FORUMS

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

PSA: Having cellular connectivity or texting issues tonight?

You’re not alone…Tonight, many users are experiencing a myriad … more

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Can I Switch between cm/aosp roms and stock roms without recovery switch on 757?

1,080 posts
Thanks Meter: 117
 
By tdamocles, Senior Member on 12th May 2014, 04:34 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Look above at question

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
 
12th May 2014, 05:32 AM |#2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,634
 
Donate to Me
More
You can go back to Stock without recovery (in fact recovery is not used to flash a FTF stock img), but if you have a custom rom then you have recovery. You need recovery to flash a custom rom, well I lie you could do it with adb but it would take about 3 hours and lots coffee.
12th May 2014, 07:05 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
I asked that very poorly...i was on a stock loaded 757(dual twrp/cwm) and flashed paranoid android which had used cwm for recovery.. I did not take a nandroid in cwm,only a nandroid in twrp..where can I get a zip to flash in cwm to change the recovery to twrp:?

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
12th May 2014, 07:31 AM |#4  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdamocles

I asked that very poorly...i was on a stock loaded 757(dual twrp/cwm) and flashed paranoid android which had used cwm for recovery.. I did not take a nandroid in cwm,only a nandroid in twrp..where can I get a zip to flash in cwm to change the recovery to twrp:?

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk

I think all the AOSP ROMs are using cwm at the moment, Slim kernel/ROM might use twrp? I know Revilution kernel had both that can be found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2548092, note that this kernel is too old to boot any current ROMs but will allow you to get into twrp to use the nandroid

Flash with flashtool or fastboot (see op of thread).
12th May 2014, 12:21 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
I'm not used to the recoveries being attached to the kernel or the ROM.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 10:16 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
I like to flip flop between the stock rom and aosp ( usually bundled with CWM ) but the recovery image(dual boot) to use twrp is a pain in the butt to flash if I'm not around a computer .. Is there a simple way to turn an image into a flashable zip? Looks like I could use the GPe recovery to flash.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
Last edited by tdamocles; 17th May 2014 at 10:19 AM.
17th May 2014, 10:41 AM |#7  
mathurmatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
It is not always the case when you have to flash recovery each time you flash a new rom for example you can flash monx which is stock build and from there you can flash every rom aokp cm etc (did that and had no issue) you can come back to stock any time you want from any recovery problem is that some custom roms use recoveries which is ported from Z1 which are ok if you flash a stock rom but for aosp you have to flash another recovery .........
17th May 2014, 11:06 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
I was making nandroids in cwm and twrp but this takes a lot of room up.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
17th May 2014, 04:16 PM |#9  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kepler-34b
Thanks Meter: 5,682
 
More
Flashify can be used to flash IMGs on the go, but I've never used it myself. It does work according to someone (don't remember) with an Ultra.


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...llner.flashify
Sent from my C6833
18th May 2014, 08:55 AM |#10  
Jammol's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins
Thanks Meter: 457
 
Donate to Me
More
I switch between cm and stock on the fly. I have full backups of both and simply do a restore to the other and I'm fine.

Sent from my C6806 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes