FORUMS

[Q] i9505 Wi-fi / Dialler not working

187 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By jomtones, Senior Member on 13th May 2014, 09:16 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Just got my phone back from the repair shop and I seem to have messed up its ability to be a phone! Managed to restore a nandroid (seems it was still rooted) but the wifi / calls weren't working ...

The CSC code revealed with so I tried CSC changer from the shop and inadvertently made things worse ... I've ended up with a German CSC and can't get it back to BTU! (CSC changer goes through the motions but can't change it back )

So I thought I'd try to get back to the main problem, this longer 'CSC' number that gets displayed with *#1234# - it shows both my AP and CP as:
I9505XXUBMEA

But the 'CSC' here is:
I9505OXABMEA

I'm hoping if I can change that I'll be closer to get this phone working? Can anyone help? (NB it's on Android 4.2.2. right now)

Thanks!
Last edited by jomtones; 13th May 2014 at 09:31 PM.
 
 
13th May 2014, 10:10 PM |#2  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Damn, well, still pulling out my hair here. So far I've tried installing the same pre-rooted ROM that got me set up last time I rooted:
I9505XXUBMEA-PRE-ROOTED-ODEX-FULL.tar.md5

No wifi...
Then as I seemed to remember similar problems last time, the following files:
I9505XXUBMEA-MODEM.tar.md5 (via 'PHONE')
I9505XXUBMEA-WiFi-FIX.tar.md5 (via 'PHONE')

All go fine over ODIN, but I still have no WI-FI and the dialler goes blank if I try and make or receive calls! ><

Any help would be much appreciated..
13th May 2014, 10:28 PM |#3  
jamboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
More
Have you tried flashing the original stock firmware?




Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Last edited by jamboss; 13th May 2014 at 10:37 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jamboss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 10:46 PM |#4  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Not sure which one to use! Does it matter? Want to stay on 4.2.2 and keep life simple (seems 4.3+ complicates things) .. but I can't seem to find a 4.2.2 UK ROM (That's BTU, right?)

Can anyone point me in the direction of a stock ROM that I can flash to reset things?
13th May 2014, 11:34 PM |#5  
jamboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
More
Glad you got help in the other thread.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 12:19 AM |#6  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 822
 
Donate to Me
More
For sure all was ok before you restored ur backup. Dont restore more backups atm:

1. Make a backup of ur Internal Memory
2. Make a factory reset (Settings > Accounts > Back Up and Reset > Factory Data Reset > Reset Device > Delete All/Erase Everything.)
3. Conect it to Kies 3
4. Kies 3 will give u the info you need for know ur correct CSC. This will be btw parenthesis close CSC.
5. Knowing ur CSC, take a look for this firmware in Sammobile.com
6. Download and flash it with ODIN (Dont flash a "Black EDITION" if ur phone isnt it)
7. Dial *#1234# again and take a look if u have the same what Sammobile was telling you. If not, flash again the firmware. (Example in pic attached)
8. Attach more problems here if u still having them
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.php.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	2742340  
The Following User Says Thank You to Joku1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th May 2014, 01:29 PM |#7  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Talking
Thanks so much Joku. I've got to step 4 but it doesn't give me a lot of info. Offers firmware upgrade then says :

Current firmware: PDA:MEA / PHONE:MEA / CSC: MEA (DBT)

No idea what this means or how to find relevant firmware in step 5 so any advice would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

For sure all was ok before you restored ur backup. Dont restore more backups atm:

1. Make a backup of ur Internal Memory
2. Make a factory reset (Settings > Accounts > Back Up and Reset > Factory Data Reset > Reset Device > Delete All/Erase Everything.)
3. Conect it to Kies 3
4. Kies 3 will give u the info you need for know ur correct CSC. This will be btw parenthesis close CSC.
5. Knowing ur CSC, take a look for this firmware in Sammobile.com
6. Download and flash it with ODIN (Dont flash a "Black EDITION" if ur phone isnt it)
7. Dial *#1234# again and take a look if u have the same what Sammobile was telling you. If not, flash again the firmware. (Example in pic attached)
8. Attach more problems here if u still having them

14th May 2014, 01:32 PM |#8  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Also do I know for sure this is the right (original) firmware? >< so much to learn!
14th May 2014, 02:48 PM |#9  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 822
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jomtones

Also do I know for sure this is the right (original) firmware? >< so much to learn!

Yeah. You was right. It was very difficult to find coz is an old firmware. I give u the link of what i found: HERE

*EDIT: Continuing step 6:
- Download and unzip this firmware
- It will give ya 2 files. You can delete the .dll
- Put ur phone in DOWNLOAD MODE and conect it to ur pc
- Open ODIN and flash the firmware (like the example in pic attached)
- Wait the process till end and enjoy ur phone again like new
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	odin4c.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	147.8 KB
ID:	2743459  
Last edited by Joku1981; 14th May 2014 at 02:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Joku1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th May 2014, 07:16 PM |#10  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Many thanks for the link Joku! Downloading now, I'll let you know how it goes..
14th May 2014, 08:09 PM |#11  
jomtones's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Damn, not having any luck with this file - I've tried downloading it twice now on different PC's but it fails to write - drops out after aboot.mbn then 'complete(write) operation failed'...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

Yeah. You was right. It was very difficult to find coz is an old firmware. I give u the link of what i found: HERE

*EDIT: Continuing step 6:
- Download and unzip this firmware
- It will give ya 2 files. You can delete the .dll
- Put ur phone in DOWNLOAD MODE and conect it to ur pc
- Open ODIN and flash the firmware (like the example in pic attached)
- Wait the process till end and enjoy ur phone again like new

Last edited by jomtones; 14th May 2014 at 08:52 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes