Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,940 Members 46,256 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Automatic Closing of running programs

Tip us?
 
rontess
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Automatic Closing of running programs

Correct me if I'm wrong. From the readings I have made , WM5 works by not closing the programs launched and keeps on working in the background even after closing the program (tapping the x button on the right upper hand). The only way to close this program completely and to free the memory is by stopping the program using the running program window. It is then that you free the memory. Unlike 2003SE once you close the program it also frees the memory.

This makes it a problem for WM5, because I notice that if you open a lot of program, eventually you loose memory and cannot run other program , not until closing all those previously opened programs using therunning program window.

I was wondering if there are any program/registry hack/patch to go around this problem.
Thanks
 
krale
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 216
Join Date: Apr 2006
There are many programs that turn the x into a permanent close, instead of just minimize. I use Wisbar Advance Desktop but that is a full Today Screen replacement program. If you press the x it minimizes, if you press x and hold, it closes.

There are tons of other programs... do some searching.
 
dannyoneill
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 380
Join Date: Aug 2006
It shouldnt be a problem. Too many people think of WM5 as Windows XP. When your memory is low you need to close thigns. This is not the case.

As you quite rightly say when memory gets low WM5 should close the oldest app to free up the required memory, the reason it leaves things open is to keep things fast. When you need memory, it just closes something.

I use mine for TomTom as well as memory hungry push email and my memoy always has at least 10mb free and I have never run out. If the device is running slow its normally down to a particualr app using all the processor. Skype for example which can be closed with the exit command in its menu.

Unless your having particular problems I say let it be. Closing apps each time is a pain and a waste of time.
 
levenum
Old
#4  
levenum's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Jul 2005
Actually, the problem is the same in WM 2003 and 2002.
The program you are looking for is called MagicButton and it's free.
http://www.trancreative.com/mb.aspx
HP iPaq rz1710
ROM 1.00.05 ENG from 22/6/2004

i-mate Jamin (Prophet G3)
WM6 - PDAViet 4.0.0.0.6 Touch


My apps:
LVMTime | LVMTopBat | RegDisplay

 
rontess
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Aug 2004
thanks for your reply. I will try the magic button, will update you...
 
J.Walker
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 131
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Magic button lets you to define what to close and what to keep alive. I'm set to keep alive mesaging and some other applcations to get ot on faster and to closу other.
Born by HTC as Qtek S200, now it's thinks it is a Dopod, what is the next for it?
 
raduci
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Ok button = close app

I have tried various app but none gave me what I want: when I press the hardware button ok or for example the red button (end call) to close the active window without the use of the touchscreen. Does anybody knows an app whick behaves like this ?
 
raymonds
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 441
Join Date: Jul 2006
spb pocketplus (not free) also has this capacity, and with it you can map the "close all" or "close" to a button. you may also define exceptions for this (applications that do not close even if you choose "close" or "close all").
 
pilantra
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2006
Hi, See and try this.It has good capacities and work really fine in Prophet.http://insoftwarehouse.com/downloads...se/xe.php?l=en

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Replace Your Stock Phone App with Reactiv Dialer

Your smartphone’s dialer app is obviously one of the most frequently used apps you … more

How to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear Live Android Wear SmartWatch – XDA Developer TV

Do you want to Factory Reset your Samsung Gear … more

Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more