Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 1800MHz LTE Band

OP levilib

23rd April 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
This phone is the first phone Verizon is selling (except the iPhones) that has the 1800MHz LTE Band (band 3).
When I saw this I was particularly excited as I visit Australia often and that's the band Telstra uses. I am currently in Australia now, and I am unable to pick up any LTE on this phone. I have gone through every possible mode in the phoneinfo app, but none will get any LTE signal.
I am using a Telstra SIM that has LTE service and I put in the correct APN settings.

The only possible explanation that comes to mind is that Verizon is blocking the 1800MHz LTE band from being used, just like the S4 came with AWS but only a software update pushed later on was able to unlock that band. If that were the case, is there any way around it?

Any other ideas why it's not working?
26th April 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I tested my SIM in the same location in a iPhone and it got lte

Sent from my HTC One M8 using Tapatalk
6th June 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #3  
Member
Richmond, VA, USA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by levilib

This phone is the first phone Verizon is selling (except the iPhones) that has the 1800MHz LTE Band (band 3).
When I saw this I was particularly excited as I visit Australia often and that's the band Telstra uses. I am currently in Australia now, and I am unable to pick up any LTE on this phone. I have gone through every possible mode in the phoneinfo app, but none will get any LTE signal.
I am using a Telstra SIM that has LTE service and I put in the correct APN settings.

The only possible explanation that comes to mind is that Verizon is blocking the 1800MHz LTE band from being used, just like the S4 came with AWS but only a software update pushed later on was able to unlock that band. If that were the case, is there any way around it?

Any other ideas why it's not working?

Bit of a necro-post, but I asked both HTC and Verizon associates and they said that it should work...so don't know if some bad information has been passed my way or GSM/LTE is just being funky (I do remember reading that has been, or was, a problem)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes