Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] Returning htc one to stock problem after problem

OP jwmccarrier

11th May 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Okay, so I rooted my HTC One M7 AT&T, got S-OFF, tried a couple different ROMs, wanted to put it to GE so i changed the CID, which somehow also changed my hboot to 1.54, and now when i try to return the whole thing to stock using a guide i found online.
i can't get my computer to recognize my phone when it goes to the bootloader. when using the phone normally such as texting, facebook whatever it works, i can get to the internal storage. BUT when i try to do anything with fastboot it will not work. it says <waiting for device> forever.
so basically i dont know what to do. PLEASE HELP ME
12th May 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccarrier

Okay, so I rooted my HTC One M7 AT&T, got S-OFF, tried a couple different ROMs, wanted to put it to GE so i changed the CID, which somehow also changed my hboot to 1.54, and now when i try to return the whole thing to stock using a guide i found online.
i can't get my computer to recognize my phone when it goes to the bootloader. when using the phone normally such as texting, facebook whatever it works, i can get to the internal storage. BUT when i try to do anything with fastboot it will not work. it says <waiting for device> forever.
so basically i dont know what to do. PLEASE HELP ME

Make sure you have the correct drivers installed. Have you used HTC Sync Manager before?
12th May 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda1998

Make sure you have the correct drivers installed. Have you used HTC Sync Manager before?

I have the correct drivers. I have uninstalled and reinstalled HTC sync manager twice.
12th May 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
sustinc also
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccarrier

I have the correct drivers. I have uninstalled and reinstalled HTC sync manager twice.

do you have the red fastboot USB showing up in your bootloader upon connecting your phone?
12th May 2014, 01:22 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda1998

do you have the red fastboot USB showing up in your bootloader upon connecting your phone?

No, it says fastboot. but not fastboot usb. if i use the volume keys to move up or down it shows fastboot usb, but still does not allow me to use fastboot functions through my computer.
12th May 2014, 09:50 AM   |  #6  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hereford
Thanks Meter: 184
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccarrier

Okay, so I rooted my HTC One M7 AT&T, got S-OFF, tried a couple different ROMs, wanted to put it to GE so i changed the CID, which somehow also changed my hboot to 1.54, and now when i try to return the whole thing to stock using a guide i found online.
i can't get my computer to recognize my phone when it goes to the bootloader. when using the phone normally such as texting, facebook whatever it works, i can get to the internal storage. BUT when i try to do anything with fastboot it will not work. it says <waiting for device> forever.
so basically i dont know what to do. PLEASE HELP ME

What Windows OS are you using?
Are you using USB 3?

Read here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...24&postcount=2



Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
12th May 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid

What Windows OS are you using?
Are you using USB 3?

Read here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...24&postcount=2



Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2

I am using Windows 8.1
No I am not using USB 3. I tried all ports on my computer, and even a different computer.
12th May 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,290
 
4,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccarrier

I am using Windows 8.1
No I am not using USB 3. I tried all ports on my computer, and even a different computer.

This is how i got the drivers to work on windows 8.1
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49131915

use the old (dirty) solution




* Your warranty is now void.
*
* I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
* thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
* do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM
* before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
* you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
*/
I repeat this is a REALLY DIRTY solution that may harm your system, personal data, hardware and/or cat.
Here are the steps:
0. Have a Linux or Windows LiveCD just in case something goes wrong
1. Download and extract files from attachment
2. Navigate to the folder corresponding to your system version (x86 = 32-bit, x64 = 64 bit)
3. Right-click franken-usb.bat and click "Run as Administrator"
5. Wait for it to finish and reboot the system. If everything went fine, you will boot your system successfully
6. Install ADB/Fastboot drivers just like on Windows 8
7. Connect your phone in Fastboot mode to your USB 2.0 port and check if it works
8. Enjoy and wait for official fix

How does it work:
It's not any kind of magic - it just replaces Windows 8.1's usbhub.sys and usbport.sys with Windows 8's ones.
Old files don't check for BOS descriptor so Fastboot can work.

Script updated - it should now actually copy the files but please double check if files were copied to C:\Windows\system32\Drivers!

Hope it helps you!

Regards!


Download this >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...2&d=1389122072
12th May 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #9  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hereford
Thanks Meter: 184
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccarrier

I am using Windows 8.1
No I am not using USB 3. I tried all ports on my computer, and even a different computer.

Was the other PC runnings windows 8+ too, ( HTC drivers have known connection problems with windows 8. If Windows 7, was the drivers installed correctly

read the link I posted earlier
.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes