Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can I Switch between cm/aosp roms and stock roms without recovery switch on 757?

OP tdamocles

12th May 2014, 05:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Look above at question

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
12th May 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,519
 
3,185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
You can go back to Stock without recovery (in fact recovery is not used to flash a FTF stock img), but if you have a custom rom then you have recovery. You need recovery to flash a custom rom, well I lie you could do it with adb but it would take about 3 hours and lots coffee.
12th May 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I asked that very poorly...i was on a stock loaded 757(dual twrp/cwm) and flashed paranoid android which had used cwm for recovery.. I did not take a nandroid in cwm,only a nandroid in twrp..where can I get a zip to flash in cwm to change the recovery to twrp:?

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
12th May 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,519
 
3,185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

I asked that very poorly...i was on a stock loaded 757(dual twrp/cwm) and flashed paranoid android which had used cwm for recovery.. I did not take a nandroid in cwm,only a nandroid in twrp..where can I get a zip to flash in cwm to change the recovery to twrp:?

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk

I think all the AOSP ROMs are using cwm at the moment, Slim kernel/ROM might use twrp? I know Revilution kernel had both that can be found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2548092, note that this kernel is too old to boot any current ROMs but will allow you to get into twrp to use the nandroid

Flash with flashtool or fastboot (see op of thread).
12th May 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I'm not used to the recoveries being attached to the kernel or the ROM.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I like to flip flop between the stock rom and aosp ( usually bundled with CWM ) but the recovery image(dual boot) to use twrp is a pain in the butt to flash if I'm not around a computer .. Is there a simple way to turn an image into a flashable zip? Looks like I could use the GPe recovery to flash.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
Last edited by tdamocles; 17th May 2014 at 11:19 AM.
17th May 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #7  
mathurmatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 63
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
It is not always the case when you have to flash recovery each time you flash a new rom for example you can flash monx which is stock build and from there you can flash every rom aokp cm etc (did that and had no issue) you can come back to stock any time you want from any recovery problem is that some custom roms use recoveries which is ported from Z1 which are ok if you flash a stock rom but for aosp you have to flash another recovery .........
17th May 2014, 12:06 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
944 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I was making nandroids in cwm and twrp but this takes a lot of room up.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #9  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kepler-34b
Thanks Meter: 5,663
 
15,002 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Flashify can be used to flash IMGs on the go, but I've never used it myself. It does work according to someone (don't remember) with an Ultra.


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...llner.flashify
Sent from my C6833
18th May 2014, 09:55 AM   |  #10  
Jammol's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
I switch between cm and stock on the fly. I have full backups of both and simply do a restore to the other and I'm fine.

Sent from my C6806 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes