Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

[Q] Is it possible to build ART-only?

30th December 2013, 05:30 AM   |  #1  
rmanne's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 13
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
Last edited by rmanne; 30th December 2013 at 05:37 PM. Reason: Update
30th December 2013, 11:36 PM   |  #2  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmanne

I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with

Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.

ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..
2nd February 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphodspeaks

ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..

im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3
2nd February 2014, 09:16 PM   |  #4  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravid1323

im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3

That is a definite no...
its not built into the rom....
ART is still experimental, I dont even use it..
19th February 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
3rd March 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #6  
NickVXD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ikebukuro
Thanks Meter: 553
 
1,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jai794

If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Theoretically you could. But a bootloop is inevitable.
29th May 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #7  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,079
 
4,811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmanne

I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with

Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.

There is a line to control build type you can do dalvik, art, or both. I will dig around and give you specific path and file name.
30th May 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #8  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 613
 
2,821 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
THe real question is why would you want to do this? ART is still experimental and it gains you nothing to build for ART only since ANdroid will only run one or the other. Not both at once.
31st May 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #9  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,079
 
4,811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMD

THe real question is why would you want to do this? ART is still experimental and it gains you nothing to build for ART only since ANdroid will only run one or the other. Not both at once.

The actual build is no different except it has a choice of ART or dalvik. While ART maybe experimental it does make a huge difference in performance and battery life plus there are very few apps (almost none) that will not run in ART.
31st May 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #10  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 613
 
2,821 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmancuso

The actual build is no different except it has a choice of ART or dalvik. While ART maybe experimental it does make a huge difference in performance and battery life plus there are very few apps (almost none) that will not run in ART.

Yes, perhaps , we will see, but, the application has nothing to do with that, ART , like Dalvik is a run time environment set by the ROM, not the app.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes