Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,339 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it possible to build ART-only?

Tip us?
 
rmanne
Old
(Last edited by rmanne; 30th December 2013 at 05:37 PM.) Reason: Update
#1  
rmanne's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Default [Q] Is it possible to build ART-only?

I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
 
Zaphodspeaks
Old
#2  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 182
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmanne View Post
I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..
====================================
Device: Asus TF101 (Currently rocking Katkiss 4.4.4)
Device: Nexus 7 2012 16gig.. (Broken)
Device: Nexus 7 2013 Flo 32gig, (Currently Rocking PACROM 4.4.4)
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE T999L T-Mobile (S3Rx 3.0 T-Mobile, and PACROM 4.4.4)
====================================
 
ravid1323
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 279
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphodspeaks View Post
ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..
im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3
 
Zaphodspeaks
Old
#4  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 182
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravid1323 View Post
im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3
That is a definite no...
its not built into the rom....
ART is still experimental, I dont even use it..
====================================
Device: Asus TF101 (Currently rocking Katkiss 4.4.4)
Device: Nexus 7 2012 16gig.. (Broken)
Device: Nexus 7 2013 Flo 32gig, (Currently Rocking PACROM 4.4.4)
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE T999L T-Mobile (S3Rx 3.0 T-Mobile, and PACROM 4.4.4)
====================================
 
jai794
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jul 2013
If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
 
NickVXD
Old
#6  
NickVXD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 1,449
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ikebukuro
Quote:
Originally Posted by jai794 View Post
If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Theoretically you could. But a bootloop is inevitable.
Check out my Galaxy S5 Professional Theme for Android 4.4.2
 
jlmancuso
Old
#7  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3909
Posts: 3,888
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: houston, tx

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmanne View Post
I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
There is a line to control build type you can do dalvik, art, or both. I will dig around and give you specific path and file name.

Jlmancuso

HTC Og Evo, Evo 3d, kyocera torque and Note II all cloned on cricKet
 
DigitalMD
Old
#8  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,800
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
THe real question is why would you want to do this? ART is still experimental and it gains you nothing to build for ART only since ANdroid will only run one or the other. Not both at once.
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.
 
jlmancuso
Old
#9  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3909
Posts: 3,888
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: houston, tx

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMD View Post
THe real question is why would you want to do this? ART is still experimental and it gains you nothing to build for ART only since ANdroid will only run one or the other. Not both at once.
The actual build is no different except it has a choice of ART or dalvik. While ART maybe experimental it does make a huge difference in performance and battery life plus there are very few apps (almost none) that will not run in ART.

Jlmancuso

HTC Og Evo, Evo 3d, kyocera torque and Note II all cloned on cricKet
 
DigitalMD
Old
#10  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,800
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmancuso View Post
The actual build is no different except it has a choice of ART or dalvik. While ART maybe experimental it does make a huge difference in performance and battery life plus there are very few apps (almost none) that will not run in ART.
Yes, perhaps , we will see, but, the application has nothing to do with that, ART , like Dalvik is a run time environment set by the ROM, not the app.
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more