FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

4.4.2 Slimkat beta [Unofficial] gchild

13 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By nikitis, Junior Member on 23rd December 2013, 02:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
To the guy who made the rom in the title.

Sorry i didn't post there it won't let me due to tight user restrictions on these forums, but I fixed the GPS problem people are having with your rom by changing the value LPP_PROFILE = 0 to LPP_PROFILE = 1 in gps.conf located in the zip under /system/etc/gps.conf and have people reinstall the rom.

The 0 value doesn't work for the Note II on verizon. So you should change it and fix it. As there are plenty of people having issues with GPS on your rom.
Last edited by nikitis; 23rd December 2013 at 02:59 AM. Reason: Wording mistake.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nikitis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
23rd December 2013, 03:01 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Iowa
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
More
It worked for you. It's not accurate to say it doesn't work for everyone though. As stated in irc, mine is set to 0 and it locks instantly.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to akellar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2013, 08:02 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I had no GPS on this ROM and the fix above got it working again - thanks for the tip!
25th December 2013, 08:41 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Welcome
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkmhockey

I had no GPS on this ROM and the fix above got it working again - thanks for the tip!


Glad to hear it worked for you like it did for me. For the post above yours:

From what I understand is that setting value to 1 allows the ROM to grab fresh cold start GPS data and format the profile properly. Phones sometimes when wiping cache and dalvik for whatever reason lose that data or it becomes corrupted and it then it fails to read the data thus preventing a lock entirely on some phones even with downloading AGPS data. Setting to 1 creates a fresh profile and should work for everyone on this phone.

I had flashed from 4.3 OTA with a fine gps lock 4 times to two different roms, slimkat and cm11, neither of which would lock, even if grabbing a lock on 4.3 letting it read for 5-10 mins each time. Everytime it would lose it. Then a smart fella told me to set it to 1, which I did and it worked on my 8th flash total, but first flash with a 1.

So I see no harm in setting it to 1, to make this work for everybody, especially since tons of people in the slimkat forums are having gps issues with this unofficial build.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikitis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2013, 11:37 PM |#5  
lukegman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
More
The WiFi connection causes problems with GPS. Change your location to GPS only. Even after constant locks with GPS only I switched to use WiFi location and it stopped working. It seems strange that WiFi has constant issues involving select phones and turning on WiFi connection cause GPS to stop working. So my guess is WiFi is causing GPS issues.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th January 2014, 06:38 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitis

To the guy who made the rom in the title.

Sorry i didn't post there it won't let me due to tight user restrictions on these forums, but I fixed the GPS problem people are having with your rom by changing the value LPP_PROFILE = 0 to LPP_PROFILE = 1 in gps.conf located in the zip under /system/etc/gps.conf and have people reinstall the rom.

The 0 value doesn't work for the Note II on verizon. So you should change it and fix it. As there are plenty of people having issues with GPS on your rom.

This does not worked for me.
11th January 2014, 10:23 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Creedmoor
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Thumbs up
Nice Rom. Thanks!!
16th May 2014, 05:43 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
GPS.CONF Lines
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitis

To the guy who made the rom in the title.

Sorry i didn't post there it won't let me due to tight user restrictions on these forums, but I fixed the GPS problem people are having with your rom by changing the value LPP_PROFILE = 0 to LPP_PROFILE = 1 in gps.conf located in the zip under /system/etc/gps.conf and have people reinstall the rom.

The 0 value doesn't work for the Note II on verizon. So you should change it and fix it. As there are plenty of people having issues with GPS on your rom.

Hello, I already opened the gps.gonf file, and it got no like named as LPP_PROFILE

any other advice ?
17th May 2014, 05:09 AM |#9  
DSinfinite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikitis

To the guy who made the rom in the title.

Sorry i didn't post there it won't let me due to tight user restrictions on these forums, but I fixed the GPS problem people are having with your rom by changing the value LPP_PROFILE = 0 to LPP_PROFILE = 1 in gps.conf located in the zip under /system/etc/gps.conf and have people reinstall the rom.

The 0 value doesn't work for the Note II on verizon. So you should change it and fix it. As there are plenty of people having issues with GPS on your rom.

did you flash the latest build and are still having the GPS issue?

Sent from Note II
17th May 2014, 07:43 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSinfinite

did you flash the latest build and are still having the GPS issue?

Sent from Note II

I no longer have a working flashable note 2. My original note radio died, and the replacement came with a locked bootloader. Wish I could still help.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes