Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,395 Members 47,250 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to go back to stock? (SPH-L720T)

Tip us?
 
Cudeh
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default [Q] How to go back to stock? (SPH-L720T)

I have already unrooted my phone but I've been getting these update notifications to update my phone and when it restarts the phone to update, it fails! Everytime. So i'm guessing I need to go back to stock using Odin and a Tar file but I havent found any for the SPH-L720T version just SPH-L720. Does anyone know how I can fix this?
 
leaderbuilder
Old
#2  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1240
Posts: 2,285
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
You didn't search long or hard enough. The answer IS here - even for the T version.
I'll thow this out to you.
Reason you can't update is because you have a custom recovery/kernel.
To get/receive an update you have to be on FULL Stock recovery and kernel.
If you want to get back to full stock you can try this
Got to sammobile.com and login in (register if you have to) then download the latest .tar for the T model
Then extract (unzip) the firmware file (just to the .tar.md5 file)
Open Odin
Reboot phone in Download Mode (press and hold Home + Power + Volume Down buttons. Volume up next)
Connect phone and wait until you get a blue sign in Odin
Add the firmware file to PDA slot (only file named .tar.md5)
Leave Autoreboot and F. Reset checked.
Make sure re-partition is NOT ticked
Click the start button, sit back and wait a few minutes.
You phone will finish and should reboot.
1st boot takes a while (about 5 EARTH minutes) then you should get the 'activate' process.
* NAE ROMs * NAE Modem * 4.4 Kernels * MF9 Bootloader *

if you've found any of my blathering useful, there is a thanks button that can be hit.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to leaderbuilder For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cudeh
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leaderbuilder View Post
You didn't search long or hard enough. The answer IS here - even for the T version.
I'll thow this out to you.
Reason you can't update is because you have a custom recovery/kernel.
To get/receive an update you have to be on FULL Stock recovery and kernel.
If you want to get back to full stock you can try this
Got to sammobile.com and login in (register if you have to) then download the latest .tar for the T model
Then extract (unzip) the firmware file (just to the .tar.md5 file)
Open Odin
Reboot phone in Download Mode (press and hold Home + Power + Volume Down buttons. Volume up next)
Connect phone and wait until you get a blue sign in Odin
Add the firmware file to PDA slot (only file named .tar.md5)
Leave Autoreboot and F. Reset checked.
Make sure re-partition is NOT ticked
Click the start button, sit back and wait a few minutes.
You phone will finish and should reboot.
1st boot takes a while (about 5 EARTH minutes) then you should get the 'activate' process.
It worked but after initial reboot I found that my wifi no longer works everytime I go to turn it on I get a security message O.o any suggestions?
 
leaderbuilder
Old
#4  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1240
Posts: 2,285
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
go into system settings>about phone and check your baseband (it's the modem/firmware) if it doesn't match (it should say NC6) the build version then you may have to re-flash.
Also have you made sure to upate your PRL AND Profile?
I have read a few posts abou this and it seems to actually be a Sprint issue.
* NAE ROMs * NAE Modem * 4.4 Kernels * MF9 Bootloader *

if you've found any of my blathering useful, there is a thanks button that can be hit.
 
VandyCWG
Old
#5  
VandyCWG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 323
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Spring Hil, TN
Just ODIN back to stock NC6. That should do it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
VandyCWG always says #AnchorDown for the 2014 Baseball National Champions!!!
------------------------------------------------------
Phone: Sprint Samsung Galaxy S4
Model: L720T
OS: 4.4.2
Rom: Rooted Stock, Xposed, Wanum
Firmware: L720TVPUBNC6
Kernel: Stock
------------------------------------------------------
 
daniel4653
Old
#6  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2621
Posts: 8,183
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
Why, why would you make another thread thread just for your WiFi problems when two users have already give you answers/options. You asked the question at 3:38pm and waited 12 mins to 4:00pm and decided to make a new thread. It clogges the forum up.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone
 
Cudeh
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653 View Post
Why, why would you make another thread thread just for your WiFi problems when two users have already give you answers/options. You asked the question at 3:38pm and waited 12 mins to 4:00pm and decided to make a new thread. It clogges the forum up.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Because I didnt feel it was right to depend on that ONE guy who had already helped me once AND i'm putting in the correct tags so when other people have the same issues im having this same thread will pop up and they will have they're answered already here thanks to you guys so it's actually less clutter if you see it how I see it! lol
 
Cudeh
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VandyCWG View Post
Just ODIN back to stock NC6. That should do it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Which one is NC6 again? The one the guy linked to up there ^ was the 4.4.2 and I was on 4.3 so yeah you guys were right I probably have different basebands. Is NC6 the 4.4.2? Im downloading the 4.3 as we speak but man those servers over there at samobile are bad right now :/
 
daniel4653
Old
#9  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2621
Posts: 8,183
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cudeh View Post
Because I didnt feel it was right to depend on that ONE guy who had already helped me once AND i'm putting in the correct tags so when other people have the same issues im having this same thread will pop up and they will have they're answered already here thanks to you guys so it's actually less clutter if you see it how I see it! lol
I understand that but you should give it some time to see if others answer. Lol

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone
 
Cudeh
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leaderbuilder View Post
go into system settings>about phone and check your baseband (it's the modem/firmware) if it doesn't match (it should say NC6) the build version then you may have to re-flash.
Also have you made sure to upate your PRL AND Profile?
I have read a few posts abou this and it seems to actually be a Sprint issue.
What exactly do I reflash? The same tar file that got me to 4.4.2?

Tags
how to go back to stock? (sph-l720t)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes