Post Reply

[Q] What are my options to remove cm11 and return to stock

OP damiancds

18th January 2014, 04:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Albany
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
okay,

I've unlocked the bootloader, rooted it, it's s-on and installed cm11. After less than a day, I've decided to go back to stock. Unfortunately, because cm11 is kitkat 4.4 it seems I can't even use an ruu, as they'll only go to 4.3 (which it seems i can't use because with s-on, I can't downgrade firmwares).

I've used Twrp 2.6.3.3 for recovery.

i've tried to use moonshine and rum runner, but they both fail, presumably because i've got cm11 installed. Also, when I connect to the pc, it only comes up as a media player or camera (depending on the settings in cyanogenmod), I've got debugging on and i believe everything else I should have.

In device manager, it calls itself "My HTC", yet in utorrent "HTC Aria"

When running (in cmd) "adb devices" it shows my phone, but when I do "fastboot devices" nothing comes up.

i've tried installing htc drivers, but nothing seems to change it. Some have mentioned forcing drivers but I don't know where to get the specific htc one driver.


in the bootloader this is what comes up:

hboot 1.44
m7ul pvt ship s-on rh
radio 4A.12.3750.20
open dsp v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot



what are my next steps/options?
18th January 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,081
 
4,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds

okay,

I've unlocked the bootloader, rooted it, it's s-on and installed cm11. After less than a day, I've decided to go back to stock. Unfortunately, because cm11 is kitkat 4.4 it seems I can't even use an ruu, as they'll only go to 4.3 (which it seems i can't use because with s-on, I can't downgrade firmwares).

I've used Twrp 2.6.3.3 for recovery.

i've tried to use moonshine and rum runner, but they both fail, presumably because i've got cm11 installed. Also, when I connect to the pc, it only comes up as a media player or camera (depending on the settings in cyanogenmod), I've got debugging on and i believe everything else I should have.

In device manager, it calls itself "My HTC", yet in utorrent "HTC Aria"

When running (in cmd) "adb devices" it shows my phone, but when I do "fastboot devices" nothing comes up.

i've tried installing htc drivers, but nothing seems to change it. Some have mentioned forcing drivers but I don't know where to get the specific htc one driver.


in the bootloader this is what comes up:

hboot 1.44
m7ul pvt ship s-on rh
radio 4A.12.3750.20
open dsp v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot



what are my next steps/options?

cm 11 did'nt update your firmware
what's your results for fastboot getvar all
run it from the bootloader screen / fastboot usb (remove your serial no and iemi)
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Albany
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
all it says is "< waiting for device >"

this leads me to believe there's a driver error?

Sorry, I'm an idiot

C:\OneDrivers_Fastboot\Fastboot>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4315mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.056s
Last edited by damiancds; 18th January 2014 at 04:56 AM. Reason: figured it out
18th January 2014, 05:27 AM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,081
 
4,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds

all it says is "< waiting for device >"

this leads me to believe there's a driver error?

Sorry, I'm an idiot

C:\OneDrivers_Fastboot\Fastboot>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4315mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.056s

this is the last AT&T RUU it will update you to android 4.3 >>
http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_u..._signed_2-exe/

if that link is slow you can get it directly from HTC here >>
http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-att/news/

you'll have to relock your bootloader
fastboot oem lock
then run the RUU with your phone sitting at the fastboot usb screen
Last edited by clsA; 18th January 2014 at 05:29 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Albany
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Worked beautifully. Thank You.

there's only two niggling things. when you pull down for your notifications, in the top right used to be settings, now it's quick tiles like cm11.

Also, in my computer, the device shows up as portable media player, where it used to just show up as htc one and an icon that looked like it. (from quick reading, it seems this is normal.)

Thanks again for all your help
19th January 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,081
 
4,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds

Worked beautifully. Thank You.

there's only two niggling things. when you pull down for your notifications, in the top right used to be settings, now it's quick tiles like cm11.

Also, in my computer, the device shows up as portable media player, where it used to just show up as htc one and an icon that looked like it. (from quick reading, it seems this is normal.)

Thanks again for all your help

yeah welcome to android 4.3 .. it's different, wait till you get sense 5.5 in the kitkat update
19th January 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Albany
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

yeah welcome to android 4.3 .. it's different, wait till you get sense 5.5 in the kitkat update

I know now, a rough search turned up the same....

One last question,

I'm sticking with stock, but i want to root it, everything i've done has been unsuccessful, where before first time and it was done, I was reading the guide over here, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2273376&page=2 , and it mentions that I can't root a stock rom? that means I would need to grab one of the rooted ones then, correct? I know I've seen a link to them around here, but can't seem to find it, let alone which one I should use.
19th January 2014, 12:34 PM   |  #8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,081
 
4,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds

I know now, a rough search turned up the same....

One last question,

I'm sticking with stock, but i want to root it, everything i've done has been unsuccessful, where before first time and it was done, I was reading the guide over here, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2273376&page=2 , and it mentions that I can't root a stock rom? that means I would need to grab one of the rooted ones then, correct? I know I've seen a link to them around here, but can't seem to find it, let alone which one I should use.

after running the RUU your starting from scratch
1.unlock bootloader at HTCDEV.com
2. Flash custom recovery I recommend TWRP 2.6.3.3
Quote:

How to flash?

1) Download your recovery
2) Put it on your adb/fastboot folder
3) Rename it to recovery.img
4) Open a CMD/Teminal windows on adb folder
5) Put your phone in fastboot
6) Flash the recovery with the command:

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader

3. flash custom rom 3.17.502.3 Stock Rooted

That should do it if your Root needs updated
download and flash this same as a rom
http://download.chainfire.eu/372/Sup...erSU-v1.86.zip
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 10:13 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Exclamation i'd installed cm11 via installer but now i wanna go back to sense
i'd installed cm11 via cm installer but now i wanna go back to stock sense,sadly i couldnt find the suitable RUU for my device.Since im really new to this android system i dont have any ideas bout flashing or locking the devices,could u guys please help me out?
i'd tried turning S off with rumrunner but at the end i was struck on an error.
here are my devices details.
m7_U S on
Hboot 1.56
CID : htc__038
version : 4.20.707.7
THANKS.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes