version? I dont remember if it showed in older hboots or not. Either way i wouldn't worry, locked and s-on is all you need.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
eman7131
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2014
No they weren't. I'm just going to stop worrying too much about it. Thanks
 
d0m_
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Springville
If i send my phone back to verizon do i have to be on the original ROM? i understand that i need to lock my bootloader and have s-on, but what about the software itself?
 
cmlusco
Old
#7  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
It can be on stock rom/firmware of any version. Just no custom roms or anything.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
godhamba
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 191
Join Date: Dec 2009
Just to confirm, if I have a phone that is S-OFF, unlocked:

1. Do I need to lock the bootloader before flashing an RUU?

2. Does flashing an RUU revert the phone to S-ON?

3. Does anything special otherwise need to be done to the phone prior to flashing the RUU?

Thanks so much in advance.

I also have to return a phone to VZW due to a hardware issue (the autofocus issue finally too much for me to bear).
Try Copy with my referral link and you'll get 20GB instead of 15Gb, for life! It blows away Dropbox in every way.
 
cmlusco
Old
#9  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
You only need to relock the bootloader if using a signed ruu. A decrypted ruu does not need it locked.

Flashing an ruu will not remove s-off or relock the bootloader. You can do it before or after, but i sugest after, that way if something goes wrong durring the ruu, you still have options.

Once you do the ruu you will be stock. So the only thing you would have to do is relock and go s-on.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
godhamba
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 191
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fantastically clear, Clumsco, thanks! Three quick additional questions

1. is there any advantage to flashing the signed RUU, and adding danger by locking the bootloader beforehand? In your links below your signature is a path to both decrypted and signed versions of the latest RUUs. So I thought to ask before going with one or the other. If there is no advantage then I guess the decrypted version would be the safer bet, right?

2. Is there a danger that locking after the RUU will result in a "relocked" versus the desired "Locked" status?

3. Will the RUU flash wipe my /sdcard area? If so I'll back everything up before embarking on this.

I VERY much appreciate the help. I ran rumrunner several months back and have forgotten a lot of the nuances. Thanks for the quick primer!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco View Post
You only need to relock the bootloader if using a signed ruu. A decrypted ruu does not need it locked.

Flashing an ruu will not remove s-off or relock the bootloader. You can do it before or after, but i sugest after, that way if something goes wrong durring the ruu, you still have options.

Once you do the ruu you will be stock. So the only thing you would have to do is relock and go s-on.
Try Copy with my referral link and you'll get 20GB instead of 15Gb, for life! It blows away Dropbox in every way.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes