Post Reply

XZU stop recognising USB is plugged in.

OP diji1

9th May 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #1  
diji1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Adelaide, SA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Over the past few days I've had an issue where my XZU seems to stop recognising it's plugged in to a USB port. It will work fine then it stops charging and I can't see a device on Windows anymore. In other words it's as if it isn't plugged in anymore. Charging from AC still works normally.

I've tried unplugging the cable, swapping USB ports, rebooting XZU. The device won't mount as a mass storage device in CWM. Rebooting Windows is the only thing I've tried that fixes the issue but it happens again. So I gather it could be a Windows issue although I haven't changed anything on my Windows installation that I recall. I have however been flashing various firmwares onto my phone. ATM I'm using stock firmware and I *think* the issue has only happened with the stock firmware.

Edit: Now it's still happening when I reboot Windows :|

Can anyone suggest anything to try to fix this annoying problem?
Last edited by diji1; 9th May 2014 at 04:50 AM.
9th May 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,238
 
2,778 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diji1

Over the past few days I've had an issue where my XZU seems to stop recognising it's plugged in to a USB port. It will work fine then it stops charging and I can't see a device on Windows anymore. In other words it's as if it isn't plugged in anymore. Charging from AC still works normally.

I've tried unplugging the cable, swapping USB ports, rebooting XZU. The device won't mount as a mass storage device in CWM. Rebooting Windows is the only thing I've tried that fixes the issue but it happens again. So I gather it could be a Windows issue although I haven't changed anything on my Windows installation that I recall. I have however been flashing various firmwares onto my phone. ATM I'm using stock firmware and I *think* the issue has only happened with the stock firmware.

Edit: Now it's still happening when I reboot Windows :|

Can anyone suggest anything to try to fix this annoying problem?

Upgrade to the latest OS version for your PC 14.4

I've had issues win win 8 and my ZU, never had them on win 7
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #3  
diji1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Adelaide, SA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

Upgrade to the latest OS version for your PC 14.4

I've had issues win win 8 and my ZU, never had them on win 7

Excellent thanks the issue seems to have been solved ... funnily enough I hadn't installed PC Companion up until now
12th May 2014, 11:15 AM   |  #4  
diji1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Adelaide, SA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
So ... turns out I spoke too soon. It's still doing the same behaviour albeit in a different manner: now what's happening is it indicates it's charging when I plug the phone in then it quickly "disconnects" (no charging, no device in Windows Explorer). It won't connect again til I plug it in again.

And I know this sounds wierd but it *seems* to disconnect when I lay the phone down and I'm not holding it. It's like if it thinks you aren't holding it anymore it disconnects (or am I going crazy with this line of thought?).

I'm assuming this is an issue with .757 stock firmware and/or possibly DooMKernel since I don't recall it happening on either earlier stock versions or CM10/11 based roms.

Most frustrating :|

Edit: OK I just watched it start charging again by itself without me touching it so it's not motion. Bloody thing is driving me bonkers.

Edit #2: Its sitting there rock solid charging away ... I dont get it, I didn't do anything
Last edited by diji1; 12th May 2014 at 12:38 PM.
12th May 2014, 12:23 PM   |  #5  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kepler-34b
Thanks Meter: 5,661
 
15,002 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Just try a different cable. Let's try to rule it out at least.

Sent from my C6806_GPe using Tapatalk
13th May 2014, 01:42 AM   |  #6  
diji1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Adelaide, SA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan

Just try a different cable. Let's try to rule it out at least.

Sent from my C6806_GPe using Tapatalk

Will do
18th May 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #7  
diji1's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Adelaide, SA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diji1

Will do

OK so cable doesn't make a difference.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes