Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 37,779 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Switching to "stable" Version

Tip us?
 
Raffey
Old
(Last edited by Raffey; 15th May 2014 at 02:10 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Exclamation [Q] Switching to "stable" Version

I recently installed the costum ROM "cm-11-20140514-NIGHTLY-endeavoru", which is a "nightly" cyanogenmod ROM.

Since I'm not happy with the bugs from that version, I want to know, how to switch to the "stable version "cm-10.2.1-endeavoru.zip "
(Link: https: //download. cyanogenmod. org/ ?device=endeavoru&type=stable ). I have the cwm recovery "recovery-clockwork-touch-6.0.4.8-endeavoru".

Can I just easily bootload, then flash at this recovery (OR do I need another recovery, because this stable ROM is a bit older than the current nightly-version?) , then flash the boot.img of the stable-ROM and then the install stable ROM, without any trouble?

A quick reply would be appreciated!

Best Regards ~Raffey
 
Poojan Patel
Old
#2  
Poojan Patel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Surat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffey View Post
I recently installed the costum ROM "cm-11-20140514-NIGHTLY-endeavoru", which is a "nightly" cyanogenmod ROM.

Since I'm not happy with the bugs from that version, I want to know, how to switch to the "stable version "cm-10.2.1-endeavoru.zip "
(Link: https: //download. cyanogenmod. org/ ?device=endeavoru&type=stable ). I have the cwm recovery "recovery-clockwork-touch-6.0.4.8-endeavoru".

Can I just easily bootload, then flash at this recovery (OR do I need another recovery, because this stable ROM is a bit older than the current nightly-version?) , then flash the boot.img of the stable-ROM and then the install stable ROM, without any trouble?

A quick reply would be appreciated!

Best Regards ~Raffey

no need to change recovery
just do full wipe(including system partition) in recovery
flash cm10.2.1-stable and gapps
flash boot.img(from zip file) in fastboot mode
reboot
The Following User Says Thank You to Poojan Patel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Raffey
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poojan Patel View Post
no need to change recovery
just do full wipe(including system partition) in recovery
flash cm10.2.1-stable and gapps
flash boot.img(from zip file) in fastboot mode
reboot
Thanks for your quick reply!

And with e.g. Titanium Backup I can save my apps, right?
Also should I make a backup in the bootloader menu, or is there no need for that?

Greetings, Raffey!
 
Poojan Patel
Old
#4  
Poojan Patel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Surat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffey View Post
Thanks for your quick reply!

And with e.g. Titanium Backup I can save my apps, right?
Also should I make a backup in the bootloader menu, or is there no need for that?

Greetings, Raffey!
titanium backup is best for apps backup..
The Following User Says Thank You to Poojan Patel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Raffey
Old
(Last edited by Raffey; 15th May 2014 at 03:22 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poojan Patel View Post
titanium backup is best for apps backup..
Okay, thanks!

And I should flash the cm10.2.1-stable and gapps FIRST and then fastboot flash the boot.img? Cause before I did it the other way round, if I remember correctly..

EDIT: should I also keep the gapps for the CM 11 version or download gapps for the CM 10.2 version? ( http: //wiki. cyanogenmod. org/w/Google_Apps )
 
Poojan Patel
Old
#6  
Poojan Patel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 204
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Surat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffey View Post
Okay, thanks!

And I should flash the cm10.2.1-stable and gapps FIRST and then fastboot flash the boot.img? Cause before I did it the other way round, if I remember correctly..

EDIT: should I also keep the gapps for the CM 11 version or download gapps for the CM 10.2 version? ( http: //wiki. cyanogenmod. org/w/Google_Apps )

CM11 requires kitkat-gapps and CM10 requires JB-gapps...you cant use kk-gapps on cm10..
and you can flash boot.img after flashing rom and gapps..
The Following User Says Thank You to Poojan Patel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes