Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,225 Members 53,424 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help doing factory reset through adb with non-functional screen

Tip us?
 
gadsden
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default [Q] Help doing factory reset through adb with non-functional screen

My screen is totally destroyed, it's black and unresponsive. The phone turns on just fine, though. I just got my new phone and I have to send this one back now. I want to wipe the phone before I send it back, but I'm not sure how. I don't care too much about sending back a rooted phone, it seems Asurion doesn't really care about that from what I've read, but I don't want my personal data on the phone when I send it in. What are my options to wipe the phone without a screen? I've already read a lot of threads on the subject, but everyone seems to say to wipe through ADB shell. Well, I can see the phone in ADB, but I am unable to enter SU through ADB shell. I assume it's because the screen is locked, and I have no way to unlock it. Others have also said to wipe through fastboot in ADB, but I am seeing conflicting recommendations and I'm not sure how to proceed. I'm not that proficient with ABD, so I want to make sure I don't mess this up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
The Following User Says Thank You to gadsden For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gadsden
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 72
Join Date: Sep 2009
I solved the issue with help from another forum. Here's what I did:

Reboot the phone to the bootloader (fastboot):

Code:
Select Code
adb reboot bootloader
Check to see if the phone is in fastboot mode.

Code:
Select Code
fastboot devices
If it doesn't show anything, wait a few seconds and try again.

Wipe the user data/cache:

Code:
Select Code
fastboot -w
Hopefully this helps if anyone else has the same problem.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to gadsden For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Pajoe1029
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2013
Angry THANK YOU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadsden View Post
I solved the issue with help from another forum. Here's what I did:

Reboot the phone to the bootloader (fastboot):

Code:
Select Code
adb reboot bootloader
Check to see if the phone is in fastboot mode.

Code:
Select Code
fastboot devices
If it doesn't show anything, wait a few seconds and try again.

Wipe the user data/cache:

Code:
Select Code
fastboot -w
Hopefully this helps if anyone else has the same problem.

a BIG THANKS for posting this very helpful tip mate. It helped me a lot. Cheers! Kings to you!
 
qnc
Old
#4  
qnc's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 32
Join Date: Apr 2007
Thanks just destroyed my screen and this was helpful to wipe and sell for motherboard parts on nexus 4.
 
kranthi9s
Old
#5  
kranthi9s's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default ADB Factory reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pajoe1029 View Post
a BIG THANKS for posting this very helpful tip mate. It helped me a lot. Cheers! Kings to you!
not showing devices after typing fastboot devices
. I'm getting the following message. see the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	android.png
Views:	2422
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2389772  
 
callousparade
Old
#6  
callousparade's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kranthi9s View Post
not showing devices after typing fastboot devices
. I'm getting the following message. see the attachment.
so you're getting a segmentation fault as well as not showing up in fastboot? screenshot doesn't show your output from 'fastboot devices' so i assume you're having both issues.

So a couple of questions...
1) Do you have the correct drivers installed? What does Windows Device Manager call your razr when it's plugged into USB (and turned on)?

2) Did you change your environmental variables correctly to allow ADB to work in windows?

3) I could be wrong on this one, but i've never seen "adb shell recovery --wipe_data" as a command. Last i was aware (haven't messed with recovery via usb in a while so it could have changed) it was "adb shell" ENTER "--wipe_data". No 'recovery'in there.

I know I know, these are all "well duhh" questions. But without more info I gotta start at the basics!
I would l0ve to change the world, but they won't g1ve me the source c0de

TF700T CROMI-X 5.1.1 with Hund's 3.4.1ET OC Kernel
 
kiwiandy
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 252
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Christchurch
Default Cant erase

I get the following :
fastboot -w
erasing 'userdata'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
If I have helped you, please hit the THANKS button
 
zakbeng
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2014
Post repair lg L5

this is how to repair Lg L5 when crached
sorry i write in french :
etape 1. telecharger KDZ_FW_UPD i, fichier de 3 Mo a peu pres
etape 2. telecharger le firm de votre telephone , si c'est LG allez au site et choisssez le firmaware de votre model et choisissez votre model et telecharger le fichier .KDZ, de grande taille quelque 300 Mo ou plus.
etpae 3: de compresser le fichier kdz_fw_up telechargé auparavant , ou vrir le dossier et ouvrir le fichier msxml , un package pour l'installer.ensuite et toujour dans le meme dossier ouvrir le fichier KDZ_FW_UPD.exe
vous aurez cette image

choisir type : 3GQCT et Phone mode : DIag
dans KDZ file cliquer sur ouvrir et allez chercher votre gros fichier que vous avez telecharger , qui finit .KDZ.
stop , mnt prenez votre telephone , appuiez sur le bouton du volume , au milieu ni le haut seul ni le bas seul mais les 2 , donc appuiez au milieu et inserer le cable usb branché a l'ordinateur bien sur , le telephone va s'allumer en mode emergency download avec le message " download is in progress don't diconnect cable' , la vous aller a votre programe et cliquer sur le bouton launche software update ,
vous n'avez qu'a attendre la fin du telecrgement et le telephone va remdemarrer comme tout neuf .
voila ..j'espere vous aider , j'ai fait cette manip et ca ma aider a recuperer mon tel , lg L5 .
pour finir vois ci un site avec la video
chercher android teen dans google et taper Lg E610.
android teen , cest un site
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-09 19_41_58-.png
Views:	598
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	2504877  
 
discavery3
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwiandy View Post
I get the following :
fastboot -w
erasing 'userdata'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
I got the same problem. Anyone can help?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...